We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouse !!”
Review of Hotel 99

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 99
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mouse !!”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed their for a month and their was a mouse in my room... the only thing they did was cleaning my room, they didn't even caught it...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank an b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    65
    23
    11
    18
See reviews for
13
51
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The room we stayed in had a comfortable, queen size bed, a big TV-screen (not that you need to use it while staying in NYC!) and a good but noisy AC. The towels were changed every day and the bed was made every day aswel. We use the common bathrooms...which were pretty luxurious! The tube is just a short walk for the hotel.
We went to the coffee shop (on broadway) around the corner every day for some bagels and coffee. Nice people, good coffee and tasty bagels!
Don't go to the "All American" diner closeby on Broadway. Awfull food, the service was okay...but they rip you of with hidden service costs. So that you tip them and get the service costs aswel... Not very decent!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheTravelBug2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I stayed here before and really liked it, so I recommended we stay here when my family wanted to see New York. We booked 2 rooms for July 2012, and just 2 weeks ago received a strange email telling us about some housing law changes and that they have to cancel all bookings because of this, and that they were sorry. But no offer of different hotels. They must have given out our email address though, as other hotels contacted us to offer us rooms, and so we found a replacement. No real explanation to why they have to close though, so it makes you wonder if they got busted for some violations or something? In their own interest, a real explanation would have been better. But at least it seems they are not accepting an reservations for this time, and they did inform us via email. Glad it wasn't a day before arrival!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ArcticMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I telephoned Hotel 99 the day before my arrival to double check that my booking was in place. They told me that there had been 'a change to New York housing law' which meant that they had been forced to cancel all bookings. They did not email me or otherwise notify me of this change, leaving me high and dry and without much of an apology or any effort to secure me a room somewhere else. The excuse was also obviously a lie. It was graduation week at nearby Columbia University and my guess is that they received a large block booking and preferred to take that, ignoring their obligation to honour my reservation. At the very least they should have found me a suitable room nearby and covered any difference in cost. I still haven't received any written apology or account of what happened - all I got was a diffident person on the end of the phone who would do nothing to help me out of my predicament. Avoid it at all costs.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank A_L0nd0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We booked a double room with private bathroom, and cannot fault it. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels provided, the staff where friendly and helpful and the location was great. Only downside was the noise from the road, since our room was right on the front of the hotel. We bought earplugs from the hardware store downstairs which helped. We used the local "Americana" food deli on the corner of 101st. great coffee, snacks + open 24 hrs. The Metro Diner was ok, apart from the old guy who comes in at night , sits at the bar and spits on the tiled floor......gross.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not facing Broadway if pos
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RocketRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I booked this hotel about 4 weeks ago for a weekend in NY. Two weeks before the date of arrival I got an email from the hotel stating they canceled my booking. In fact it said that all bookings for May and onwards were canceled. Luckily my stay was still 2 weeks away, but for those who had booked for the beginning of may: horrible! The cancelation had something to do with a new law, but nothing was specified. I phoned the hotel to ask for an explanation, which remained rather vague. The owner was friendly and all and new laws might not be in his hands, however, that doesn't make it OK to cancel bookings without providing another hotel option in a similar price range with free rooms. A law is generally not issued from one day to another, so they should have known.

I was looking very much forward to staying at hotel99 after reading the reviews on tripadvisor, so was pretty bummed and stressed when I got the email. The hotel I got now on short notice is about 100$ more expensive for 3 nights, money that I had rather spend on other things when in NY. However when looking back in time into the reviews, I found a similar cancellation action back in 2009. This is thus not the first time the hotel has canceled bookings just like that, therefore beware when you book this!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveTraveling00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I was so impressed with Hotel 99. From the very start and throughout our stay the staff were friendly, chatty and very helpful, providing us with a list of local restaurants and bars.
The entire hotel was very clean, especially the shared bathrooms, not a stray hair in sight! Yes the rooms are on the smaller side but as its been said before, in New York you really only want a bed to sleep in!
Our only complaints would be the boiler problem which led to one day having a cold shower, however it was fixed the following day, and they took some money off our bill for this. The other issue they couldn't really do much about, but we had several mosquitos (or similar biting flying insect- definitely NOT bed-bugs) in our room, and had to buy bug repellent. But they were only minor complaints.
As I said myself and my sister were both really happy with hotel, excellent location to explore the upper west side, and not too far away from all the attractions of mid town.
Nearby recommendations would be Regional, an Itailian restaurant on Broadway between 98th/99th. Food was amazing, best cheese ravioli I've ever had, and they do cheap deals on a Monday. Also Sara Beth's on Amsterdam and 80th, few blocks walk but fantasic for bruch and outdoor seating.
Another major plus is the hotel provides free wi-fi, at many other more expensive hotels you have to pay for this.
I could go on and on..... but simply for a reasonably priced hotel that is reassuringly clean and well located you cant go wrong with Hotel 99.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 466 in New York City
636 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 466 in New York City
1,537 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#391 of 466 in New York City
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 466 in New York City
1,307 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#429 of 466 in New York City
1,954 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#124 of 466 in New York City
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 99

Property: Hotel 99
Address: 244 West 99th Street, New York City, NY 10025-5488
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 164 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 99 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 99 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing