We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in the most convenient part of NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #66 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay in the Distrikt hotel! Everything is in walking distance, hotel and rooms are modern and comfortable. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Next time I visit NYC I will book in at the Distikt hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tamlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,307 - 2,313 of 5,655 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed there October 2013. 9 days. Great location to everything, easy to get around. yellow cabs which are cheap. Staff were always welcoming, friendly & helpful & assisted where they could, breakfast was variety of great food. Room was excellent, spacious & clean, had a view thrue the window to the Hudson in the distant & hustle & bustle of NY on the other side.

Room Tip: Double room with 2 double beds very spacious, spacious bathroom , large shower area & very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddisonlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here in December 2012, we were in NY for New Years. The hotel has a great location, the rooms are small but very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

It definitely met our expectation and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvs138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here last May, the staff were wonderful. My daughter injured herself and we needed a rent a wheelchair for the remainder of our trip, the front desk staff phoned around for us to find the nearest rental place. The rooms were small, but its NYC things are gonna be small. But modern and very clean. The only thing I would say is. that we had gone for my cousins 40th bday and on her bday at 10 or 11pm at night there was a knock on the door...we were kinda spooked a little...only the hotel staff bringing a piece of cake. Lovely thought, but too late to be knocking on the door and too late to enjoy the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I can't believe I failed to post a review of Distrikt when our experience was so wonderful! We stayed in August 2013 and booked Distrikt based on location, pricing and reviews. All met our expectations to the tee. We wanted to be near theatre district as we were in NYC to catch as many Broadway shows as possible and yet be accessible to good restaurants and the subways.
We were met by an extremely helpful and friendly reception staff, who tried to accommodate us as much as possible. The room was very comfortable with nice linen and cleanliness was apparent in
all appearances. I did have minor complaints: I had texted ahead to inform the hotel that we were celebrating my husband's birthday, but no acknowledgement of his birthday was made, except for after the fact when I made note of it to reception. There was also an issue of noisy air-conditioning that seemed to run all the time. We had difficulty controlling temperature. The hotel restaurant at the time of our visit was not set up for full service, so breakfast was fairly simple. Yet, in spite of what I may call a complaint, I find this hotel to be top notch and would gladly return on another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukiyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Wonderful hotel with perfect location (though it is located on a rather rough street, I admit, but remember that two other hotels are neighbours to the hotel so you will never feel unsafe). We had a Superior King room and the room was spacious, the bathroom was really nice, coffee machine was great, beed was comfortable and there was no disturbance (15th floor). It was just a few minutes walk to Port Authority where we took the bus transfer to Newark. Close to TS, Macy's, MSG and Broadway and transportation of any kind. We only had breakfast at the hotel one morning and it was great, one happy hour as well and no complaints at all about that. The best thing about the hotel was the friendly staff; Young helpful staff who recommended great restaurants (don't miss Club A Steakhouse) and helped us in any way they could. That is a great concept! Always a "hello" and a smile. We will definitely stay at Distrikt Hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile


Thanks to the kindness, availability, the position and the cleaness, the holel contributed to make our holidays absolutly Amazing! For Any problems people were halpfull , and when we ll go back to the city, distrikt will be our choise!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank steficesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#103 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#53 of 473 in New York City
693 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 473 in New York City
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
477 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 473 in New York City
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £120 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening to rave reviews in early 2010, Distrikt Hotel New York City - is a one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of the Midtown West, Times Square area. The Distrikt hotel towers 32 stories tall and offers guests a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. Our exceptional hospitality and customer service has launched Distrikt to be one of the highest rated hotels in New York City. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing