We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but not outstanding”
Review of World Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
World Center Hotel
Ranked #105 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adequate but not outstanding”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked two rooms through Expedia - not cheap but not outrageous I guess for NYC. The rooms were tiny and not massively well equipped compared to the description - kitchenette turned out to be a microwave and fridge and no equipment at all. Our rooms were on the same floor but some distance apart. The staff were friendly but harried with too much to do, and the lifts are a pain in the neck.

The floor to ceiling windows have a great view, but I couldn't shake the idea that if I fell out of bed I might fall out of the window - obviously not likely but there was only a foot between the bed and the window!

Breakfast is pricey so we didn't go up to what is probably a wonderful location on the 20th floor. Waiting for the lift was a pain and it was hard to make the cards work in the slots. The idea of a guest cupboard with extra pillows etc would have been great if they were well equipped but we did get a pillow delivered on request.

We were able to leave our luggage on the day we checked out, but leave plenty of time for them to retrieve it if they are busy as we had a long wait, luckily we didn't have a flight to catch!

It's a great location for the subway, Ground Zero, Wall Street and the Staten Island Ferry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alits64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    308
    68
    20
    23
See reviews for
219
316
77
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I spent a long weekend at this hotel while I participated in the NY 5 Boro Bike Tour. They were very accommodating towards myself and other bikers. They kindly offered to put the bike in storage. As for the hotel, it was great. Our side of our room had floor to ceiling windows looking directly at the World Trade Center and the surrounding area. They've made the bed face the window so you can retire for the night gazing at the lights of the streets and buildings through the lace curtains if you so please. Be it day or night, it was an awesome view. Similarly the restaurant has a great view and weather permitting outdoor seating to get an even better view. Room service was as expected. One added touch is that the hotel has partnered with a couple of local restaurants to widen the dining choices. The restaurant delivers to the hotel and room service delivers to the room. I found that to be a nice touch to achieve consistent service.
Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our stay. I look forward to going back to this hotel next year for the bike tour again and the awesome view. Should be even better when more reconstruction will be completed!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaizone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I honestly booked this hotel because of reviews on here! DON'T DO IT. they ask their customers with no complaints to write reviews and ignore customers that they don't treat well. hence, their good review.

We arrived at the hotel at 12 noon.
-Front desk was nice and gave us a room even though checkin was at 3pm. (i thought that was nice).
-However, the room was smaller than i booked and i went downstairs to ask. it turns out i booked a regular room which i didn't think so. but she offered to upgrade us for $25 per night. It wasn't so bad so i agreed.
-she told me it'll take less than 1 hour for our new room; room #1004. so i decide to wait. an hour pass and no room. so we just left our bags and decided to come back in a few hours.
-we come back, guess what? no room. they had given the room we checked-in to, room 1004 to someone else. then another front desk person offered room 905 (same room different floor). i agreed.
-room 905 is not the same layout as 1004. it's SMALLER and no pull out bed.
-went downstairs and he moved us to 904. much better.
-he said he would bring our bags (total 5 bags checked), they only brought up 2!!
-we searched and were hectic, 1 hour later they brought up the other 3.
-it was a cold night (snowed, in april); we requested for extra blankets and towels.
-we called a total of 4 times, 2 hours later. some one brought up blankets and towels.

next morning we left our room at 10am
-we got back that night and our room wasn't service.
-we asked front desk and he told us we had a 'do not disturb' sign up. (it was up before 10am) i took it off after that.
-that was the reason they didn't service the room! i guess we had to wake up before 10am to let them service the room...

there are more but i'm tired of typing. this is definitely not a 4 star hotel, not worth the price paid either.

tip: don't stay here, their reviews are skewed because they artificially inflate it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ervingong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
234 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is not luxurious but I give it 5 stars simply for the value that we got though we only stayed for 2 nights:

1. Rooms:

We booked a Superior Room with queen bed and pull out couch through Expedia. However, when we checked-in, we were informed that the rooms that we reserved for has no pull out couch. After pointing out to the front desk that we reserved a room with a pull-out bed because there is three of us in the room, they immediately remedied the situation by providing us with a rollaway bed.

We got a very good sized room. We were impressed that the kitchenette had everything we needed (and more!) It even had a dishwasher (though we did not use it but still for it to be there was great)! More importantly, the bathroom had a lot of counter space for three girls. :) Unfortunately, we were in the 10th floor and our room had no view. :(

2. Amenities

For the price of our room, we expected that we would have to pay for some of the things we need, however, we were pleasantly surprised that this was not the case. Case in point, there is free purified water in the hallway in our floor. There is no limit to the number of bottles of water you can bring with you.

Using your key card to use the elevator was a plus for someone who values her security and safety. After 12:00am, you would need your key card to enter the hotel as well.

There are desktop computers available in the lobby for guests to check-in online and print their boarding passes (again, for free!).

Check in and check-out is a breeze too since they provide electronic registration and check-out.

3. Location

Near subway stations (cortland, rector, world trade center, fulton). Though you would have to deal with the throngs of people once you venture out from the hotel due to the proximity of the property to the 9/11 memorial.

Near Century 21 (shopping!) - definitely a plus!

4. Food

They have a restaurant on the 20th floor with a very nice aerial view of the 9/11 memorial. Their food was superb and the wine selection they had was great! I recommend the pork chop! It is the best pork chop I have ever had so far! And the wait staff was very attentive to our needs.. Hope that there would be a separate page for their restaurant for it really deserves a mention.

In summary, we had a great stay and would definitely stay here next time we are in New York City!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yarril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is just in front of the World Trade Center monument. Just one block from the Rector Station. Good location, great service. The rooms are also good. The restaurant on the penthouse is a must go.

Room Tip: I was on the 19th floor. The view is great up there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivanoceano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

From the moment we checked in, we were made to feel special and welcome. The staff was friendly and smart. Getting into the entrance from Albany is a little tricky because the hotel is exactly next to Ground Zero. Seriously, the lineup for tours runs right past the front door of the hotel. Also, World Center Hotel is a combined property with Club Quarters and after the dual front desks, there is no actual separation of the two sides. World Center guests can use the awesome cappuccino/espresso/latte machine in the CQ lobby.
We were greeted by Franz at the front desk, a friendly guy with a great smile. He took incredibly good care of us and we felt like VIPs.
Our room was a corner suite with a massive wraparound balcony overlooking Ground Zero. We had multiple river views.
Just a few blocks away is plenty of shopping. Century 21 looks amazing but we did not go in. There's also an Urban Outfitters nearby. For a comprehensive grocery shopping experience, walk to Zeytuna at 59 Maiden Lane.
The 20th floor restaurant was great for breakfast and would love to return at night.

Room Tip: As for a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makeminewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I travel on Business to NYC weekly and work on Water Street. This location is newer, has bigger rooms than most hotels in Manhattan and the staff is excellent (I often deal with Irene, Albert and Sophie.) For the price, the consistency of service and the experience of being at the World Trade Center, which never gets old, I highly recommend this hotel. Walking to Water Street only takes 15 minutes with a stop at Starbucks. So don't be intimidated by where it is. Water Street, Wall Street, it's all right around the corner. Even in the single degree digits, I was not tempted to move.

Room Tip: Superior size rooms are worth the extra money compared to Club or Standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#61 of 468 in New York City
612 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#222 of 468 in New York City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#30 of 468 in New York City
1,572 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#217 of 468 in New York City
1,389 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 468 in New York City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Center Hotel

Property: World Center Hotel
Address: 144 Washington Street, New York City, NY 10006-1030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in New York City
#36 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#49 Green Hotel in New York City
#50 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — World Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 169 rooms located on the south side of the World Trade Center with unfettered views of what will become the United States' most famous landmark. In the heart of downtown Manhattan, nearby neighborhoods include Tribeca, Soho, Battery Park, South Street Seaport, Wall Street and Chinatown and close to dining, shopping and entertainment. World Center Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location.World Center Hotel provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Fridge and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your World Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
World Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing