We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”
Review of The West Townhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The West Townhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My wife and I recently stayed for one week in a studio apt. Our studio (No 6) was a delight: spacious living/sleeping area with a luxuriously comfortable bed, adequate kitchen and stylish (albeit compact) bathroom. The whole ambience was enhanced by the inclusion of flowers and fresh fruit The whole place was scrupulously clean throughout. Monica is a charming hostess who spent an inordinate amount of time advising us on the delights of the area with a great many suggestions fore eating, drinking, shopping etc. all of which proved to be spot on. We loved the upper west side which had far more to offer than we had imagined prior to our stay. Central Park makes a great back yard.
Hola, Monica and Larry!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mistersmith41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

As an ex-New Yorker, who still loves New York, staying here was glorious! Right in my old 'hood, of the Upper West Side, and within a block of a great yoga place, I couldn't have been happier. The darling couple who own this brownstone, have turned apartments into long-stay rentals, and it's great. Full kitchen, nice bathroom, lots of space. Elegant, classy and clean. I stayed in the basement front, and maybe next time I'll choose a back unit... not quite so close to the street. It is after all, Manhattan! And it's a busy. But if you need quiet, go to Yosemite, yes? Close to Central Park, I've enjoyed the October weather and walked to the Met, and Museum of NY City - And that's what NY is to me... walking a being with my fellow New Yorkers! Nothing more entertaining!

Room Tip: I think the ones in the back and higher up?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My boyfriend I I spent an amazing 7 night at the West Townhouse and I can safely say that you will not find a better place to stay in New York. We stayed in Suit 2 which with it wrought iron bed, full sized kitchen and adorable living area with fresh cut flowers and fresh fruit made us fell completely at home. The building is in a beautiful tree lined street on the upper west side, within close walking distance to central park, great restaurants and great shops. Larry and Monica made the booking process easy and Larry organised airport transfers for us and met us at the front door to welcome us. He has a wealth of knowledge about the local area and was happy to point us in the right direction. I will be returning to this great townhouse next time I am in NYC and would recommend to anyone you is looking for self catering accommodation. What a PERFECT place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

My partner and I spent four nights at The West Townhouse in March to run the New York Half Marathon. The apartment was great - quiet, well-equipped, nicely decorated and very clean. It is located in a very safe area with plenty of facilities in close proximity, including Central Park, which was perfect for running and for the start of the NY Half! It was lovely coming back to this area after visiting the more frenetic central parts of New York as it felt like an oasis of calm but still full of character. Would not hesitate to recommend and could not imagine staying anywhere else in NY that would be as nice!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katieg190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We have stayed in many B&B's and self-catering apartments in many countries, and this is one of the good ones. We stayed in 4F, a big, bright, nicely decorated room with exposed brick walls, personal touches (like the orchid on the dresser), high ceilings and windows on the street. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom sparkling clean, with white subway tiles, and high quality fixtures. The kitchen allowed us to have breakfast "at home" and some dinners as well.

Great tourist location ... Central Park and the Museum of Natural History (a must-see) are a few blocks away. The subway is a short walk away, and gets you to Times Square and all other points of interest in minutes . At the same time, this is a family neighborhood with a good mix of delis, grocery stores and restaurants, providing a respite from the tourist clamour and a good place to relax at the end of the day. Try Celeste Restaurant, a block south on Amsterdam, for great Italian food ... we went there twice in one week.

If you are self-sufficient, like B&B's and the experience of living like the locals, this place is for you. It provides excellent value for the budget conscious traveller. If you need bellhops, someone to make the bed and clean towels every day, it's not ... go to a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seeingtheworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My wife, son and I just returned from a vacation in NYC, and we had the pleasure of residing at West Townhouse for one week of it. Suite 4R provided us a comfortable retreat from the busy streets of midtown when a rest was deemed necessary. The neighbourhood of West Townhouse is what struck us most in that it felt like a community onto itself, offering everything one would want including eclectic dining, delis (check out Zabar's), shopping, pubs, people watching and almost immediate access to the subway (#1 line will take you right to Staten Island ferry, and numerous points between). Monica and Larry are very attentive and accessible hosts. Thanks so much for helping to make our vacation to NYC a grand experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeebo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Our fourth visit to NYC and the best because apartment living just allowed us to feel part of the neighbourhood. The suite we were in was perfect in every way ... a comfortable bed, no traffic noise at night, kitchen, and easy access to shops just steps away on Amsterdam. It was so nice to return "home" after a busy day, and the fruit and flowers, proof of Monica's care and attention to details, were such a welcoming touch that you don't get in hotels. We would not consider staying elsewhere on our next visit to NYC. If you have ever wondered what it would be like to live in Manhattan, The West Townhouse would give you a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artlover0346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#185 of 469 in New York City
5,467 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#61 of 469 in New York City
3,713 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#138 of 469 in New York City
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
East Village Apartments
East Village Apartments
#2 of 163 in New York City
344 reviews
Midtown
Radio City Apartments
Radio City Apartments
#5 of 163 in New York City
2,300 reviews
Chelsea
Leo House
Leo House
#9 of 163 in New York City
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Townhouse

Address: West 85th Street & Amsterdam Avenue, Upper West Side, Manhattan, New York City, NY 10024
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The West Townhouse Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing