We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in manhatten mid town!”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best value for money in manhatten mid town!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I had a chance to stay in several hotel chains in New York city between them known one like Radisson, Holiday Inn, Hilton and others. It was by chance that i got to Flatiron. The stuff and specifically Jason at the front desk were very welcoming and helpfull. The bar area has great live shows every night till 1am. You could feel the signature of the owner in any detail. Later i learned that he is indeed present, Toshi is there making sure atmosphere is kept. Yes its noisy some times but hey that is NYC. The rooms ( stayed at the delux toshi room) smell amaizing and the decoration is exact. Its fresh, its comfortable and considerably big room. I have no other words than perfect. Definately going to bring my BF there next time when I vacationing the big apple.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear kingeran,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. Jason has only been with us a short time but is making his mark on our guest experience. Thank you for identifying him so we can recognize his efforts. It was very kind of you to use the word “perfect” to describe your stay. Very glad to read you will choose us on your next trip to our fair city!

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    261
    108
    48
    43
See reviews for
177
196
40
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Had a one night stay at the Flatiron Hotel, a boutique style hotel in New York City. The address on 26th St, close to 5th Avenue, was its best asset as far as I was concerned. It was close to where I needed to be as the next day my daughter's final fitting at Kleinfeld's bridal was within easy walking distance. Madison Square Park, Shake Shack, and Eataly nearby which I like. I thought the hotel was good but not great for these reasons: upon walking into the hotel for check-in after 9:30 pm, the ground floor entrance was interesting, especially the exotic round cylinder fish tank running up the middle of the room. However, the band playing in the lounge which is open to the check-in area, was absolutely blasting, so unnecessarily loud. We felt bad for the clerk who must have hearing loss by this time. Thankfully, check-in was so quick we got our room keys and quickly got out of there. Security while traveling is important to me, so I was disappointed that anyone could enter the elevators and go up to our floor without restriction. Our room was practically across the elevator and the hallway was quite narrow in favor of a rather large size room (two queen beds in this room) with very high tray ceilings and ornate crown molding. The beds, while stylishly decorated, especially the headboards with decorative curtains on either side, were not as comfortable as I've had for the price and the mattresses were hard, but some like it that way. Nice pillow selection and nice sheets. The beds were platform beds with drawers for storage, so I promptly banged my leg on the corner of the platform. The rest of the furniture in the room, in my opinion, was cheap looking, nothing special. I'm used to minibars, but this one the clerk actually warned us about it upon check-in saying that you only have 20 seconds and if the sensor picks up that something is not in its place, you're getting charged. That includes a sensor for dry snacks on top which look like they're in an ordinary tray - they're not. Needless to say, didn't touch either. One cup at a time coffee maker, lousy coffee. There's a Starbucks a stone's throw from the hotel, much better. There is a restaurant which I assume serves meals in the same location that becomes the lounge for entertainment in the evenings. I didn't have any meals there. The little extras that did not impress me was a TV in the mirror of the bathroom (you had to shut the door to get in front of the sink) so the only time you might want to watch it is while washing you face, etc. since you can't see it unless you are standing right in front of it. The shower was very nice with a large rainshower head, optional jets for lower body, plenty of towels, etc. but no where to hang them except one hook on the back of the door. Toilet small, very low. Air conditioning very good. Robes in wardrobe closet. Lighted buttons for do not disturb or to request housekeep. Very large windows running the width of the room with motorized curtains. Free wifi and nice large LG flat screen TV on the wall. Clean room, but definitely wouldn't say immaculate. Seems like a lot of stuff that might appeal to some, but when it came down to it, I decided I'll stay somewhere different next time.

Room Tip: Get as high a room as possible to avoid the thump, thump, thump of the band or if you don't enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillygirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear sillygirl49

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Your review was very thorough and well stated. You were fair in listing many of the features you enjoyed, such as our location, our signature fish tank and some of the room features. Our team is reviewing all your comments, especially those that were not to your satisfaction. We use them to help direct where we are going to dedicate our resources. Since your stay we have made a few changes (new brand of coffee in the rooms) and will continue to examine our product and services.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Location: Fantastic. In the middle of Manhattan. Nearby Empire State Building, a lot of shopping etc. Don't stay at the Times Square, stay here!!

Hotel and grounds: Modern and small hotel, with a huge fish tank and a night club(?) in the lobby. This club starts swinging in the afternoon and keeps in going. Wich brings a lot of party people there, and it makes of course at lot of noise.

Room: Clean. We payed extra to get a corner suite, and it was worth it. Big enough for to people and four suitcases. Could be nice with more closet space. It's not super to "live in a suitcase". Plenty of cool digital features. Enjoy.

Bathroom: Big and clean. We pay'd extra to get a bathtub. Tv in mirror!!! That's super cool, and not enjoying at all. It's not a problem doing your makeup, you're probably taller then the tv anyway...


Service: Superb!! Nothing to complaint about. The receptionists was helpful. They helped us book tickets etc etc etc.

Tip: Print out your reservation. They need to have it in paper? It's not enough to show them the reservation on your iPad etc.

Room Tip: The higher up the better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear smty,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. And thank you for your kind words too, especially regarding the service. We are very proud of our team and it is very gratifying to read that they made a positive impact on your experience. “Superb” is an adjective that will bring a smile to their face.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

I thought the rooms were very small even tho they are done up nice . My daughter and I are small people and we could hardly get in with our 2 suitcases.
The shower was awesome and the bathroom was quite nice but small . There was no place to even hang up your towels. Had to phone downFTP front. desk for ice and glasses and they brought up plastic ones!!! I thought when you are paying good money for a hotel you shouldn't have to phone for glasses and then have plastic ones
They missed my 5am wake up call so luckily my head alarm woke me up and I was not late for my flight!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrnsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Myrnsie,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. Please accept my apologies for the problems you experienced. Wake up calls are very important and our front office team is reviewing our procedures. I was pleased to read you liked our showers; they are a very popular feature. I see you rated our location and cleanliness fairly high too. As with all our reviews, we use them as a compass for our planning. Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We choose the Flatiron for its location, relatively central in NYC, next to the Madison Square Garden. When we arrived at around 1:30pm, we were told that normal check in time is 4pm, but that our rooms would be ready by around 2pm. I found 4pm a bit late.
The room was located on the 3rd floor. It was relatively small, the bed, a desk and then a small bath room with a shower. It is well furnished, new, clean. Nothing to make yourself a cup of tea but there was a coffee machine.
There is a huge aquarium with some nice fishes downstairs.
When I came back at around 11pm, there was a concert on the first floor (there seems to be concerts organised quite often here, which may be nice when you like that but not when you work the following day. Obviously, my room was way too noisy, so I asked to change. So did my boss. The only rooms available were on the 4th floor.
There is some kind of a business center on the mezzanine. I saw only one computer available. It was still enough to print my boarding pass.

Room Tip: Avoid 3 and 4 floors, due to concerts downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear aryna,

Thank you for choosing the Flatiron Hotel and for sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor readers. I am glad you found the hotel clean & well furnished. My apologies about the music from Toshi’s Living Room, our restaurant. We have live music there and some bands can be louder than others. We have taken steps to minimize the impact to our guest rooms. On your next visit to us, we’ll be sure to assign a high floor (please let us know when you make your reservation).

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My 2 sons and I needed an inexpensive, good location hotel for 2 nights. Nothing crazy expensive but a decent hotel. This was just what we needed. Comfortable, right near the subway and a short walk to Times Square. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Great Choice,

Thank you for your feedback about your experience at the Flatiron Hotel. Our location is very convenient to so much that New York offers. I am happy your family enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager

PS – I see you are from Gilroy. We vacation in Carmel often and love the garlic festival. On your next visit, we’ll have to trade some garlic items for some genuine Coney Island hot dogs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The room was amazing, all mod cons, comfy bed, lovely bathroom. Service was great and the hotel was excellent value. Close to 5th avenue and the sites.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance H, General Manager at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Heatherscot,

Thank you for your feedback about your experience at the Flatiron Hotel. Thank you also for the high scores. On your next visit, please be sure to stop by Toshi’s Living Room, our restaurant / lounge featuring live music Monday through Saturday. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Lance Herman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#287 of 467 in New York City
2,151 reviews
The Evelyn
#284 of 467 in New York City
2,086 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#367 of 467 in New York City
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#147 of 467 in New York City
3,055 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#100 of 467 in New York City
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing