We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #69 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed one night on the 23 floor with a view of the Hudson river. The hotel was very accommodating allowing us to drop off our bag and store it before we could check in. We were also able to have an early check in 2 hours before our scheduled time which was nice. The hotel is like two blocks from Time Square and in a nice enough part of town that I did not worry about coming back to the hotel late after a show. Being in mid-town made it convenient and quick get to downtown and uptown. The staff was very nice and always happy to see us. They even offered to loan us an umbrella when it rained. There is no pool or fitness center. The breakfast and other things in the restaurant are purchased in addition to your room which was fine because we had planned to go out for food in town anyway so it was nice to not have that expense in our purchase when we wouldnt have used it. The hotel has a security system were you have to have a room card to use the elevator and you can only access your floor and the lobby. The room was much larger than I had anticipated and felt modern and professional. The bathroom was nice with a large standup shower instead of a tub. The shower head was easily 6'7" which was great for me being 6'4". The shower did have a lot of pressure which could not be controlled so it felt more like a hydro spa. They also held our bags for us after we had checked out and was very prompt at retrieving it for us. I have nothing but great things to say for this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a north west room on the 23rd floor. The view wasn't spectacular but we could see the Hud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBeachLife4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,055 - 2,061 of 5,498 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We picked this hotel because it was close to everything and we loved that it was a smaller boutique hotel. You could walk to Time Square/Broadway in just a few minutes and the Port Authority was just right across the street. The staff was amazing and they booked us restaurants, flagged down cabs, and recommended several amazing restaurants. Make sure you get a room on one of the higher floors because the view of the Empire State building at night is pretty amazing. There are only 5 rooms on each floor so the rooms for are pretty spacious for New York City. Our friends stayed at the hotel next door and their room was tiny! We'll definitely come back the next time we go to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melmel645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The street may look a bit dubious, but this small hotel was perfect for our short stay in New York City. Staff were wonderful and always helpful, greeting us as we entered and left the hotel. Our room on the 24th floor was modern, very comfortable and quiet. Amenities were all there, including a good sized bathroom and shower. Our king bed was superb. The room was welcoming after a busy day of sightseeing in the 'Big Apple'.
Location was convenient to Times Square, Circle Line Cruises, the High Line and the subway. We tried to walk as much as we could. Within a short distance we had access to some great little restaurants and delis on 9th Avenue. The Port Authority subway was a short walk away and the line was convenient to many city attractions.
There was nothing I didn't like about the hotel, other than the street it is located on. But we never felt threatened or unsafe walking around, even at night.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the 'obstructed view' of the Empire State Building and the Hudson River. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suebToowoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you told me a couple of years ago that there was a nice hotel near the Port Authority, i would have said you were nuts. But this little hotel had made a convert of me! It was very comfortable, had amenities, such as a magnifying mirror in the bathroom, robes, infused water or coffee in the lobby, quiet room, cheerful staff, etc. The area is still rough, but the hotel made up for it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nettzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have just stayed here for six nights as part of a girls' holiday. Check in was easy and the staff were so helpful and friendly at all times; nothing was too much trouble. They booked us restaurants, got us cabs etc and remembered our names. Unfortunately I can't remember all names but Kevin, Hugo and Junior were great! Rooms were clean and comfortable and the only minor thing was that there wasn't enough wardrobe space. My friend and myself managed ok but the others shared a room for three and they found it a bit of a pain not having enough hanging / drawer space but this was only a little irritation as the rooms were so nice.
It is very well located and it wasn't until the last day that I realised we were near a probation office, when we saw people lining up. There were no problems at all and we didn't ever feel unsafe walking back of an evening. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Breakfast was lovely and excellent value, so much so we ate there every morning!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 32nd (top) floor and it was really quiet. I can't comment on the lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaJayneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent hotel. We have (me and my husband) stayed there 8 nights last April and had a great time. The hotel is located near the Broadway/Times Square area, but in a calmer street, away from the crowds. The staff is very kind and receptive, and they provide fresh beverages and coffee or hot cooca for in the reception (this was very useful the days we were there, that were very cold).

The hotel has many floors, but just five rooms per floor. Our room was very comfortable and had enough space for both of our bags and us. The bathroom was also good and spacious (but the shower did not have enough pressure, so the water flow was small.

There was no minibar, only a small fridge (for two bottles of 500 ml) that can keep things cold or hot. It was enough for us.

Overall, we had a very good experience. Staying in Manhattan is very expensive, and I think this hotel has a good cost, considering other options. There is a very big metro/bus station near, so getting around the island is very easy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jfc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve 2013, and it was my first trip to NYC. I could not imagine staying in a better hotel or location. Brilliant value for money too. Really comfy beds and a great hot shower which you definitely need after a day touring NYC!
As our stay was for New Year, the staff very kindly left some party hats and streamers with a bottle of champagne. What a lovely touch, and its this kind of thing that guests really appreciate., and sets this hotel apart.
Do not hesitate to stay here, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I think any room would be good here...we didnt see or hear any other guests..and despite being in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#88 of 470 in New York City
477 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 470 in New York City
1,095 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 470 in New York City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,797 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#172 of 470 in New York City
3,912 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £120 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing