We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I enjoyed two nights here as I was attending a conference in times square. The front desk staff were warm and helpful. I had a quiet room on the 20th Floor and the room was large for Manhattan standards. The bathroom was nicely appointed as well. I would definitely stay here again and refer my friends/colleagues to as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are proud to have earned your kind comments but also your personal recommendation. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,276
    1,227
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

staff, room, and free wi-fi were great. our room was facing port authority (the bus terminal) but the noise wasn't bad at all thanks to pretty solid windows, although i was woken up very late at night by people shouting, presumably from the bus terminal. steps away from the 42nd st subway station (A, C, E lines). not a whole lot in the immediate vicinity, but times square is less than 10 minutes walking distance away which provides easy access to a livelier scene and even more subway lines.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Distrikt and for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are exceedingly grateful for our Airport grade windows, as we do everything we can to keep the bustle of NYC on the outside where it belongs. We do hope you will return to us, perhaps allowing us to explore the amazing restaurants and pubs on 9th Avenue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We enjoyed 4 great nights in NYC in April and our stay in Distrikt Hotel really added to the break. The staff were beyond helpful and nice and the room was magic with a view of the Empire State!!
The rate for the room was very fair and we will return hopefully for our next big celebration.
We were welcomed with hot cider on the snowy night we arrived...

Room Tip: Just ask for what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for finding us and taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and look forward to celebrating with you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americana, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Really friendly staff! We arrived in New York earlier than ckeck-in time and the staff managed to get a room for us immediately. That made the difference!
The hotel is very clean, with individual bathroom and spacious room. It's also really safe as you can only reach your floor by elevator using your room key.
The only negative point is that it's located behind a huge terminal and that makes the street less crowded as usual. But we haven't suffered any threat at all in 7 days of stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guilherme O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you very much for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you staying with us, as well as all of your kind comments. We do hope you will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the Distrikt for our first trip to NYC having been heavily influenced by the TA community. We were not let down.
The hotel sits on West 40th street between 8th Ave (Times Square awaits) and 9th Ave (where many food outlets await) with the front overlooking the back of Port Authority bus station.
We had read the 'negative' vibes about W 40th street but can honestly say that we disagree as we did not feel intimidated at all. It is also worth noting that the Distrikt is next to the Staybridge Suites, the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott as well as the Four Points by Sheraton.
We had emailed the hotel in advance as we were looking for inspiration on how we could celebrate our wedding anniversary. Step forward Cara who came up with a load of suggestions based on our preferences. Top pick was the Bateaux Dinner Cruise which we really, really enjoyed. Thank you Cara.
Anyhow, we had booked a grand view king room which was fantastic. The room was spacious, with a large bathroom, and had great views including a section of the Hudson River. There were loads of towels, bucket loads of hot water, with chocolate brownies, chocolate, weather reports and free wi-fi thrown in as well. We also received a cake and card for our anniversary, thank you Distrikt, it was a nice touch.
We had breakfast at the hotel twice as sometimes it is just nice just to chill and to have a lazy start. We sampled both the continental as well as cooked breakfast and were not disappointed. Mind you, the dining area is quite small so you may have a wait if it is busy.
As for the staff, all friendly, knowledgeable and can't do enough to help.
This is especially true for Hugo who we turned to for a taxi to Chelsea Piers on Saturday night at 17:00'ish. He told us to wait at the corner of 9th Ave. The next minute we saw a yellow cab appear with Hugo in the back waving out the back window with a huge smile. Well done Hugo, you are one of a kind.
The Distrikt is a great hotel which really punches above its weight.

Room Tip: Try and get a Grandview king and preferably not one at the top floor as there may be more A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelpiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for especially for all of the wonderful recognition of our team especially Cara and Hugo. We are so glad that you chose us to celebrate your special occasion and do hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I booked this hotel because of its location and the reviews on this site. It was well worth staying here. It has a great location only a sort walk to subway stations. Will stay here again when I return to New York

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank totpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are thrilled that after finding us on TripAdvisor, we still managed to exceed your expectations for your visit! We look forward to welcoming you back to district in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We booked this hotel based solely on the reviews seen on Trip Advisor, all of which were very positive... And the Distrikt did not disappoint!! The hotel was located a couple of blocks from Times Square which made it perfect for getting around in the busy city, but just outside the noise when it was time for bed.

We booked a Grandview King which I would recommend for the amazing views and the free wifi which enabled us to use the internet without running up expensive bills. The room was very modern and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, with a lovely bathroom and shower all of which were cleaned daily.

The decor looked great, very modern and with free computer usage and hot drinks in the lobby. But best of all was the staff at this hotel, we were made very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped suggest places to visit and eat. We would like to say special thanks in particular to Kevin on the reception who helped me arrange some flowers for my girlfriend on Valentines day via email before we arrived and Hugo who was so friendly, fun and helpful.

Thank you for making our first trip to NY a very memorable one. We will definitely be back...

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaggyG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are honored that you chose Distrikt Hotel for your first visit to NYC. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We of course are most grateful for your recognition of our team and their efforts especially Kevin's. We are looking forward to that next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing