We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern hotel for a modern style of traveller - perfect for business.”
Review of World Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
World Center Hotel
Ranked #108 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 November 2013

You walk in - it's clean, refreshing, air-conditioned (in a NY July, this is a must).
You're greeted by reception, and are offered the option of checking-in on the terminals located around the lobby, or via the receptionist.
WiFi is free as standard.
You need to print something? You just print via the Internet to their printer downstairs.
You want extra coffee, bottled water, towels, an iron? You just walk over to the "guest amenities" cupboard and grab what you need.

I'm used to either bare simplicity (i.e. little or no amenities and features), or a very fussy way of getting things I don't need (turn-down service, a 20 minute wait and an tip expectation for a tea bag). This hotel seems to anticipate the modern, no-nonsense traveller. Fast check-in. Amenities that I actually need, and a simple way to get them. I don't need bottled water brought up to me on a silver tray - in fact, I enjoy being able to walk fifteen seconds out of my door to get it!

Tea, coffee and other munchies seem to be available free of charge downstairs (or maybe I'd wandered into the Club Quarters by accident), business facilities are self-service and very easy to access. Wifi is good enough for Netflix streaming (and included in the rate) and this hotel is altogether wonderful.

The hotel loses one point in my opinion due to the location. I was working in Jersey City, and had figured that the hotel is right next to the PATH. However, with all of the construction work going on, what should be a 1-minute stroll turns into a 10-minute detour. The hotel is also slightly difficult to find, as a result of this construction work. Otherwise, it was an absolutely perfect stay, and I would recommend it very highly for value and business travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yossi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here this past weekend and it was lovely! Room was a bit small, but very nice. The view of the Memorial sight was spectacular!! Convenient to subway as well. One of the really nice amenities was free fresh bottled water and a closet with extra pillows, blankets, and stuff - nice touch. We didn't have breakfast there, but did go up to the 20th floor to see the view and the restaurant is quite nice and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We only stayed one night but the entire experience was great. We really enjoyed the first class service we received from Romon at their restaurant on the rooftop. He waited on us both times we visited the restaurant and he was just outstanding!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We took a quick weekend trip to NYC and stayed at the World Center Hotel. Great location right next to the 9/11 Memorial and a few nice restaurants to eat at. We arrived at 1am and the staff was very pleasant. Rooms were a good size for NYC and I thought the price of the room was extremely reasonable. We had a little trouble with the valet when we went to leave, but the hotel staff was very accomodating during the wait. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on 16th floor. Great view of 9/11 Memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPat14225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is really nice thanks to Deborah I was able to upgrade to a suite. When I came back dinner there was a birthday card in my room what a nice touch.. Thanks a million for making this bday special ...

Room Tip: Be nice to the staff and they will take care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamachere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Had an awesome time at this hotel and sightseeing. The beds were so comfortable and the view was spectacular. The girls and I had a blast. Thanks Deb for the great options and all your help. See u next time :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I live about an hour and a half outside of the city, and once or twice a year, we'll come in for a night out in the city with friends. We've stayed at World Center Hotel twice now, and have had a great experience both times.

The rooms are nothing special - your typical small NYC hotel room - but they're clean and quiet, and offer some nice amenities including free wifi and cold filtered water via a dispenser in the hall. The rooftop bar is nice for a quick pre-game drink, with spectacular views of the 9/11 memorial pools and the Freedom tower. Staff throughout the hotel are friendly and accommodating. Only complaint is the bed, which is a little hard and uncomfortable for our tastes.

Best of all, the hotel's rates seem to be reasonable, no matter when we look.

Room Tip: Hotel is broken in two - Club Quarters & World Center Hotel (they're the same place). In my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooklahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#110 of 471 in New York City
1,550 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#33 of 471 in New York City
1,779 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#224 of 471 in New York City
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#106 of 471 in New York City
732 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#217 of 471 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Center Hotel

Address: 144 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006-1030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#22 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Business Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £96 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — World Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 169 rooms located on the south side of the World Trade Center with unfettered views of what will become the United States' most famous landmark. In the heart of downtown Manhattan, nearby neighborhoods include Tribeca, Soho, Battery Park, South Street Seaport, Wall Street and Chinatown and close to dining, shopping and entertainment. World Center Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.World Center Hotel provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your World Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing