We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location for access to the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for access to the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

We spent a week at Allie's. It was within walking distance of Jazz clubs and a short subway ride to the centre of NYC. Marilyn was very helpful with all requests. On the last day she retrieved the taxi driver who had my purse with my wallet and passport, left accidently with him. A life saver.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank egenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    26
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

While visiting New York in the summer, my family and I wanted to stay in a nice, quiet place away from the city's noise often found in major hotels. Allie's Inn B&B was the perfect place! The area was quiet, the room was very clean, nicely organized and decorated, we all slept very well in very comfortable beds and we could enjoy the comfort and flexibility of having our own breakfast (nice selection provided by the Inn) and light meals or snacks using our own kitchen. The experience was like having our own place in the city, we had everything! Marilyn Moulton, the Innkeeper and her staff were friendly and easily accessible via phone or emails answering all our questions (where can we park?) Moreover, I inadvertently left a personal item in the room and after noticing its absence at home a few weeks later, I contacted Marilyn and she promptly returned my email saying that she had found my item and I was so happy to receive it in the mail at my home a few days later! Now, that is a great service! This Inn is now my favorite place to stay in the NYC and I am already planning my next stay there during the holidays.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed at Allie's Inn in April, 2012. Our room was very modern and clean. The bed was comfortable and free wi fi was available. The room had a kitchenette and the inn keeper stocked the fridge with some breakfast items, so we didn't need to go out for breakfast. The inn is around the corner from the BC subway line. We will definitely stay at Allie's Inn again when we are in NYC. it was a good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Allie's Inn was totally awesome for what we needed. We stayed in a large private room ("Allie's Room") with ensuite on the top floor (up two flights of stairs - didn't worry us, but might worry somebody who would prefer an elevator). The bed was huge and comfortable, the furnishings and decorations were simple and classy, and the room had absolutely everything we needed. Free internet, big TV, a daybed, a breakfast bar, oven, fridge -- you name it, it was there. The room even had a large closet for storing suitcases out of the way. The bathroom was clean and a good size - shower/bath was very roomy, which was great.

Marilyn, the innkeeper, had left delicious food in the fridge for our breakfast - fresh fruit salad, bread, milk, cereal - all sorts of things. The room was very quiet and we never heard a peep from anyone, including the people staying in the room next door! The area was fantastic. Quiet, gorgeous street, very close to two different subway stations, and near to convenience shops/pharmacy/IHOP, etc. Harlem was a beautiful area of New York. It's about 30 mins by subway into Manhattan/Times Square for all the tourist-type activities, but that didn't worry us. Riding the subway enabled us to feel quite independent and confident about getting around the city, and we never experienced any problems with any of the other commuters or trains.

Overall, Allie's Inn was remarkable and fantastic value for what we paid. We will definitely be staying here again. Marilyn was really lovely, and allowed us to keep our suitcases in the inn all day on the day that we left the city as well. I would recommend Allie's Inn to anybody who would like to stay at a "home away from home" and who doesn't need an innkeeper to hold their hand throughout their stay. There isn't a reception desk as such so you're on your own. We didn't need one at all - everything had already been thought of for us. Enjoy! It's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Super quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank painted_duchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

Our room was very comfortable with everything you need (especially electronic

devices and free wifi)
The keeper welcome was great, she filled our fridge with anything we could

need for breakfast.
The area is safe and very quiet.
We would definitely suggest it!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#9 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
TriBeCa
The Canal Park Inn
The Canal Park Inn
#10 of 74 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#4 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Ave North
#20 of 74 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Manhattan
Michael
Michael
#22 of 74 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Harlem
Sugar Hill Harlem Inn
Sugar Hill Harlem Inn
#33 of 74 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 313 West 136th Street, New York City, NY 10030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are traveling to New York for business or pleasure you will find that Allie's Inn offers comfort, privacy and friendly hospitality in an environment that reflects the quiet elegance of an earlier time. We welcome both business travelers and seasonal visitors for both short term and long term stays. A visitor will be provided the opportunity to enjoy the city with the convenience of home when staying in one of our lovely private apartments. Allie’s Inn is located just minutes away from Columbia University and City College campuses. City College is just a 5 minute walk and Columbia University is just a short train ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing