We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, staff were very helpfully”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #334 of 468 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
“Great hotel, great location, staff were very helpfully”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great hotel, great location, friendly staff, will definitely recommend it to others

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee_phillips123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    258
    106
    47
    40
See reviews for
174
193
39
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I've never really travelled alone before and New York was more than enough to confuse me.
Upon checking into the hotel (nice and clean rooms and facilities), i was still a good deal confused and i think it showed.
I was approached by one of the staff in the hotel (the general manager i think). All i remember was that his name was George. Good fellow was nice enough to take the initiative and offered to help me.

Not only did he answer all my questions, provided good service and made me feel very at home during my stay. He was nice enough to go out of his way to tell me how to get around NY and all the attractions worth seeing. I'm sure i took up a bit too much of his time. But thanks to him, my stay in New York was EXTREMELY enjoyable.

I'll be sure to go there again whenever i visit New York!
A VERY BIG thank you to George!
(Look up George people! Good bloke with dark hair and glasses!)

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BigPoppa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Had an enjoyable stay here not too long ago. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Many thanks to George and the rest of the staff for making my visit to NYC a wonderful one!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

BEWARE THIS HOTEL OVERBOOKS ! ..We checked in and they said 20 minutes untill the room would be ready , then 20 minutes latter they said it would be 6~8 hours to come back at 4:00 pm, go figure. OK ,So they checked our bags in and we came back at 4:00. THEN , they said there wasnt any rooms left because something had happened to an entire floor of the hotel. The manager said there had been an "event" and it couldnt be helped. THIS WAS A FLAT OUT LIE. The hotel shuttle driver accidentally told us the truth , that they had just overbooked by like 12 rooms.
They offered to pay for us to stay at the Four points , I heard that they had done this for 12 rooms that day alone. The Hotel shuttle driver told us they had just overbooked by 12 rooms and he had been shuttling people all day.
The staff was sooo disorganized , the communication was pathetic , they simply didnt have anything together. The lobby looked nice , good luck if you book this room !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John-manassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear MR. Manassas,

I wanted to write personally and apologize for any miscommunications that you may have had with staff and non affiliated workers of the hotel. All of the car services used through the hotel are not affiliated with the company and do not have direct knowledge of operations. It seems as if you were misinformed as to the reasoning and number of shuttled guests to various hotels through out the city. Due to unforeseen events that took place causing our floor to be shutdown while maintenance had to be done, each guest was handled with attention to detail and care. Each floor of our hotel has 8 guest rooms, each booking for this area had to be relocated.

I assure you the staff at the Flatiron Hotel diligently and thoroughly made sure that each guest was taken care of and not inconvenienced to the best of their ability while finding transport and lodging in order to maintain the highest level of service and ethics. Unfortunately, we are unable to control the conduct of contracted services such as car services who don't always have the best interest of the guest at heart.

If you have any questions, or wish to contact me, feel free to reach out and I would be happy to address your concerns personally in order to prevent future miscommunications from taking place.

Sincerely,

George L Sallee
General Manager
The Flatiron Hotel
New York, Ny 10010
212 839-8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed with my family for couple days, the hotel was very clean and nice. Everyone there was nice, especially George who made sure that we had everything we needed and gave us some great tips bout navigating the city for my parents who visited ny for the fist time.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank monicaeunjikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The Flatiron Hotel offered a perfect place for our recent visit to New York. The central location was a perfect stop between uptown and Soho. We were able to return to the hotel between our day excursions and our Broadway show and dinners out. Stayed with my sister and her teenage daughters. The bar area is quaint and very hip. Close to great restaurants and shopping. Chelsea is beautiful. The parking associated with this hotel is inexpensive ($105 for 3 days) and very safe. All around great stay. Thanks Flatiron.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I am unable to review the room since I was never in it. I booked and prepaid for a room several months prior to our stay date (March 10th). My wife, who is 8 months pregnant and I were in the city for a surprise party. I researched the location in regard to the party location so she could easily return to the room when she got tired and it seemed to be a nice boutique hotel. Upon arrival, 4:30 on the 10th, we were informed, after we parked in the garage recommended by the hotel, that we no longer had a room due to a ceiling collapsing the night before (???) I am not sure why the didn’t call us in advance, but they booked us in another hotel. I was not pleased, but tried to be understanding and went to the next hotel (which shall remain nameless). Upon entering the room it was immediately determined it was unacceptable (not an even exchange by any standard) Then my wife began calling the Flatiron to request more suitable accommodations, she read a report of bugs in the hotel we were transferred too. It took approximately 1 hour and 4 calls for them to provide any suitable suggestions, now we are less than an hour from the party and are not dressed. We finally accepted a stay at another hotel which was very nice, but not particularly close to the location of our party. Overall it was a disappointing experience, because simple customer service in the form of a phone call should have been provided. We also questioned why it was our room that was damaged and unavailable, had every other guest booked prior to us? We had other friends from the party staying at the Flatiron without incident. Overall, I have nothing to say on the room, but the quality of our experience was poor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR123connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Jr123connecticuit,

I wanted to personally apologize for any inconvenience that had happened during your last trip to New York. I can understand how unforeseen events can be more than disappointing, especially when traveling with child.

As mentioned in our discussion about the ceiling damage that occurred prior to your arrival, we were unable to provide a room for you. We did make sure that there was an alternate accommodations for you in the vicinity. After finding this chain property insufficient, I was able to make a booking for you at the Roger Williams immediately which your wife originally refused. We also utilized our car service to ensure that you would not have to incur any additional cost due to the inconvenience in order to accommodate you in the best way possible.

Please feel free to contact me any time so that we can discuss you experience much more in depth. I would love to have you come back to the Flatiron Hotel and experience the services the way out Flatiron guests are accustomed to.

Sincerely,

George L Sallee
General Manager
The Flatiron Hotel
212 839 8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#294 of 468 in New York City
2,020 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#359 of 468 in New York City
746 reviews
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#285 of 468 in New York City
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri
Hotel Henri
#408 of 468 in New York City
12 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#160 of 468 in New York City
2,962 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing