We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel, amazing location - we will definitely return!”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #347 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fab hotel, amazing location - we will definitely return!”
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend spent ten days in new York and stayed at this brilliant hotel - would recommend it and we will re-book next time we go back. Key reasons are...

1- the location is amazing. We love the flatiron building, which is just round the corner so we could enjoy it everyday. We enjoy walking and getting down to Battery park or up to central park and everywhere in between was easy from the hotel. Very near a couple of subways on 23rd. Also near some great food places including Eataly, shake shack and while we didn't go, two of the top three trip advisor rated restaurants in NY. We also benefitted from a seasonal food festival 'Madison square eats' which we would highly recommend.

2 the hotel - the hotel is about a year old and looks great, very clean and contemporary. The big fish tank in reception is beautiful! We were on the 10th floor an had a very good sized room. For ten days stay we accumulated quite a bit of stuff and the room was still spacious, the bed comfy, always clean and the tv in the bathroom mirror - quality! The downstairs bar was good, live bands every night and while we never ate there, the food looked and smelt good. It was nice to have a good bar on site as an option for a night out.

3- the staff. The staff were always very polite and professional. Everyone associated with the hotel that we met we're great - special mention to the concierg team who were tremendous especially Carmelo (hope I've spelt that right) who we saw most evenings on our way in and out of the hotel and was always friendly and willing to help.

All good? One slight grumble was that we booked through hotwire and had to reschedule due to a dislocated knee (ouch!) and extended through the hotel by an extra couple of days. This caused a number of conversations with different people before it wa finally resolved. To be fair, it is one of those rare events that would be a billing nightmare and as it got resolved fairly this by no way impacted our stay.

We had an amazing trip to New York and a great part if this was due to our stay at the Flatiron hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ipswich_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Salutaions Bobbbbbbbbbbb,
I am Thrilled that your girlfriend and yourself enjoyed your stay with us. And hope to have you back soon, please feel free to reach us directly maribel@flatironhotel.com , Thank you once again for your time and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    261
    108
    48
    43
See reviews for
177
196
40
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Changed rooms 4 times in 2 days. Back end rooms are quieter but so small could not open a suitcase without removing furniture from the room, moved to front room 3rd floor which was a good size but the noise unbearable, literally shaking the room, were told it woud finish at midnight but did not happen spent the night in a middle room, it was booked next night so moved to a higher room, somewhat quieter but think they must decide it they are a hotel or nightclub or at least ask guests if they can cope with the noise.
Rooms maybe could do away with the door activated mini bar, (surely they are a waste of space in small rooms) and the tv in the bathroom mirror is a gimmick as it does not even face the bath and to put on make up or shave you need to sort of look around the screen. Please also provide a couple of glasses not those awful plastic cups.
Front desk staff were helpful but always stressed with many people waiting in line, when going to our room another party arrived at the same time with an identical key, lucky for us they were the honest type and we both saw the funny side of it, guess it could have had a different result.
All these issues could be dealt with with good direction but there did not seem to be any management around the whole of our stay. The hotel is clean and pleasant and in a great position,

Room Tip: Choose high rooms at front or along the side as the back rooms are tiny and the low front rooms get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Greeetings Crisnik,
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, as being a new property appreciate hearing where we can improve. Sorry that it wasnt till after various moves that you found the right room type for you. I would welcome you back to give us another try, please reach out to us on your future visit. maribel@flatironhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Enjoyed my 10 nights here as a solo traveller!
Friendly staff, well appointed room, location fantastic, great food all around.
They need to fine tune a few things regarding cleaning of rooms etc bit otherwise first rate.
The shower is excellent with rain shower head and various jets.
The lighting is another bonus, can actually see in the room.
Well done

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harcar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Hello Lemonade74,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor, every comment counts and we do appreciate your input, we are looking into an option for better sound control and hope that you would consider staying with us in the future, please reach out to me directly maribel@flatironhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemonade74
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Flatiron and was impressed by the rooms and the service at the hotel, but even though I was on the 6th floor it was quite noisy - music from the downstairs bar, and the subway trains kept me awake several times. It's a great location though and if you are a night owl don't let it put you off - despite the noise I would recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Gretchen S,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. I am glad you enjoyed your stayed and our apologies about the noise. To be frank, we have not heard other comments about subway noise. New York is a late night town and we have had some feedback about noise in the area. On your next visit, we’ll be sure to place you on a higher floor.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed with my husband for almost two weeks. The staff wew very friendly and helpful, really exceeded our expectation. Location was also good.just 2 minutes' walk to N/R train station,which took you to Central park,Tiffany store on 5th ave,etc. The empire state building and Macy's were within walk's distance.As Chinese, we were so happy to find a cheap Chinese restaurant "taste good".good for take away on 25th/broadway. And the korean town on 32nd street. Although the room was quite small, we enjoyed our stay and do want to recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haruka_lU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Greetings Haruka_IU

Thank you for your stay and for your review , it was a pleasure having you and your husband stay with us. Please feel free to reach out to us for your future stay, maribel@flatironhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The staff was friendly, hotel very clean but sadly, the location is scary late at night. We arrived around 11pm by shuttle to find no hotel sign but Toshi's Bar... a loud rock band playing in a nightclub, rolled down graffiti-laden grates over store-fronts, homeless people sleeping among the garbage bags on the streets.

The atmosphere is fine during the day, near the subway and Madison Park.

Don't take anything out of the fridge (not even just to put your own water bottle in it) or you will be charged. Don't pick up the snacks on the table because there are sensors on them, and if you move them for more than 20 seconds you are charged. So if you want to move them out of the way you'll have an unpleasant surprise on your bill.

The tv in the mirror is a fun little accessory, but if you're a woman of average height you may wish it were not there, since it makes putting on your makeup difficult. The dark area where the tv is makes it hard to see your face.

I will not be going back on my next trip to NYC. It had good things (chiefly the cleanliness and the nicer-than-nice staff) but it is definitely not the four star hotel I reserved. The amenities are simply not there, and the character of the neighborhood at night makes walking back late in the evening too frightening for a woman alone... it's on the fringe of a much better neighborhood but some people will not be comfortable with the conditions late at night.

It should also be noted that this hotel is not in the Flatiron Building, just in the Flatiron area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScissorsAndPens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Hello Scissors and Pens,

New York City can be a strange and scary place especially at night. I am certain any charges posted in error from the minibar were adjusted off your bill and I am glad you found the tv in the mirror a fun accessory. I regret to hear of your decision not to return, for your personal choice and valid reasons, however I am very greatful you took the time to leave a review for us. In case you do care to reach out to us please feel free to contact me at maribel@flatironhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed here because it was one of the cheaper hotels we could find, that was still nice. When we got there, everything exceeded our expectations. We stayed on the 10th floor, so it was nice an quiet. The rooms were beautiful and full of fun stuff to play with (loved the TV in the mirror!), the staff was the friendliest people I have ever met in any hotel I have every stayed in and anything that was needed was brought/done right away with no hesitation. The Toshi lounge downstairs was a cool place to hang out and the location was great. There are a couple of subway stops really close by (less than a 2 min walk) and it was super easy to get anywhere from the hotel. I don't think I would stay anywhere else when revisiting NYC.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenE219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Lauren,
Thank you kindly for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you had a chance to enjoy the Toshi Lounge and will be happy to welcome you back for a future stay the next time you chose to enjoy NYC. Please do not hesitate to reach out on your next visit Maribel@flatironhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Hotel Henri
Hotel Henri
#290 of 467 in New York City
2,151 reviews
The Evelyn
#287 of 467 in New York City
2,084 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#360 of 467 in New York City
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#149 of 467 in New York City
3,053 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
2,287 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#98 of 467 in New York City
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing