We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Distrikt hotel one week at the end of July. We couldn't ask more. Perfect position among Times Square, blue line subway and Hell's Kitchen district with a lot of restaurants. The staff was very nice and helpful. We would like to come back one day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,276
    1,227
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were really excited about our stay at Distrikt which almost lived up to expectation. We'd requested that the hotel book a shuttle from the airport for us which unfortunately never turned up.. We'd also requested an early check in due to an early flight arrival which we were promised would be accommodated. Frustratingly after numerous requests we finally checked in at 2:30pm.. Not a great start.

This aside - the hotel is very impressive. A great position only minutes to Times Square & subway station. Very well appointed rooms (high floors are a must) and a nice, safe feel. We noted previous comments about it being an undesirable part of town but certainly never had any concerns at all. Front desk staff had the right intentions but lacked execution where as the doorman were all brilliant and genuinely friendly and helpful.

This is a must if travelling to New York - even with a few early speed bumps, we really enjoyed this hotel and have recommended it to all that have listened.

Tip - check out the deli on 42nd street beside Starbucks (3 - 4 minute walk) for your brekky each day. Great range of food and really cheap!

Room Tip: Absolutely request a high floor. There are works going on right next door which would certainly be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff who have us some extra treats for our honeymoon on arrival. Lovely room, but fairly small (as expected in midtown NYC). Room was perfect for a few nights and very clean. Great location, near to the centre if everything (Times Square, Central Park, broadway...) within comfortable walking distance to Empire State and the Rockefeller centre. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Excellent hotel with very friendly staff and very accommodating.great location.will go back again.travelled with my family during the summer holiday. Every morning was greeted with smiley faces and was greeted with how was your day at the end of the day. I can't find find any faults

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk U.K.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have just returned from a trip to the Big Apple. I would strongly recommend The Distrikt hotel as it's close to Times Sq and Broadway & Fifth Ave.
The hotel staff are extremely accomodating and friendly with a nice bar/ breakfast room serving nice fresh food.
I hope to return to this great city soon and would definately stay again, in this first class hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 27th floor, very comfortable rooms with no noise at all. Great coffee maker in well...
See more room tips
Green Features: Option of changing bed linen & towels daily if required.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edge49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel itself is in Times Square so if you want to be in the hustle & bustle then this is a good spot. There are other hotels in the heart of it a little bit more but im sure you pay top dollar for it! The distrikts location is still wonderful so do not let that worry you at all!
As others have mentioned the rooms are a good size for times square, its not Huge but does the job just fine. We were there 6 nights & the size of the room was very manageable.
But the real standout of this hotel is the staff & their friendliness and willingness to help! Two in particular stood out, one female & one male but unfortunately i didn't write down their names!!!
We were celebrating our honeymoon & came home on the first night to a chocolate mousse cake & a beautiful hand written card! Every time we went to reception desk they went above & beyond! Management should be truly proud of their staff! It is due to them we will recommend this hotel to others!!!
Only thing we were disappointed with was the breakfast, it was only $11++ but the yoghurt i picked up was off & the bananas were brown & the young girls in there were so uninterested in being there. We constantly had to get up to get their attention for water, milk etc.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our 4 day city beak was made even better by the quality of this hotel.

We had the king suite which was as you would expect in the usa a huge room, with everything you would need.

The staff were great and very helpfull, the hotel is in the centre of the city so no need for those taxis.
will come back

Room Tip: Book the king suite, 2 great beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing