We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good spot - clean, new, and nicely appointed”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good spot - clean, new, and nicely appointed”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stay here regularly...what a great new addition to the Flatiron neighborhood! The rooms aren't huge, but they are certainly ample enough (especially for New York). The beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are new and very fresh, and the staff is very helpful (especially Terrance, who works in the evenings). Plus, there's that truly awesome, two-story fish tank in the lobby!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicago_Traveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    256
    103
    46
    40
See reviews for
173
192
38
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Pros - price was right for a family of four making a last minute trip to NYC. $269 for 2 double beds. Location was great, room was outstanding (newly renovated) Staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons - street noise. May have been the corner room and the wall of windows (which was a good thing for the view). If you are a light sleeper may want to request a room away from street.
Bottom line - We will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amhtruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Amhtruitt,

Thank you so much for taking your time and give us your feedback.

I am so glad you found our brand new hotel affordable yet outstanding, as well as experiencing our friendly staff.

We do have a noise issue on some of the corner rooms which wouldn't be ideal for a light sleeper, but when you visit again we would be glad to assign a room away from the street noise for you.

In addition we are currently looking into some options on how to reduce the street noise from these rooms.

Thanks again and I look forward seeing you again.

Benjamin Kaller
Flatiron Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay at the Flatiron Hotel. First of all, the service was excellent! Benjamin was kind enough to allow us to move our reservation over one night (due to illness), even though we had booked through Hotwire, which allowed no flexibility at all. We were even able to upgrade to a corner suite for an additional $40. Terrence was also great. He was able to get us a last-minute dinner reservation at a popular Italian restaurant nearby. The restaurant even raved about the Flatiron! Our room was very clean (and I’m very picky!) and surprisingly large, especially for NYC. Our daughter loved the high-tech details in the room - TV in the bathroom mirror, iPod docking station, remote controlled drapes, etc... The location was also excellent, not far from anything but not in the middle of the chaos either. Eataly was just a block or two away. We were also able to walk to Times Square. We loved the large fish tank in the lobby! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you Chris P for your kind review, I am glad I was able to help out in your situation and very happy you were able to stay with us and enjoy your visit to New York while staying in our spacious corner suite with all hi-tech amenities..

We look forward seeing you and your family again.

Benjamin,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My wife and I enjoyed our stay very much. All the electronics were fun. The shower was great. We have seen nothing like it. Management was very good and helpful. The price was reasonable and the room was comfortable and clean. The fish tank was amazing and the lobby was great for relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Jim from NJ, thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel and thank you for taking your time to leave us such great feedback.

I look forward seeing you again.

Benjamin Kaller
Flatiron Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigantine, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We got a great deal on the room through Travelocity and had a wonderful experience. The service was excellent from the moment we arrived. Terrance was accomodating and very helpful. The staff even stored our luggage for several hours after we checked out so that we could enjoy the rest of the day. We loved our room and all its finishing touches. We will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Kim S, thanks for taking your time and share your nice words about our hotel and hotel satff.

Make sure to check our hotel website for other great deals when visiting again, We look forward seeing you.

Benjamin Kaller
Flatiron Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We got a great deal on the room- 140 incl. tax on bookit.com- and all of the little extras were wonderful! The aquarium was beautiful and the rooms, though very cozy, had fun touches with a remote for the curtains, iPod dock w surround sound, a tv in the bathroom and a great shower. The location is perfect especially if you don't like being trapped in midtown- you're a short walk away from everything. I could see a longer stay being uncomfortable with the room size and the tv was spotty- a lot of channels didn't come in. I don't know if its worth the $300/night they ask but if you find a deal, it's a great getaway!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cia396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

It is a 3 Star Hotel with a 1 Star management. We had problems with bites for one bed, and rash in another. The hotel refused to refund our unused 4 nights. Expedia also refused to refund this, and we could not stay in the hotel. Additionally, there a no fridges in the room - they charge $10 extra a night for fridge. The management took 15 minutes to check us in. The elevator also was not working.

Room Tip: Its cheap - but it is not the hotel it says it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Ross M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor.

I cannot comment on your individual incident since management wasn't given the ability to look into this matter as you refused to wait for a manager to address your situation and chose to leave without allowing us to investigate - which is not the approach I’d expect with an issue of this matter.
What I can comment on is this: Since we opened this brand new hotel in August of 2011 we have never had an issue with bites or rashes of any kind. We have a professional inspect all rooms monthly to assure that we have no such issues.
Since we are a relatively new hotel, good customer service is something our hotel staff is very eager to give and as management we put a lot of emphasis to address all guest concerns.

Regarding the rest of your feedback, yes we do have refrigerators available for a $10.00 fee - but if you felt that this is something that is not justified I wish you would have addressed this with management directly.

We take all positive and constructive feedback very seriously to improve our hotel. We are prepared to have our Bar and Restaurant open soon and deliver a true 4 star experience.

Benjamin Kaller
Flatiron Hotel”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#360 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
The Evelyn
#298 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing