We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely horrible!”
Review of La Sienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2012

this was the worst place we stayed in..ever! I can't believe so many people were happy with staying here..I just cannot explain it. At around 100USD, this was the most expensive room we ever stayed in, yet the worst one! I was thinking whether I should write a bad review because we found one of the owners (the lady) really nice and helpful..but unfortunately that does not make the place any nicer. And it would not be fair for other travellers not to let them know what is expecting them..

Where to start..well the rooms everything is very old, rooms are small, very cold and the worst thing was the terrible smell. Everything smelt in a strange unpleasant way. Although there was nothing really dirty, it looks as if it was, the furniture, floors, bed sheets, the walls, the kitchen, the bathroom and everything is too old, worn out and simply looks ugly. We definately don't need luxury and did not expect any, but we just fell extremely uncomfortable here.

Another really bad thing was the heating..We felt cold all the time we were inside, and that's nothing pleasant when it's cold outside too. The did put the heating on but only at certain times, when it became extremely hot but then the temperture dropped again quickly and it got pretty cold again.

One of the owner (the man) was extremely arrogant and treated us in a very rude way, but we were told it was due to an operation, so perhaps we just had bad luck and he is nicer at other times.

There were also a couple of other small things that annoyed us - old mattresses that made my back hurt all the time, the heating making noise everytime it worked (for example around 11-12 pm and beginning around 6am), strange shower head which is too high and makes it almost impossible to have a shower without getting your hair wet every time, as well as extremely thin walls- you can hear your neighbours all the time as if they were in the same room.. All of this just made our stay even less pleasant (though on the whole our trip in NY was excellent..except for the accommodation:)

To sum up - I would definitely not recommend staying in this place to anyone, anytime...even if it were for free.. Stay here only if you want to freeze most of the time and if you don't mind sleeping in a terrible smell.. Otherwise, there are many better options that are so much better at the same or even lower price!!! stay away from here!!!

Room Tip: how to choose a good room? go anywhere else than here:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank echoofmyvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gingerbread241, Owner at La Sienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Sorry for the late response but it took me a while to see who this person was. First of all this is not a hotel or hostel nor should it be compared to that. The room he stayed in had a shared kitchen and bathroom which we do not charge $100 per day. He was so comfortable here that we saw him greet someone, invited them in, showed them around and bypassed us and put them in one of the rooms as if he was an employee here. Once it was brought to his attention that it was not his place to address anyone and that job is for us to do, he became angry and criticized everything. The towels, the sheets, everything bothered him. The roo is too hot, too cold. The shower wets his hair. Really? We tried everything but he was not happy so we asked if he wanted to leave but he said "No". The mattress is 1 year old. The furnishing is called antique not old. This is a brownstone with antique moldings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

Americans are often warm and welcoming hosts in contrast to their British counterparts.

But not in La Sienna. It is a jarring cliche to compare a hotel with Torquay's finest, Fawlty Towers, but forgive me if I pursue it here.

There was more than a touch of Basil Fawlty about the owner of this place. Although he said he was happy to help, in reality his manner was anything but. The whole place is plastered with rules - don't slam the door, switch off the light, don't smoke, don't slam the door.

When I left for the last time I took great delight in clattering the door before marching off triumphantly down the street.

One day, the owner changed the Internet password and didn't think to tell his guests. We were in a top floor room and the wifi barely worked at all in there even when we were permitted access.

However, that aside, La Sienna was a charming place to stay. The room was spacious with a table and seating area. It was nicely decorated and the communal kitchen was an excellent, although seemingly underused, facility.

The property was immaculately clean throughout. Even though it is not centrally located, it was impressively quick and easy to get into Time Square.

The property is in Harlem, and it certainly would not have felt safe walking back there alone late at night. That said, we had no serious problems.

So there we are - a clean and impressive guesthouse with a grumpy host.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnInspectorCalls_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gingerbread241, Owner at La Sienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

We are not a HOTEL or a HOSTEL nor should we be compared to any. This is not a social scene. We have rules posted that are just common courtesy. Don't slam the door, turn off the lights, leave the kitchen as found so the next person using it will be allowed the same courtesy. Be respectful of others. I really don't see anything wrong with that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My Husband & I have just spent a week at La Sienna, in the Studio Apartment which was very comfortable, which met all our needs, lovely cosy bed & so nice to come back to at the end of the day after sightseeing. We were able to leave our belongings including our passports in our room, without being concerned about losing them, due to the excellent security , on arrival we were met by Manny who gave us great information, he is always around if you need him. Yvette was so kind & helpful & we enjoyed our chats with her about New York. We found getting DownTown very easy on the Subway & we got a 7 day pass which wa

Room Tip: Studio apartment on the ground floor, very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan_1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here in September. The owner was very helpful and courteous. We spent 9 days here and loved the area. It is quick and easy to get downtown and within walking distance of the top of Central Park. The rooms are very nice and cleaned regularly. The bathroom was very clean and was only shared with one other room on the same floor. Loved the cats! Kitchen was very useful and well stocked. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen Taylor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

It was our first time in NYC and we stayed at the room # 2 for a few days. Every thing was nice (the room, the kitchen, the guests...) except the noise because of the work in the neighborhood. I hope that, next time we go back there, it's already over...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gláucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just came back from NYC today and I loved staying at La Sienna!

Don't worry about the location! Harlem 123rd street is totally safe
and if you take subway line A or D express from 125th street,
you'll arrive at 59th in 12 minutes. it's just one stop away and the next stop is 42nd street!

Manny and Yvett were very helpful and they are willing to help all the time!

My room(single) on the 3rd floor was super cozy and had a private TV!
Shared bathroom was always clean as well as the kitchen.

Seriously, I can't criticize anything about this place!
I would definitely stay here again when I come back to NYC!!:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HELENIZED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I went with one of my friends. We both loved it! The rooms are a bit small, but nothing to worry about. And even though it's in Harlem, there's no problem. Neighbours said hi every morning - even the garbageman. The subway is very close nearby. The rooms are clean. The owners are so sweet!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmaliePedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 470 in New York City
1,592 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#232 of 470 in New York City
5,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#16 of 163 in New York City
1,209 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#18 of 163 in New York City
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sienna

Address: West 123rd Street, New York City, NY
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are completely private with a share kitchen and bathroom. Room 5 has a private kitchenette. Studio 1 and 2 have private kitchen and bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sienna Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing