We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in 2013 having read the reviews on trip advisor. The location is excellent as are the staff. The room are modern and clean but very compact! We had a family room 2 Adults me 2 teenager children and it wasn't very comfortable moving around especially after all the shopping bags arrived in the room!
However you are rarely in the room when in NY. What would have been good was lobby or bar area that guest could sit and gather. There is a small restaurant but we never used it as it didn't look that welcoming. However great hotel for a short city stay, reviews are justified!

Room Tip: High up views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,966 - 1,972 of 5,464 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and we had the most perfect time! Staff couldn't do enough for us and even put a cake and lovely handwritten card in our room as it was my husband's birthday! Very helpful, very clean and modern and has everything (and more) that you could possibly need. We got engaged on this trip (it was actually in May 2012 we stayed) and plan to go back soon. We definitely will be going back to the Distrikt Hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here in May 14 through a friend;s recommendation and tripadvisor score. The room was nicely decorated, clean and faultless with a great coffee maker. Only downside was having a minibar instead of a fridge so no way to keep drinks cold. We had paid extra for a cityscape which we got but we mainly looked down on a car park, but hey it is New York ;-). The hotel is small with only a few rooms (5 or 6 I think) per floor. The trip was part of a celebration and the hotel sent up a piece of cake with a card which was a very nice personnel touch. We never ate in the hotel itself as there are a million different places in New York to experience. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The street the hotel is located is not the best but we never felt unsafe at anytime as there is constantly lots of people about.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest room possible (same as all New York Hotels)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Returned to the Distrikt on the 29th April last for the second time after a year away from New York. Seemed to us that prices have increased quite a bit in the interim whereas the "twiddly bits" that gave it that originality were missing this time around.
With one or two exceptions, there has been a major change in the staff who did not seem to want to go just that bit further. This cannot be deemed to be a criticism however, things were just not as they were.
All rooms clean and tidy and breakfasts were good value for money as before.
However at times it seemed that the lifts had all been commandeered by staff when room service was operational. We had 5 or 6 occasions when we were stuck on our landing or either in the foyer awaiting the return of an elevator - either would do but........!! May not stop us going again but further consideration will be given to this.

Room Tip: Magnificent views from the higher rooms but all are of good standard. However make sure you opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed three nights in Distrikt Hotel NY. The location is just great, short walk to Broadway theaters, Time Square almost behind the corner, but still not that noicy neighborhood.

The room was clean and bed linens were non bed bug secured. We didn't found any of those monsters and we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jarkko17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just back in the UK after a great trip to the USA

I can't say enough about how helpful the staff at the Distrikt were during our four nights in Manhattan.

Their local knowledge was unsurpassed and helped us in restaurant choices and also getting last minute tickets on Broadway.

From the moment we arrived Manny took really good care of us and made us feel very welcome in the heart of the big city. Nisha (apologies if that's not the correct spelling) on the front desk managed to get us a restaurant booking last thing at night and generally all of the staff went that extra mile to make sure everything went smoothly.

The location of the hotel was perfect for what we were trying to do with pretty much everything we wanted within walking distance. The free tapas provided between five and seven was a really nice touch and ideal if you wanted to watch the World Cup in the bar.

Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

stayed here when I went to westminster dog show. wanted something close but not too close. worried a little about the location but it was not a problem. staff is very friendly and bent over backwards to make my stay pleasant. the lobby is not much and didn't eat in the restaurant but the room was nice and comfortable. tried a lot of other hotels in New York and I think this one will stick. best hotel in NYC for the money that I've stayed in so far. will be my go to hotel from now on.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank ontheedgeknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
466 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 469 in New York City
11,724 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 469 in New York City
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 469 in New York City
595 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#174 of 469 in New York City
3,887 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £133 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing