We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel that lived up to previous reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #67 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel that lived up to previous reviews”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a great hotel that we selected having read other reviews on Trip Advisor and we did not regret our decision once!

From the initial booking it was clear that this hotel is focused on customer sevice and ensuring that your stay will be a good one. Travelling with our two adult sons and mindful of the small number of rooms on each floor (just 5) we asked that our two rooms be as close together as possible - we were told best efforts would be made and when we checked in, we found out that our request had been remembered and both rooms were on the same floor. A good start.

We had Grand View rooms and they were perfect with plenty of drawer space and hanging areas. Super air conditioning (which was needed with average temps in the mid 30 degrees C), a very comfortable and large bed, quality TV with multiple channels, an easy to use but very secure safe, an ironing board, iron and coffee machine ensured that the room was well equiped. Our room had excellent sound proofing, room to room, but you could hear some corridor noise (although with only four other rooms on a foor this was minimal and simply individuals getting out of a lift and briefly talking before they accessed their own rooms).

I had read that some felt the power from the showers not to be too good but we found it to be more than adequate on the 25th floor. The bathroom was very well equippd with quality toiletries.

More than anything though the thing that set this hotel apart was the personal touches and the staff. They were extremely personable and had a true desire to assist. Little touches like the brownies on arrival, drinks in reception, the chocolates and weather forecast at night made you feel like you were a very honoured guest and that you were staying in a family orientated establishment - an oasis within one of the busiest cities in the world.

There was some buidling work adjacent the hotel but this did not affect our stay nor did it disturb us within our room.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel indeed, I would wonder why anyone would want to go anywhere ele!

Room Tip: We were on 25th floor and it was very quiet with good views. NYC is a busy and noisy city so my sugg...
See more room tips
Green Features: A living wall in reception is a pretty big green statement for starters but it was clear that throughout the hotel there is an evironmentally-friendly attitude
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,417
    1,310
    243
    38
    19
See reviews for
968
2,555
235
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was a really nice experience and the staff was also really great. The rooms are a good size and have what you need. It's also really great that they have happy hour once in a while (it might've been every night but I don't remember!). Generally really satisfied with the hotel and recommend it for a weekend trip to NYC or the like!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Distrikt is all that it promises - great staff, quiet rooms and hallways, close to Times Square. We appreciated all of it except we would rather not be so close to Times Square during our next visit where we had to wade through the crowds to go east or north. Also the hotel faces the side of the port authority building. On the plus, It's close to many transportation options, the theaters, the Javits center and the Highline.

Room Tip: Final note, we took the least expensive room - quite small for two and there literally wasn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pros
Location - Close to Times Square, bus station, metro and Penn Railway station
Very friendly staff
Fairly New hotel With fresh rooms
Tasty and delicious breakfast
Great beds
For the first time - Excellent WiFi

Cons
None

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and loved it. The rooms were a good size for New York and the hotel is very modern. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Free WiFi was nice to have at the hotel. The hotel is a very close walk to major attractions, including Times Square and major subway lines. There were also nice little touches that made our stay more pleasant: free brownies upon arrival, free lemonade/infused water daily, free snacks in the evening. They even had a car service that they use to get you to the airport for a reasonable price ($50 from the hotel to LGA). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff. In a great location, just near Times Square but also just far enough away to feel like you are in the neighborhood. Had a good little bar which served great snacks, Also served great breakfast. definitely recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tigershark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I used to think hotels are not important, you only go there to sleep during your travels. However, as I'm getting wiser, I realize going 'home' after a busy day is actually as important as anything else on a trip. This hotel is able to get you away from the hustle and bustle of crazy busy NYC. It's surprisingly quiet, extremely clean, modern and feels secure. It's in a great location, only 5 minutes away from subway/train. I will return when in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsuzsanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
935 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 468 in New York City
4,992 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#36 of 468 in New York City
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,722 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,853 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing