We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hotel - and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Ranked #53 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
384 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Super hotel - and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a great hotel. I stayed recently - my first trip to New York (and first to the US), so I spent some time researching different hotel options in the city. I chose the Distrikt because it got consistent high ratings on TripAdvisor and booking.com, and seemed to be significantly cheaper than other hotels of the type. I was very pleased with all aspects of my stay. I think the cheaper price is explained by: first, the lack of public facilities (lounge, restaurant, pool etc) - not a problem for me as I never use them; and second, the nature of the location (see below).

A big plus for this hotel is the staff. As soon as I arrived I was warmly greeted, and any problems or queries I had during my stay were dealt with efficiently. Everyone I encountered went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. My room was very pleasant - a tranquil place to return to after a busy day in the hectic city. A comfortable bed (good sleep every night, once I got over the jet lag), decent bathroom with big shower area, plenty of storage space, and a posh tea/coffee machine. No noise problems from adjacent rooms, and the wifi worked perfectly all the time.

The hotel is located five minutes walk from Times Square, in a side-street next to the Port Authority Bus Terminal. The area felt a bit seedy at times - there is a nightclub, 'adult' store and parole office in the street, and the whole district is full of bars, fast-food takeaways and tacky souvenir shops. Having said that it never felt dangerous, even late at night. The upside is that all the midtown sights are within walking distance - Empire State Building, Museum of Modern Art etc - and of course you're very close to all the Broadway shows. Going elsewhere in New York is very easy, as the Port Authority/Times Square subway station has excellent links (11 lines!).

There is a huge choice of places to eat, although I felt the restaurants near Times Square were overpriced. Walk north along 9th Avenue beyond 42nd Street and you find lots of decent places. I found several diners that offered a friendly welcome and good value meals - particularly Westway (9th Av, between 43rd/44th), Theatre Row (42nd Street, past 9th Av) and Tick Tock (corner of 8th Av and 34th Street). These are equally good for breakfast - or try one of the cafes in the Bus Terminal.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,320
    1,255
    229
    30
    15
See reviews for
924
2,476
224
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely amazing!!! The staff go above and beyond the call of duty. The road is a little bit dodgy but it's so central to so many attractions and the metro. The rooms were amazing and the beds were so comfortable. Nesha on particular was amazing xxxx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michellel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review if Distrikt! We appreciate you choosing us and for recognizing the efforts of the team, we know Nesha will be thrilled with your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I've stayed in a few central NY hotels and this is the best. Rooms are reasonable size and very comfortable. Staff are very helpful.
Originally I had a booing for October 2013 but due to family illness we had to to change our travel plans - hotel were very accommodating and sorted things out for us even though they did not have to.
Only downside is the street it's on. Just a little bit on the rougher side but we didn't have any issues.
Would definitely recommend and go back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BenjiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are very proud to have earned your regard and a glad we could accommodate your needs and welcome you to Distrikt! Thank you for your recommendation, and hope your return is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week during our honeymoon to NYC. We wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else! The staff is phenomenal and the facility is spotless and so well kept that it doesn't feel like you're staying in a hotel at all! Our room was so clean and comfy and we loved our shower and bed. We had a great view of the city and the river! There isn't much to say except that this is the best place to stay if you're going to NYC. Loved it and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: get a higher floor and splurge a little so you can get a larger room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ileahna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are so very glad we could be part of such a special trip! Thank you for all of your lovely comments and for taking the time to mention them on TripAdvisor. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the distrikt hotel was excellent. Easy access to the metro there is actually an entrance to 42nd St station on the corner of 8th & 40th St good to know when it is icy and snowy out! Just a short stroll up 9th Ave takes you to hells kitchen where you will find whatever cuisine you want. Close to times square too. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The room & bathroom were spotless & spacious, bed was very comfortable. Turndown service provides a weather forecast for the next day and chocolates. Nice touch.we had a room on the 17th floor no traffic noise and the Window even opens a crack! Only gripe is the mini bar which is automated and stocked rarely by an external provider. When it wasn't refilled we had nowhere to put outside purchases. However the hotel do have mini fridges for hire but we didn't ask/know about this until our checkout. Otherwise everything was excellent, we would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at Distrikt on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your comments and are sorry we missed the opportunity to provide you a complimentary mini fridge during your stay. We do look forward to your return and hope it will be soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel for our 5 night NYC stay from its Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed. Very attentive staff, lovely room and in a great spot. 40th Street just off 8th Avenue and a few hundred yards from Times Square. If you are planning a trip to NYC stay here. Great value for money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RichG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are so very glad your research led you to us, and thank you for passing on your experience through TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and recommendations, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

First ever trip to NYC. Wanted an affordable hotel close to amenities and attractions. Exceeded our expectations. Staff were superb throughout 5 night stay (with a special thanks to Hugo for looking after us so well).

Rooms very comfortable with view of Empire State Building (at least on 30th floor), good bathroom, comfortable mattress, great coffee machine and very clean.

Would definitely stay again if we return to New York.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are thrilled that we could make your first trip to NYC even more special and that we exceeded your expectations. We will pass on your kind recognition of to our team and Hugo and thank you for doing so on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing