We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time in a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #65 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sheffield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely time in a great hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here recently as we took our girls for their 18th & 16th Birthday, this was our 2nd visit and did not disappoint again, this really is a lovely hotel in a great location almost in the middle of manhattan. they staff are really friendly and just genuinely nice. The breakfast we had almost every morning was nice as always. The rooms were nice and cool and they turn down your bed every night with a chocolate and weather card which is a touching extra. The only thing I will say is that I wished the double beds were a bit bigger, but overall fantastic stay, Many thanks again Distrikt will definitely be back.

Room Tip: ask for high room with great views, if you are celebrating anything let them know you get a nice lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsshuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,412
    1,307
    241
    37
    18
See reviews for
963
2,550
234
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great hotel to stay in. The staff are friendly and are always ready to help with a smile. The room size was good enough, and very quiet although it was near everything and a subway station at the end of the road. The only thing I'd mark them down for is not supplying a bottle of water every day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five nights and really liked this hotel. Rooms were small (as with all NYC hotels) but clean and modern. Staff was very courteous and extremely helpful. Location is great, right next to Port Authority bus station for our bus to/from Newark airport and two blocks from Times Square and very close to Hells Kitchen. We would book this hotel again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 8 nights with my girlfriend. We got a room on the 27th floor with a view of the Empire State and the Hudson. The staff were amazing and we were greeted with happy faces and the low down of what's around and where we were located on a map. The room was great, not massive but it's all we needed and little personal touches made it feel homely. The location was fantastic, walking distance to subway, Times Square, the highline, and theatres. Icy cold drinks in the lobby were very refreshing on return to the hotel. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShredaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at the Distrikt for 4 nights August 18th to 22nd. Lives up to its excellent ratings on Trip Advisor and other review sites. In a good poition for getting to all the sites of Manhattan. Very quiet on the 10th floor. Comfortable beds and room. The staff are polite, helpful and friendly. The girl on reception gave us a subway/air train map, and showed us how to get to JFK on a busy Friday afternoon, avoiding all the traffic jams on the roads. We didn't have much luggage.It was easy and only took 1 hour. It's well worth having the very excellent breakfast here every morning. Good choice of cooked and continental,constant top ups of juice and coffee with most choices. Very well mannered young waiters and waitresses. We liked every member of staff, that we had anything to do with. Had the best carry out pizza ever from The Two Brothers pizza place a few yards down the street.Hells Kitchen nearby for every kind of restaurant. All in all a very good experience and would love to stay at The Distrikt Hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What this hotel offers is simply the best. The bed is amazing - I have never found a more comfortable bed anywhere in the world. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very modern and very clean. Breakfast was great. Given the location and also that the hotel was completely booked when I arrived, I never heard a single sound from anyone while I was in my room. It is as if they are sound-proofed. That really helped me get a good nights' sleep.
The staff all seem to like their jobs and couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. And the advice given was practical and very useful (as well as accurate).
When I go back to NYC, I'll be staying there again. There is no reason to try any other and risk being unhappy or disappointed when you know you can get perfection.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babe_from_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First thoughts on arrival were this was in a dodgy street right behind Penn station, don't let that put you off as area was perfectly safe and the price you pay for such a great location. Staff were super friendly and helpful, room was small but normal size for NYC and very clean. Free wifi was a massive plus. Short walk to Times Sq, Broadway and the bars restaurants on 9th ave. Didn't have the breakfast here but did use the bar in the evening, pricey and slow service but that is my only grumble. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
930 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,969 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#35 of 468 in New York City
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 468 in New York City
2,711 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,847 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Prestigia, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing