We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location. Nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location. Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a great NYC hotel. The room was not a bad size for the center of town, the staff were very friendly and helpful and it is close to Broadway and the Ripley-Grier Studios which was the main reason for our trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,277
    1,227
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here in July. The room I was given had a mini bar that did not function when I was thirsty for water in the middle of the night - and despite calling the front desk they couldn't resolve the issue and did not resolve it when they cleaned the room the next day. The main issue with the hotel room was that they gave me their 'unlucky chap' room - which was sharing an adjoining wall with construction happening on the hotel building. I woke up the first morning to a shaking room - and the second morning it was so bad at 6 am (and the hotel staff was fully aware of the construction happening) I scrambled to get my stuff together and found another hotel in the middle of my stay. I lived in New York for a number of years, so not one to be sensitive to noise. I would not recommend this hotel - the noise made the room inhospitable on a basic level and the staff was not attentive - even after this experience and leaving my phone number for the manager to call me, no one did. Extremely disappointed and the hotel staff did not own up on any of this to ensure guests basic needs are met or attended to. I will be very disappointed if they reply to this posting in a public forum despite the opportunity to deal with my concerns as a guest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo,TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week stay at the Distrikt. I cannot say anything negative about this hotel. Room: very spacious compared to other hotels we have stayed in NY. Location: great, very close to many pla es like Times Square, Empire State Building, Bryant Part, Subway station right in the corner, etc. The trip was in honor of my son, and they treated him very nice welcoming him with a birthday cake, and they always asked how his day was, etc very friendly and kind. Thanks to everybody at the lobby always attentive.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank womenrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel after having read the reviews and seeing the location. Although there were some negatives reviews about the noise, we found that not to be an issue. The fact that you are only a few rooms a floor adds to the intimacy of the location. The parking lot is just up the street and the discount allotted is definitely worth it. You drive there easily from the Lincoln tunnel and leave just as simply. Steps away from Times Square and the theatre district along with easy access to taxis and the subway make for an easy stay. The staff is incredible. I cannot make this point strongly enough. They are informative, friendly and remember your name. The gents at the front door always have a smile on their face and help you where they can. I loved the fruit flavoured water after a hot day walking around NYC.

After having stayed here, it would be my destination of choice. No questions.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stick514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I cannot begin to express the excellent experience we had at this hotel. The staff is the best part followed by the excellent facilities. The location is ideal and just steps away to a metro station. I will definitely be back to this hidden gem.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarissaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

It's location is very central but it may seem sketchy to some. Once inside, the super friendly staff will make you feel at home. I loved that they offered iced refreshments in the lobby. The room was decent sized with a large shower. The bathroom products were nice and the room was super clean. I requested a high floor since there was construction going on and the room was super quiet. Probably the quietest room I have had in NYC in awhile!

Going to be my new home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetladyjane_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

As we approached the entrance, it was across the street from the Port Authority and next door to some major construction. The entrance was actually so small that had we not been looking, we would have walked right by...

...and then we walk in...

We were greeted by a VERY friendly staff. Although our room was not ready, they kindly stored our bags and helped with some suggestions for the afternoon. When we got back, we went to the most comfortable room. The decor follows the modern industrial trend. Our beds were comfortable. We had extra pillows on each bed, two of which were down filled. The customary turn down service with chocolates was a nice touch. Not only was the bathroom filled with modern fixtures, ammenities included products from a company called LATHER. SPA quality!

I know I already mentioned the staff, but they really deserve props. In a world that is sometimes cold and mechanical, they were quite the opposite. This staff makes you want to come back...and one day I will!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieDMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing