We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good base for NYC”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed three nights. I agree with other positive reviewers. Good service, good location, very clean and well equipped rooms. We were on floor 22 so it was quite quiet. There are only a few rooms on each floor which also makes it quieter than average. The bed was very comfortable.

The best thing is the location. Handy for Times Square, Penn St. Station, Macy's, the subway (AC and E lines) for easy trips to Central Park, Washington square and JFK.

It's a bit pricey but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Go high. The lifts are fast, the views better at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B4thm4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review and recommend Distrikt on TripAdvisor. We hope to be your home away from home again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,498
    1,359
    256
    38
    22
See reviews for
1,025
2,602
245
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My review of this place is tempered by the very excellent deal we got for staying here. It's a small hotel (boutique?), with maybe 6 rooms to each floor. The location is excellent. The rooms are very clean and modern. The service is excellent as well. So overall, and excellent hotel. If I had to pay full price, then maybe just very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThanksSocialSecurity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We are very pleased that you found a deal that helped you decide on Distrikt while visiting NYC. We hope we'll see you again in the future for a chance to edge you closer to excellent. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry Hall, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights April 13-15th. We checked in early and our room was ready! I requested to be on as high a floor as my booked room allowed and we were placed on the 17th floor. Our room was directly next to the elevator which initially concerned me, but we didn't hear the elevator at all. Room was larger than most NYC hotels I have stayed in. Beds were comfortable and room was clean. We went to NYC to celebrate my sons bday. Staff sent up a dessert and hand written card to wish him a happy birthday. It was a great touch that made him feel special. The hotel is in a convenient location to easily get around Midtown. They have coffee in the a.m and tea & water in the lobby the rest of the day. The restaurant has a happy hour where they have free apps. We went there one day and they had wings and fries. We bought 2 beers and 2 jack and cokes and our bill was $50. Super steep for 4 drinks. We loved the hotel, all of the staff was pleasant and we would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for your special trip and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to have made a difference in your stay. We are looking at ways to reduce our bar prices, your comments are important in helping us see where we can improve. We do hope you return to us, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Distrikt for the second time in February. If you want unpretentious service from lovely staff, clean, spacious rooms with lots of lovely touches this is the place you should stay. We had a room on the top floor with a magical view of the Empire State Building on one side, which never failed to amaze me every time I saw it at night and the river on the other. The location is great, try Hell's Kitchen for restaurants and bakeries (Amy's bakery has the best pain au chocolate). I shall definitely be returning to New York and the Distrikt will definitely be where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbys15295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
It was wonderful to read your lovely review of Distrikt (except for the mouth watering part) and are most appreciative of you taking the time to comment on your stay. We are very excited that you will be returning, and do hope it will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My daughter and I went to New York to celebrate her 30th birthday.
This hotel was a perfect location, very clean and friendly .The staff went out of their way. Flowers and champagne were ordered by my husband for the room. We later discovered that Hugo @the Distrikthotel shopped for them. He also sprinted to the end of the street to secure a taxi for us saving us the walk.
Jonathan was most helpful. Nothing was a bother. We were on the elevator that was packed and one staff member got off, said he would walk the stairs instead.
Reservations made and directions all were correct by the team @ the hotel.
Cucumber infused iced water and iced tea always available and free in the afternoon and coffee in am.
The beds/pillows were comfortable.
Close to everything. We shopped by Times Square and returned to our hotel and dropped off the packages without having to carry them around all day.
A car was arranged for us to go to the airport at the end of our trip. The driver graciously gave us a tour of other parts of the city and pointed out things along the way. He even drove through Central Park as we had not seen much of it.
We have travelled extensively and would return to this hotel.


Breakfast was fresh, reasonable and atmosphere nice in their coffee shop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Velda S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We truly enjoyed reading your review of Distrikt, thank you so very much for your personal recognition of the team. Hugo and Jonathan are on top of the world! We are most humbled by your recommendation and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Would just like to thank everyone in the hotel, all staff were extremely helpful, and friendly! Hotel itself is small, but has everything you need from a city hotel, the most important thing in New York a comfortable bed! Spotlessly clean! Location is great, the street itself i found a little dodgy but never seen or heard any trouble, right opposite the bus terminal and 2 blocks from times square, down the road is a little 1 dollar pizza place called 2 bros pizza...have to say it is was amazing pizza! Our trip was a little special as my boyfriend proposed on his birthday, so he had asked to get a suit pressed the same day and the staff although out of their way, the girl behind the desk went herself to a place up the street to get it ready for him...also finding out it was his birthday left a little card and a cheesecake in our room which was a really lovely touch! I wish we knew the girl at receptions name cause she was absolutely fantastic! As were all the staff, helpful with subway routes and letting us know the best places to go...i highly recommend this hotel, and cannot wait until our return! :)

Room Tip: We were on the 16th floor, and had the best room away from the elevators, room 1605, no view but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
It is we who thank you for choosing Distrikt! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience...and are thrilled that we were part of such amazing celebrations! We hope to see you back soon, (and again for the honeymoon), please let us know when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We decided to book this hotel for a 5 night stay based on previous reviews. The best part of the hotel is the rooms - great size with a lovely en suite.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Location is super - 10 mins walk to Times Square, 15 mins walk to Macys, subway just at the end of the road (highly recommend taking subway during the day, so easy to get around).

Didn't eat in the hotel but the price of the bar drinks meant we went there once!!!

Street felt safe at all times. Great diners hereby including Sky Light Diner for breakfast. We also ate in Justin Timerlake's Southern Hospitality restaurant which is only 10 minute walk away and would recommend.

Hotel organised a private car back to JFK which was about the same price as a yellow cab.

Overall, for location and room we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We are most grateful for your recommendation and do hope we can welcome you back in the future...the cocktails are on us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
999 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,827 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#22 of 467 in New York City
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing