We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value accommodation in Manhattan!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chic&Budget New York
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value accommodation in Manhattan!”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Very impressed with this place, travelled with a couple of mates and Bert made us all feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend an apartment here to people looking to explore New York from a reasonably priced base.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djsc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    73
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
88
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Last Summer was actually the second time we chose Chich&Budget for our accomodation in New York and we would never choose anything else. Not only is the apartment (127 garden loft this time around) absolutely stunning, but Bert is such a nice guy, he'll help you and give you the best advice for your stay in NY.

Everything was comfortable, cozy and perfect. Not one problem. The apartment is only 10 minutes away from the subway station and if you take the express line from there, you'll get downtown in no time at all.

What we as a family love about Harlem is how comfortable and at home we feel there, and the apartment experience is a million times better than a hotel! You will not regret this very affordable choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BuenosAiresMili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed the three of us (a couple with a 2 year old daughter) at Chic&Budget for 6 days this summer. The place was amazingly peaceful, just what you need after a day of visiting in Manhattan. We stayed in the only room with an en-suite bathroom, which was perfect for us. The whole place is very clean, cosy, and the warm welcome by Bert made us feel from the start that we chose the right place for our holidays. With the subway, or even the bus, there's easy access to any place in Manhattan. In Harlem, there are a few places really great to eat (Sylvia, the Red Rooster). On 125th street, just a few minutes from the Chic&Budget, there's a small supermarket with great food (organic,...) and there's a really nice vegetarian take away.

As a final note, I would like to thank Bert, not only for his amazing hosting, but also for his great help when we had to look for another place to stay at (as I initially forgot to book one night). Bert really went out of his way to find us a place. Thanks also to Sophie at the www.lamaisondartny.com. I hope next time I'll bring my game of Warri to challenge Bert.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasdingue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The appartment was very clean and well equiped. Bert is very helpful and can give advise about NY. The appartment was 10min walking from the subway station and it took us 20min from the station to get to lower Manhattan. It was a pleasure to come back there after the whole day visiting. A place I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanspatates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jindrichuv Hradec, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2011

There were two of us booked into this hostel. Upon arrival by train to Penn station we gave a call to a very friendly guy Bert, who gave us info on how to get there.Bert takes care of the hostel operation. He made us familiar with NYC transportation possibilities and places worth visiting and showed us to our room/bathroom/shared kitchen.All areas perfectly clean. Equipment is great, we felt really great and comfortable there all week long. There is nothing to worry about much around the place, locals do respect your privacy and we even exchanged some stories with the guys from the opposite St.Nicholas community blocks. Shame we did not have time to explore Harlem deeper as the place has got a spirit, definitely! So,......go for it I´d bet you´ll get treated the same way we did.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinCZ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This place must be the best place to stay in NYC. We just absolutely loved it there. We had been traveling around the world for 2 months and it was probably one of our favorite places we had stayed on the whole trip!

One of the things I loved was that it was great to experience life in an apartment in NY, as opposed to a hotel in central city. Bert the host was very friendly and happy to help us with anything, which he did. When we arrived he gave us a NYC subway map and showed us how to get to all the sights. He also helped us to find other accommodation and it was lovely chatting with him about NYC.

Our room at 127 guesthouse apartments was perfect, modern and clean and a really good large size for our large suitcases. The kitchen was also modern with everything you need. The apartment is also in a quiet safe neighborhood and so I slept well every night :D

I had always wanted to go to NYC my whole life and it was more and better than I had ever imagined. Staying at 'Chic & budget' topped it all off and the next time I go there I will definitely book there. There's nothing I liked least - everything was great and the rates were great too.

Room Tip: I never saw the other rooms but our room was really good on the ground floor of 127 guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Bert and his crew are running a fantastic operation here. The apartment is great, with perfect finishes, wireless, and a fully equipped kitchen. We stayed for four nights and due to all the sight seeing didn't spend too much time in the apartment - unfortunately. It is really close to a metro and you can buy a week pass for $29 and use it as much as you like. The room was spacious and comfortable and cannot be faulted. Bert was very helpful for the duration of our stay and even went out of his way to return something we left in the apartment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suitophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Harlem
Saint Nicholas Inn
Saint Nicholas Inn
#365 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#10 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 75 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#4 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Harlem
The International Cozy Inn
The International Cozy Inn
#22 of 75 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic&Budget New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic&Budget New York

Property: Chic&Budget New York
Address: 127th ST, New York City, NY 10027
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic&Budget guesthouse & apartments offer budget private rooms & apartments in charming brown-stone houses. Guests are accomodated in espacious rooms (1 to 3 persons) with private bathroom most of them and apartments (1-5 people) in a combination of double/queen size beds and sofa-couches.Different properties:- Chic&Budget 131 Guest House- Chic&Budget 127 Guest House- Chic&Budget 131 Apartments- Chic&Budget 132 Apartment- Chic&Budget Madison Apartment- Chic&Budget Garden Loft Apartment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chic&Budget New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic&Budget New York Hotel New York City
Chic And Budget New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing