We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the distrikt hotel for our honeymoon. The location is excellent the rooms are fabulous and the staff are amazing so helpful. There's also free internet access. Two blocks from time square but not to close for all the noise as it is one of the busiest places you'll ever see. I read about the distrikt on trip advisor and I'm glad I did.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Charliedog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,276
    1,227
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Although so close to times square, the Distrikt is a quiet little gem with rooms that are generously sized for NYC standards and very modern.

As the hotel is opposite the Port Authority bus terminal, it is a really quiet street but only a 5 min walk to times square with the subway less than 2 mins walk away. The hotel staff were excellent in assisting me arrange for a delivery on my partners birthday and even brought her a birthday treat.

The staff are incredibly helpful and nothing seems too much other for them. (although they did seem a bit bemused that we went out for a run of an early evening in sub zero temperatures!)

The bed is extremely comfortable and there is housekeeping every day and they leave handy weather cards which help you plan the next days activities. My only grumble at the room is that there is no space in the minibar to put your own water/soda but you can’t have everything I suppose
As other people have mentioned there is a sex shop on the street but even though we walked passed in over 20 times, it never posed a problem or caused alarm. There a couple of good bars on the street that show football (or soccer!) and pizza at either end of the street.

For the price, location and comfort I will 100% stay in the Distrikt the next time I am in New York

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarynB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for a week from the 10th June onwards. Never been to the US before- so the holiday was a special one for my 30th! From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Always greeting us with a smile when we left or arrived! The room was amazing, we were on the 31st floor and could see both the Hudson River and the Empire State! Plenty of space for luggage and shopping and the bathroom was gorgeous. Chocolates and a daily weather card were a nice touch, as was the little birthday cake that was left for me on our first night! Perfect location for Times Square and hardly noticed anything dodgy in the street. We ate breakfast there a few times, good price and delicious! Our week there was amazing, can't fault anything! Looking forward to returning for my 40th!! :-). Thanks Guys!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaAndJay5884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We visited this hotel at the beginning of June and it was better than I expected. The hotel doesn't look much from outside but upon entering you are greeted by friendly and helpful staff who can't do enough for you. The room was clean and very spacious. Ideal location not only for sightseeing (a few minutes walk from Times Square) but also for bars and restaurants at night.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Perfectly situated to explore all that New York has to offer. The room was spacious , comfortable and clean. Check-in staff were extremely friendly and helpful and always willing to assist. Highly recommended. Regards Dominick , Durban South Africa

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DomoKempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Hotel is located directly across the Port Authority bus terminal and less than 5 minutes walking distance to Times Square. Finding a restaurant nearby is not a problem at all as the hotel is also located near Hells Kitchen, Since the hotel is located next to the Port Authority bus terminal you can easily catch a bus to Woodbury Commons Factory Outlet or a shuttle to JFK or Laguardia Airports. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious enough for 2 people though not extremely big. The bathroom was a tad small and cramp. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a hotel located near Times Square with easy transportation access.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gankor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Currently laid in bed in our great room on the top floor. This is our second stay at the distrikt and we love it. 5 minute walk to times sq, subway stop at the end of the road it's perfect, room is great size and spotless, no signs of distress or wear, shower is good but no bath, nothing much more to say. Only down sides are rip off mini bar prices but all the hotels are the same in my experience, which is a pain as they would probably sell more if it was cheaper, and the road the hotel is on has a few peep show/sex shops and a parole office which make the area a bit less respectable but never felt unsafe walking up the road even at 2am it was buzzing with people. Also if your into it, there is no pool or spa facilities that we can tell. We will stay here again no question and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the back of the hotel have views of the Empire State Building. Lower rooms face othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcWins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing