We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #67 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff. In a great location, just near Times Square but also just far enough away to feel like you are in the neighborhood. Had a good little bar which served great snacks, Also served great breakfast. definitely recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tigershark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,416
    1,310
    243
    38
    19
See reviews for
968
2,554
235
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I used to think hotels are not important, you only go there to sleep during your travels. However, as I'm getting wiser, I realize going 'home' after a busy day is actually as important as anything else on a trip. This hotel is able to get you away from the hustle and bustle of crazy busy NYC. It's surprisingly quiet, extremely clean, modern and feels secure. It's in a great location, only 5 minutes away from subway/train. I will return when in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsuzsanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My sister and I stayed at this small but amazing hotel for 13 nights in a deluxe twin room on the 28th floor. We had a view across the Port Authority, we could see the Hudson River, the New York Times building and a general view across the uptown side of the city.

What can I say that hasn't been said before, I am very fussy when it comes to hotel cleanliness; it is the one thing that will make or break my holiday. Well I was very surprised at how clean and updated everything was. Loved the bathroom, small but perfectly fitted out. The large shower and the water pressure, wish I could've taken it home with me! )For any Australian girls reading this, your GHD or Cloud 9 hair straightners will work here - new wiring).Overall the room was a decent size for New York standards - possibly the smallest I have ever stayed in though.

I do have a couple of negatives - no fridge for personal things like water, milk, drinks, medications etc, they will give you a small novelty fridge which will hold two bottles of small water! Not great during the hot months and the wardrobe space, wow for two girls, what can I say....fail! BUT that's all the negatives! Not bad for me :-)

The area was New York to me, there is a parole office down the street, the only reason I knew this was reading other reviews on this site, otherwise I wouldn't have known! We walked around at all hours of the day and night and never felt unsafe anywhere. This city never sleeps!!

The outstanding staff make this hotel what it is - Neesha, Tsering, Manny and Dennis, were outstanding, thanks guys for making us feel welcome and like family!

I could go on and on and on but I won't, do yourself a favour and give this boutique style hotel a go, you won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor will have a better view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashjay40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Arrived to find a small room, we just fitted in, but the views were great and the location good, the air con wasn't good, we were always hot, but ignore this all, we had a great holiday, the front staff were great, full of help and always helpful. Would come back again

Room Tip: High floors are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAliDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stated here with my wife, parents and toddler last year and should really have posted a review before now. The staff were incredibly friendly, breakfast was great and the rooms were top notch. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Manhattan. Some people have criticized the street the hotel is located on as being a little run down and even seedy but we all felt comfortable enough and were never approached by anybody. There's a CVS pharmacy at the end of the street which is handy particularly when you're traveling with a toddler. Overall, this is fantastic value for New York and because of the friendliness of the staff alone is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for 13 nights in July. Quick easy check in. Our room was on the 20th floor, bit smaller than what I am used to but I am told they are larger rooms for New York, this was no problem though. Room spotless and cleaned daily to the same standard, the chocolates and weather care for the next day were a nice touch. Coffee machine in room but no fridge, we asked for a fridge at reception and it was brought to our room within 5 minutes. The staff at this hotel were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The cold drinks dispenser in the lobby was also a great touch, there were also 2 computers in the lobby for guests to use and free wifi throughout the hotel. It was my husbands birthday and our wedding anniversary while we were away and a card and cheesecake was left in our room which was lovely.

The hotel is close to Times Square, the port authority bus terminal is across the road and subway stations at the top of the street so we had easy access to everywhere.

We had no problems during our stay. This was my first trip to NYC, I fell in love with the city so will be returning and will happily stay at the Distrikt Hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a high room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights in July. The location is perfect near Times Square, Broadway and all the other main attractions. The rooms are very nice and clean. The best part of the hotel is the front desk - they're all very helpful and welcoming.

Would recommend this to everyone travelling to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
934 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
4,990 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#35 of 468 in New York City
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,719 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing