We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #69 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great stay but...”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was almost a perfect stay: lovely - very small room though - very very quiet our room faced the back of the hotel, excellent sleep, nice bathroom, super clean…
There is coffee & tea in the room (lovely brownies too), no mini fridge. It is centrally located, easy access to everything in NY. There is a small deli with plenty of fresh food/ fruit/water on 42nd avenue just a block away which is great if you get sick of take out food or restaurants.
So it’s all good, comfortable and practical.

The only annoying thing… for those who like to use the gym even on holidays: the hotel does not have a gym, so i joined the City Gym on 42nd avenue literally just around the corner from the hotel, paid 60 dollars, only to find out later that the Distrikt hotel gives out free passes to that same gym! (i found out while i was looking for check-out times in the hotel book)

Felt a bit annoyed, as noone mentioned the gym option at reception when we arrived (and even tough i told the gym staff we were staying at the Distrikt hotel, they didn’t mention the free passes either - of course)
so. not so nice, it’s an expensive travellers’ tip, but at least you guys know it now: you can get free passes to the City Gym!

Hotel Distrikt: please make the gym option this more obvious to your guests!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back of the hotel if you want a quiet room away from the street. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jolie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,456
    1,331
    249
    38
    20
See reviews for
993
2,580
239
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you’re looking for an incredibly comfortable boutique hotel in midtown, the Distrikt is the place. It’s firmly a 3-star hotel— no bells or whistles here—but you do get daily housekeeping, a comfy bed, the proverbial chocolate on your pillow, and a staff that is accommodating and genuine. It’s a tried and true hotel for me, so I’d definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annaf f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathrow, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Next to the Port Authority bus station isn't the greatest start, however the staff were very welcoming. I was checked in quickly and the room although small but well appointed, the Keurig coffee maker a help first thing in the morning. Only pain was the fridge with no space for anything other than minibar offerings, I requested and received within minutes an alternative empty one it was small but appreciated. Back in NYC in September and will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grngreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We ended our honeymoon with a 3 night stay at the Distrikt hotel which was picked after reading many good reviews online. The hotel was pretty good, we paid for a king room which we did hope would come with a view which unfortunately it didn't and because of the big bed it was on the small side but it was very well presented and clean which is always great - it is a chocolate on your pillow kind of place!
Unfortunately we were put right next to the lift but the hotel is quite small so someone had to be by the lift I guess, fortunately the lift noise was very minimum and we weren't in the room a great deal (it is New York after all!) but we did get to hear talking from people waiting for the lift which wasn't ideal although sometimes interesting! ;)
The best thing going for this hotel is the friendly staff and the location. It's only a 5 minute walk from Times Square and even less time to the central bus station so great transport links for the airport and trips by bus etc. the staff were super, nothing was too much trouble and service was always with a smile. It was a lovely end to our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not by the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank conker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Going back to the same hotel you have liked always carries the risk of getting disappointed. But after a perfect stay in the Distriukt hotel in 2012, I gambled and booked it again for a visit to the Big Apple. This time I paid a little extra for a room on the higher floor with a view on Manhatten and the Hudson River. After the flight and arrival at Newark it took almost two hours to clear immigration. I have never seen a slower process, even in all the third world countries I have visited. There were more than enough immigration desks, but hardly any staff behind them. If you do have a choice of arrival-airport, choose JFK anytime over Newark. Because the airtrain wasn't running, it took another two hours by bus and train to reach Manhatten, so upon arrival in het hotel I was rather exhausted. But the staff at reception immediately made me feel welcome. Their enthusiasm is a trademark for this hotel. The room was large, clean and had the promised view. And the high level of service, I remebered from my previous stay, was still there. The little things that matter were all still there. The warm welcome of the staff everytime you return from exploring the city, the very fast free wifi, the hotel umbrella offered when it rains, the little chocolates and brownies in the room, the turndown service at night, ect. The very friendly barman in the College Restaurant of the hotel is doing a good job and makes rather expensive, but very good coctails. There is free coffee and tea throughout the day and during happy hours for 5 to 7 pm there are free snacks as well. The hotel has a very central location only a couple of blocks away from Times Square. That means that the roomrate is high for a three star hotel. Expect to pay around $400 a night for a deluxe Twin room with a view. But the price-quality ratio is excellent. If they would offer a loyalty card for frequent stays, I wouldn't even consider another hotel while staying in Manhatten.

Room Tip: Pay the extra dollars for a room on the higher floors. They have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On arrival at the hotel and after walking through a very grim area of New York City, we had no help with all our bags to check in
The reception is small and scruffy with boxes all over the place.
The receptionist had no idea how to check us in and had to keep asking her boss, also whilst doing that she answered the phone at least 3 times while keeping us waiting!
We checked in the room was small but clean and functional but didn't really like the feel of the hotel.
After one night out of four we decided to check out, the hotel didn't even ask why so we left.
I don't really understand why this hotel is high on tripadvisor list.
It's poor and what's more very uncaring

Room Tip: Go else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank howardgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Fantastic Hotel, Lovely Staff, Great location - Within a few blocks of Times Square.
We stayed at the Distrikt for 6 nights during our honeymoon, we were met by helpful & happy staff even though they were still experiencing one of the longest winters NYC has had. We received a divine Cheese cake in our room and a lovely note from the hotel congratulating us on our marriage which was a lovely personal touch. The room was large enough for the 2 of us and the bathroom & shower space was perfect.
The air-conditioning was whisper quiet and worked quickly to warm up our room upon returning. I loved the fact that the windows opened, although they did stay shut for 99% of out stay as it was FREEZING but this allowed us to see how many layers we would need before venturing out for the day :o). NYC its self was AMAZING and if you want somewhere to stay to compliment this Unbelievable city this is THE place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
965 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#133 of 467 in New York City
5,061 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 467 in New York City
357 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,785 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 467 in New York City
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing