We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to New York. It exceeded our expectations & made our trip even more special. It's in a great location, very clean & the staff are amazing, they cannot do enough for you. I am so impressed. I even had a Birthday card & cake left in my room as they knew my trip was a Birthday celebration. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbslkwrbcblm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Your recommendation means everything to us, thank you so very much for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,276
    1,227
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Brilliant hotel fantastic location for times square and fith avenue

my partner and I stayed here for 4 nights end of april and have to say cannot complain about the hotel staff are so friendly and always say hello when they see you rooms were lovely and clean and very spacious shower was fab too!!!

We used the green tour buses to get about it was $44 each for 3 days and was so worth it u could hop on and off and was a great way to see new york and stop was just 5 mins walk from hitel on times square .

Room Tip: If you want a good view upgrade to a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We appreciate you staying at Distrikt and for sharing your experience! We love the hop on/off buses and thank you for the recommendation to other guests. We hope to welcome you back to Distrikt in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Just came back after spending four nights at this hotel in Newyork , it is a two minutes walk onto time square , the staff were amazing ,our room was on the 18 th floor , a very large room with a big bathroom , lots of tea and coffee and chocolates were left at night and a daily weather report for the following day also ,beds were so comfy , defiantly stay here again

Room Tip: For a good view of the Hudson River 18 th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jahne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our break away for my fiancee's 30th birthday. When we arrived at the Distrikt we were instantly greeted by Jonathan who took our bags and helped us check-in. All of the staff that we met during our stay were friendly and polite (even maintenance!), and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The room itself was great, with all the amenities as described and spacious, considering room space in New York is very limited. We plan to come back to New York for my 30th birthday and will only be looking to stay at the Distrikt!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ajwylie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I spent four nights at the Distrikt Hotel. I was on the 8th Floor with a room facing the back.
The room was of a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean. The staff were friendly and always greeted me when leaving or returning to the hotel after being out for the day.The coffee/tea making machine was great and very much appreciated. The location was perfect for my needs. Easy to walk to a lot of sights Broadway, Times Square etc. and for shopping. I got the airport bus for $16.00 to the Port Authority and walked less than five minutes to the hotel with a suit case and golf clubs. If I return to New York I would definately book this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

In previous visits to New York the hotel rooms I have stayed in have been small, shabby and expensive. My visit to the Distrikt hotel was a revelation; very friendly and efficient reception staff, large new room with modern bathroom including large walk in shower, complimentary brownie, chocolates on the pillow, free wifi, and a free breakfast voucher. The bed was comfortable, there was a large flat screen TV and the breakfast was good. All the staff in the hotel were friendly, efficient and enthusiastic. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemberGuildfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from New York having spent a week at this hotel. I have been to NY twice before and stayed in bigger hotels but this was easily the best! The rooms were great. Bigger than I was expecting and our friends' room was bigger still, very clean, lots of storage space, big TV (they can't be held accountable for the rubbish programmes!), comfortable large bed, very nice coffee and tea making machine and perfect bathroom (large walk-in shower, no bath). We had been attracted by the noise proof rooms. Not sure about this. Our room looked out the back and was quiet but our friends' room overlooked the street and they could here sirens and some street noise but not enough to worry them. We were on the 8th floor and maybe higher up would be quieter. The staff made this hotel perfect for us. They were all very friendly and we felt welcome. They were knowledgeable about the city and happy to spend time advising on buses and metro etc. the computers in the reception were free to use and no charge for printing tickets that we bought on line. I would definitely recommend the hotel and hope to be lucky enough to go back one day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Distrikt. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with our service and amenities. The team will be pleased to know how they made a difference in your stay, and will consider ourselves lucky to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing