We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Growing Pains, But a Very Good Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #64 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We were in NYC for the first time in 11 years and we wanted to stay somewhere different than our previous visits. After a lot of checking we decided to say at The Distrikt Hotel. It is centrally located near The Port Authority Bus Station, but don't let that throw you. The hotel is incredibly quiet. We never heard the traffic from the street. There is some scaffolding on the exterior that makes walking a bit dicey when trash is piled up on the sidewalk, but we never felt unsafe or inconvenienced in any way. The room is nicely appointed and the bed was comfortable (which was good because after a day or walking around town you need one). We would have preferred a bath/shower instead of just a shower, but trade-offs are part of any hotel and this is one you must accept at The Distrikt. Love the Macs in the lobby where you can check your e-mail, map your next stop in the city or just update your Facebook status. The staff was friendly, patient, and always helpful. This is a new hotel, less than a year old and is still building its reputation. The price fit in our budget, our room was pleasant and restful and the staff first-rate in every aspect.

Here's the only sour notes. We asked for an 8:30 am wake-up call on our last day and we did not get one. Fortunately, we woke up ourselves, but that is kind of a basic request so for it not to happen was disappointing.

The other problem is I am a diabetic who carries insulin injections that must be kept cold. We flew in with the insulin injectors wrapped in a cold pack. In the room I kept the insulin in an ice bucket. One afternoon I returned to the room to find the ice bucket gone and the insulin sitting on the dresser, exposed to room temperature. The cold pack was gone. I complained to the front desk who sent up both another bucket of ice, but an electric cooler unit. It never did get cold though and I just stuck my insulin injectors in the ice. I don't think they went bad, but I don't know for sure. The Distrikt Hotel should let the room cleaners know they shouldn't remove items from the ice bucket even if the ice is completely melted. Cold water still works better than a table top.

And they owe me $5 bucks for the missing cold pack.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,473 - 4,479 of 5,593 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

The room was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. It was our first overnight trip to NYC and we would definitely stay at the Distrikt again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apminpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

This new hotel paid attention to detail. The lobby is on an unassuming street with construction but as soon as you step in it's quiet, clean and stylish. The theme is the districts of NYC and is carried throughout without being too much. Wood carving of a city map covers the walls and the tiled covered columns use the same tile as the NYC subway. All very nice but what really matters is the room and the service. Both live up to the lobby. Rooms are very tasteful and roomy for a city hotel. We were on the 28th floor so we had an amazing view. Another nice touch is that we could open the window.
Bathrooms are small but well appointed and the shower is amazing. Great water pressure.

The service is also fantastic. I'm not sure if this is because it's new but so far they are on target. We didn't have to wait a minute before we were offered help every time we were in the lobby. At this point the prices are amazing. I'm sure this is introductory but even as they go up this is on my list. Oh, and super comfy bed!

We have stayed at multiple hotels in the city and this one is very good. With the location on 40th and 9th it's so convenient to drive to from the Holland Tunnel and it has parking.

Staying there again in a month hopefully.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Excellent service. Nice and clean rooms and bathrooms. Walking distance to Times square. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnp224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The Distrikt Hotel exceeded all my expectations. My 3 friends and I searched for a hotel in NYC and finally came upon this one. It turned out to be an amazing find. The location was fantastic, being only 2 blocks from Times Square and walking distance to the subway/taxis. We got a great opening special price, which was well worth it! The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and nice. We befriended many of them upon our stay, which is one of the reasons we enjoyed our stay so much. They were quick to provide us with anything we needed and always welcomed us with a warm greeting. They offered us insider tips to New York, recommended places to eat and nightclubs.
The hotel itself was very trendy and very clean. The rooms were really nice and cozy. The rooms were always neat and tidy. We received weather cards to let us know of the weather for the next couple of days, as well as The New York Times, which were all nice touches. I would highly recommended this hotel and am super thrilled with my stay here. Thank you Distrikt for making my New York experience a great one!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alrstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was great one block over and you can see times square. We went to the empire state building at 11pm and walked back to the hotel and felt very safe. The hotel was clean, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with a great shower. The staff are very attentive and friendly. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorknewyork76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stayed 2 nights at the Distrikt Hotel. Staff was extremely accommodating and pleasant. Very eager to help and suggest restaurant and lounges. Rooms were a nice size for NYC. Bed were comfortable and the rooms were VERY Clean. Bathrooms very nice. Showers were pretty. Decor was nice. Chocolates on our pillows were a nice touch. Hotel was quiet and in a decent location just a few blocks from Times Square. Parking was probably the best price I ever had in NYC.! Only down fall was I wish they has a restaurant to catch a late night bite and the fact I couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vigerduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#107 of 471 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 471 in New York City
648 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 471 in New York City
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#32 of 471 in New York City
1,779 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £96 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing