We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, comfortable and nice”
Review of World Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
World Center Hotel
Ranked #97 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had reserved a single room, but chose to upgrade it for 40 USD when I came there, to a suite. What I got was one large bedroom/kitchen, a bathroom, and a small sitting room. There was only a window in the sitting room, so the other rooms were dark. The view from the sitting room was very good from 11th floor, where you can see right out on the 9/11 Memorial Park with the two pools. However, as there was a snow storm and freezing temperature outside I had to close the door to the sitting room to get the warmth up in the bedroom, since the cold leaked in from the windows.

There was a TV in front of the bed, but it wasn't connected. It didn't bother me since I don't watch much TV anyway. The place was very clean and tidy, and it was convenient to have a kitchen with microwave oven and kitchen. No mini-bar. The amenities in the bathroom were simple. The bed was very comfortable. Not too soft, not too hard. There was no safe in the suite to store valuables.

The staff was friendly and service minded, and in the lobby you could tap ice water on bottles. Nice touch. I didn't try the restaurants or the room service. Wi-fi was quick and free of charge.

Both the Rector and the Cortland subway stations are very close by, so it is easy to get around from the hotel, even if it's down by the Wall Street side of Manhattan. Also very easy to walk to the ferries to go to Liberty and Ellis Islands.

All in all I would recommend the place, but the hotel is more on the average side, more than on the luxurious side. Good value for money, though!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the 9/11 memorial site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have just returned from an unbelievable holiday in New York City which was made even more special by our great hotel. Perfect location -view of the 9/11 Memorial- close to the subways very comfortable spotless rooms with ample space. So handy having a little kitchenette. Hotel new modern everything just works perfectly with warm friendly professional staff! Highly recommended

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Loved the location, staff, & service. Great location. Directly across from the World Trade Center Memorial. The rooftop restaurant is fantastic! Loved Juda, Steven, & Ceasar! The drinks & the burgers are EXCELLENT! The room were clean & ample space. Great beds! I'd definitely stay here again! Reasonably priced too!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Channell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had reserved somewhere else and as the other reservation was cancelled at the last minute, we were offered some options and decided to choose the World Center Hotel because it was near to the place we had business.
The hotel is right in front of the Memorial. So at first I did not feel so comfortable about it and it was Memorial weekend! But after I got used to it and said a pray for all those who were gone!
First the price. We got a special rate so it was ok. The breakfast was not included but if you don't want to spend 25 dollars on the one served at their restaurant you'll find plenty of places to have breakfast around the hotel. By the way the restaurant at the roof serves the best turkey, bree sandwich In NY. Great with a a glass of red wine. And the 25 dollar breakfast is worse it's price. The view from the terrace is fabulous.
Our room was quite small but the beds were the best ever!!!!
The facilities are totally equipped for doing business. You can print your papers and they have tables in the lounge were you can charge your smartphones and other devices.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I've stayed here 3 times. Check-in was fast and easy. The room was very clean and modern. The bed was VERY comfortable (I'm very picky with this). The last time we stayed they upgraded us to a balcony room which was nice and we had a great view of the Memorial site. Yes the rooms are small but if you stay in NYC a lot then you know to expect this. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen91610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The location is great, the hotel is clean and attractive, the staff are wonderful. The closets on every floor with extra blankets, tea, etc. is awesome and so is the purified water available on each floor. Every staff person we interacted with was very helpful. The room was clean and had many shelves and drawers for storing luggage, clothes, etc. There were extra charger cords of various size and shape in case you forgot yours. As others have mentioned, the room was a bit small, but we felt like that is pretty common in many places in NYC and the space was enough for us. The hotel is incredibly quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable. The location is very close to several different subway lines and is right next to the 9/11 memorial. Even if you tend to get lost, you can just follow the signs to the 9/11 memorial and find your way back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melishma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

You walk in - it's clean, refreshing, air-conditioned (in a NY July, this is a must).
You're greeted by reception, and are offered the option of checking-in on the terminals located around the lobby, or via the receptionist.
WiFi is free as standard.
You need to print something? You just print via the Internet to their printer downstairs.
You want extra coffee, bottled water, towels, an iron? You just walk over to the "guest amenities" cupboard and grab what you need.

I'm used to either bare simplicity (i.e. little or no amenities and features), or a very fussy way of getting things I don't need (turn-down service, a 20 minute wait and an tip expectation for a tea bag). This hotel seems to anticipate the modern, no-nonsense traveller. Fast check-in. Amenities that I actually need, and a simple way to get them. I don't need bottled water brought up to me on a silver tray - in fact, I enjoy being able to walk fifteen seconds out of my door to get it!

Tea, coffee and other munchies seem to be available free of charge downstairs (or maybe I'd wandered into the Club Quarters by accident), business facilities are self-service and very easy to access. Wifi is good enough for Netflix streaming (and included in the rate) and this hotel is altogether wonderful.

The hotel loses one point in my opinion due to the location. I was working in Jersey City, and had figured that the hotel is right next to the PATH. However, with all of the construction work going on, what should be a 1-minute stroll turns into a 10-minute detour. The hotel is also slightly difficult to find, as a result of this construction work. Otherwise, it was an absolutely perfect stay, and I would recommend it very highly for value and business travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yossi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#100 of 469 in New York City
1,524 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#217 of 469 in New York City
1,492 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#36 of 469 in New York City
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 469 in New York City
649 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#229 of 469 in New York City
1,331 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#220 of 469 in New York City
4,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Center Hotel

Address: 144 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006-1030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#35 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Business Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £105 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — World Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 169 rooms located on the south side of the World Trade Center with unfettered views of what will become the United States' most famous landmark. In the heart of downtown Manhattan, nearby neighborhoods include Tribeca, Soho, Battery Park, South Street Seaport, Wall Street and Chinatown and close to dining, shopping and entertainment. World Center Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.World Center Hotel provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your World Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing