We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time In New York, Hotel Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“First Time In New York, Hotel Brilliant”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was our first time in NY a group of friends, and would definitely recommend this Hotel. The staff were super friendly nothing too much trouble. They gave great advice on Shows and Restaurants, and helped us all check in and even weighed all of our cases before we left, all 10 of them. The room were clean and spacious, we stayed on the 2nd floor, overlooking the rear of the Hotel, no complaints, very quiet room, and air conditioning kept the room cool. The room was cleaned every day, free safe in the room and free wifi, coffee in the morning and water throughout the day - cant ask for much more. The bar was a little expensive but again friendly staff. The location of this Hotel is brilliant minutes from Times Square, and the subways etc. Overall this Hotel and the Staff exceeded my expectations, and would definitely return. :-) thank you for a fab holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front can be a little noisy (if you are in a low floor)
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, really cant complain about anything. Fresh towels and bedding.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisalush70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,307
    1,247
    228
    30
    15
See reviews for
919
2,462
223
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for my Sisters 21st Birthday in July 2012, the hotel staff are so friendly and attentive and even got my sister a Birthday Card and Cake which was a lovely touch. We had a Superior Grand View room on the top floor which had fabulous views of the City. Rooms were perfectly clean and had everything you needed for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fab4_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here for three nights at the start of our honeymoon. All the staff are friendly and welcoming and we also enjoyed the nice gesture of a slice of celebratory cheesecake and a handwritten note congratulating us on our marriage. It's a wonderful base for exploring New York as so central and yet quiet. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at Distrikt for first part of our honeymoon. No complaints really location was perfect right in the heart of Manhattan. Staff always friendly and so helpful and polite. Room was good nice and modern comfortable beds or should I say huge beds ! New York is so busy you tend not to stay in your hotel for long so when we did return after a tiring day the rooms were perfect for us. A special mention to Pamela on front desk for arranging a complimentary cheesecake for us along with a personal message, a nice touch. We will be recommending this hotel to our friends as its very clean has a great location an perfect for a New York trip !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I spent 4 nights at the Distrikt for my 30th birthday this week. The staff were superb - the kind of people that genuinely care and want you to have a great stay - more than merely doing their jobs. The room was clean, comfortable, well decorated and equipped perfectly for our needs. We were on the 14th floor and had no issues with noise etc. The location couldn't have been any better - just a few blocks from Times Square, Broadway, Hudson River, Central Park, Empire State, Rockefeller..... All in easy walking distance. We didn't eat at the hotel simply because we went put to explore but the dining area looked lovely. Would we go again?? Definitely!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pricetag2499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed one night on the 23 floor with a view of the Hudson river. The hotel was very accommodating allowing us to drop off our bag and store it before we could check in. We were also able to have an early check in 2 hours before our scheduled time which was nice. The hotel is like two blocks from Time Square and in a nice enough part of town that I did not worry about coming back to the hotel late after a show. Being in mid-town made it convenient and quick get to downtown and uptown. The staff was very nice and always happy to see us. They even offered to loan us an umbrella when it rained. There is no pool or fitness center. The breakfast and other things in the restaurant are purchased in addition to your room which was fine because we had planned to go out for food in town anyway so it was nice to not have that expense in our purchase when we wouldnt have used it. The hotel has a security system were you have to have a room card to use the elevator and you can only access your floor and the lobby. The room was much larger than I had anticipated and felt modern and professional. The bathroom was nice with a large standup shower instead of a tub. The shower head was easily 6'7" which was great for me being 6'4". The shower did have a lot of pressure which could not be controlled so it felt more like a hydro spa. They also held our bags for us after we had checked out and was very prompt at retrieving it for us. I have nothing but great things to say for this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a north west room on the 23rd floor. The view wasn't spectacular but we could see the Hud...
See more room tips
Green Features: From what I could see they worked to be environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBeachLife4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We picked this hotel because it was close to everything and we loved that it was a smaller boutique hotel. You could walk to Time Square/Broadway in just a few minutes and the Port Authority was just right across the street. The staff was amazing and they booked us restaurants, flagged down cabs, and recommended several amazing restaurants. Make sure you get a room on one of the higher floors because the view of the Empire State building at night is pretty amazing. There are only 5 rooms on each floor so the rooms for are pretty spacious for New York City. Our friends stayed at the hotel next door and their room was tiny! We'll definitely come back the next time we go to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melmel645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
845 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
224 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#66 of 467 in New York City
1,331 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 467 in New York City
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing