We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you're happy with the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you're happy with the area”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Like the title says; this is a great hotel if you're happy staying in this particular area. It's located on 40th street between 8th and 8th avenues. It has a parole office and an adult shop on the same street. To be honest, 8th and 9th avenues either side of the street aren't great. That being said, we didn't feel intimidated and the hotel itself was great. We were on the 26th floor with a view of the empire state to the left and the Hudson to the right. The rooms are a good size (for NYC) well furnished and spotlessly clean. The room did not have a bath but did have a good sized very powerful shower. Staff are friendly and helpful without being "in your face". This hotel would have been given 5 out of 5 but for the location.

Room Tip: Higher the better IMO
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slawitbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,500
    1,359
    256
    38
    22
See reviews for
1,025
2,604
245
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Great location and excellent staff however. Rooms are poky and dark, and not enough storage for suitcases we kept falling over them. Wait ages for lift we used stairs more than lift despite being on 10th floor.
It was a great location - and the staff in General were very helpful. Probably be a good place to stay for one night

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marjandhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hotel was great for our NYC trip, 2-3 minute walk from subway station, 5-10 minute walk from time square.

The beds were amazingly comfortable, after a long day of walking round NYC and doing tourist stuff it was so nice to get into a comfortable bed,

Staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very clean. I would stay in this hotel if I came to New York again.

I gave it 4 stars, I took one star off because our room key stopped working for our room door and we had to go to the reception each day to get it reprogrammed, and also my mam had tea and toast one morning and was charged for a continental breakfast of $11 which I think is pricey

Room Tip: Views out the window are not great but the rooms are comfortable and for NYC they are quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For my third NYC staycation I had mixed feelings about Distrikt. But the room rate was competitive and it was only one night, so how bad could it be? Well, the good ratings are spot on—this is a terrific place to stay. Even though it's directly behind Port Authority, on one Manhattan's grittier-looking streets, the hotel itself is very nice. As many reviewers have noted, the staff are truly welcoming and the sleek premises are stylishly decorated and well appointed. We weren't able to get a high floor, but 601 was surprisingly quiet and pleasant, even though it didn't offer a view. We both liked the room's neutral decor and many small touches: a personalized welcome note, a gratis brownie, LATHER bath products, luxurious bed linens, Keurig coffeemaker, individual climate controls. The room wasn't huge but it was efficiently organized so we didn't feel cramped. Plus, the marvelous king bed was so wonderful! I never wanted to get out of it and slept very well. The only negatives were the fact that there was only one desk chair in the room (no seating area), and an orange my husband chose at breakfast was fibrous and dry. But the rest of our breakfast was fine and everything else about our stay was just great. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its warm service, central location near tons of great restaurants (check out the new Gotham West Market food hall on Eleventh and 44th), comfort, and relatively good value.

Room Tip: The rooms numbered 01 are a bit larger and further from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and two children (age 4 and 1) have just returned from a 5 night stay here. In NYC you don't tend to spend much time in your hotel, but the time we did spend here was excellent. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel felt very safe, the breakfast was delicious and the room was brilliant. We had a deluxe double (2 double beds) and there was plenty of room to have a travel cot added plus space for the children to play.
Two blocks from Times Square, around a 30 minute walk to Central Park and lots of places to eat in the vicinity.
If we return to nyc we will definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was a first time trip to NYC with my daughter. The hotel exceeded our expectations - the staff is so friendly and helpful. They taught us to use the subway and recommended places to eat. We had a king room that I understand is large by NY standards. It was extremely comfortable, clean and safe. The location of the hotel is ideal especially for a first trip. We always felt safe and you are close to all the activity of Times Square and can easily get to other parts of the city as well, but when you are ready to wind down for the night, Distrikt is relaxed and quiet. The turn-down service with chocolates and a weather forecast is such a delightful treat at the end of the day. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New York.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VLG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have been in New York many times but this is the first time that we got everything right. The hotel sits perfectly for local amenities, Time square and the theatre district. It is surrounded by a number of very good food establishments, a selection of expensive restaurant's or pub grub from local taverns the quality of which was amazing. just across the street the port authority from which you can reach anywhere in America.
As for the hotel, it can only be described as fantastic and I do not say this lightly but part of its charm is the staff. So friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble all you have to do is ask

Happy Traveller

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
1,000 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#130 of 467 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,828 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#22 of 467 in New York City
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing