We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girls holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Excellent location for this small but lovely hotel. Room was a good size for a New York hotel and very easy to find. Staff very helpful and happy to help with anything and very friendly. Bed was very comfy and bathroom was fab with a huge shower and lovely products. No view out of the window but it is New York and we had a basic room. Very quiet due to only 5 rooms per floor which was great. Would defiantly stay here again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam32Middlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,277
    1,227
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
565 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

There is nothing here that qualifies this as a boutique hotel; a much overused expression these days. It's a perfectly reasonable hotel in a convenient location in mid town NYC, but I've stayed in many NY hotels of a similar standard. Very friendly staff made it a pleasure to be there. Beware lower rooms at the back. They might be quieter but your facing another tall building, so not much light. It was an annoyance having to have to log onto the wifi every 4 hours. I have no idea why they make you do that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers Point, New Jersey
Level Contributor
297 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Distrikt Hotel. It's convenient to Penn Station. Port Authority, theater district, restaurants, and the subway.
The hotel is 32 stories with 5 rooms on each floor. Fortunately, we do not hear any street noise.
All of the staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Peter, Kevin, and Melificent helped us navigate the streets of New Yawk.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NittanyLion70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the Distrikt during our stay in NY and what a find! Super comfortable rooms with all the facilities to make our stay comfortable. The staff were friendly, we actually contacted them before our visit and they booked attractions for us in advance. A special mention for Hugo who went out of his way to help us on our last day when our transfer let us down, and Nesha who dealt with our advance bookings! If you ever need a quality hotel in NY then stay at the Distrikt!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Empire State
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerryandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked 4 rooms for 3 nites during graduation, a pricey "season" in NYC. The hotel is lovely, comfortable and efficient with a bit of flair. Rooms are just what you need, no frills but nicely done. It is quiet as only a few rooms found per floor. Excellent security. Not on a very attractive street but easy access to lots of sites, walk to Times Square and Hells Kitchen has some great places to eat. The hotel staff was terrific! Helpful, attentive and smiling at every turn. The only reason its not a five is because there was a promise made for a handicap room which I then had to "fight for" prior to check in...and the staff DID come through in the end. Annoying. It is a very fine choice when you need the basics well delivered!

Room Tip: We had 3 king rooms and each was a different size - only thing I can suggest is ask for a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I booked this hotel for the weekend of May 10 (Stayed Friday Night and Saturday Night)

Getting There:
Shuttle bust from Newark International Airport, to leave, take shuttle bus from Grand Central, around the corner from the hotel. Price each way is less than $20. Gets you to the aiport in about 30 mins.

Hotel Facilities:

Foyer is a bit small, but clean and modern looking. There's free wifi throughout the hotel, including at the foyer.

You get a keypass without which you can't take the elevator .

There is a small retaurant / bar off the foyer that is open for breakfast and at various times. Not 24 hours but this is NYC - you can get anything you need a few minutes' walk from the hotel. Restaurant/bar itself (at least for breakfast) was good. Option of buffet breakfast (around $25) or a la carte - very good options either way.

My room ( a queen bed room on the 15 floor) was very clean, AC worked fine (was a hot weekend), bathroom was spare, tasteful and clean. Shower stall instead of tub, and the force of the water decent. Room cleaned daily unless you request otherwise. Didn't have much of a view from my room and from the way the hotel set up (surrounded by similarly tall buildings) not sure if there's a great view from most rooms.

Service was fantastic - unfailingly polite and very helptful staff (from front desk to the restaurant to the cleaning folks and even random staff on the elevator). Got honest tips on where to eat at in the vicinity, where to go to unwind, etc.

For the price, location and services, this is pretty good for NYC. I would definitely return there.

Room Tip: If you want a view (not sure if there is any) you should check with them directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hiplifemaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viroqua, WI
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from the Penn station terminal. If you are using public transportation it is very easy to get to the subway quickly. The room was quite nice and spacious enough for two people. The front desk and check-in went very smoothly. The only complaint that we had that kept this from a 5 rating would be that our room never received service one day. We returned to our room around 4 in the afternoon, and even after calling down and asking for fresh towels and service our request was ignored, and we had to call again 90 minutes later.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing