We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Honestly, the hotel has "charm" but the owner does not know how to run a hotel. There is live music every night (which -cool-) but they fail to tell you at check in that the band plays until 2am in the morning. My husband and I were on the 4th floor right in front of the elevator, and it was bad enough we could here the band through the floor, but then every time the elevator opened, it felt like we were sitting right in "the living room". We complained about the noise and they offered to change our room but would be unable to move us until the following day because they were "booked to capacity". The next night we met Toshi -the owner- and instead of acting like a professional he was galavanting around the lounge with his dog in one hand and a martini in the other. We were appalled by this behavior. We completely understood why the lounge was so loud at that point - because the man just wants to party!! Needless to say we will not be returning to the flatiron hotel. The whole idea of the place disgusts me. There is no consideration for the guest. And you can see it in the employees faces, they want to help but they CAN'T HEAR YOU!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poplover1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    252
    101
    44
    39
See reviews for
170
186
38
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Powell Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our night at the Flatiron Hotel in August 2013 was awesome! We lucked into a last minute reservation there and ended up paying a fraction of the regularly advertised price. We didn't know what to expect. From the beautiful two story fish tank and opulent nightclub just off the lobby to the elegent room upstairs, this place was fun! Yes, you could hear the band in the nightclub until the wee hours of the evening and yes, you could hear the rumble of the subway beneath the building. But as someone who hates quiet, this was the place to be. My husband and adult son loved the t.v. in the bathroom mirror and the big screen t.v. in the room. Fun features included a doorbell in each room, a jacuzzi tub and automatic drapes. We loved having a drink in the nightclub and listening to the band. However, beware, there is a $40 minimum in the club and it is assessed in later hours when the club is full. I would not recommend this hotel to families with children under the age of 21 as the real attractions are things that can really only be appreciated by adults. The hotel is pet friendly. Actually, there is a dog that serves as mascot for the hotel and it is often on site.

Room Tip: No swimming pool. Not good for kids. Avoid this hotel if you like peace and quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location for hotel Flatiron in new York, 3 blocks from mack's, 6 blocks from soho

great hotel with the nicest staff, highly recommended for stay in ny

rooms are small but very comfortable, lots of amenities especially TV in mirror in bathroom

Room Tip: Ask for rooms as high up as possible as during weekend lobby is a club with live band can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Flatiron positions itself as a boutique hotel. We stayed in a queen room on the 10th floor which was comfortable but compact. Although we stayed six nights, we didn't really see or hear from any of the staff. The front-of-house was pretty absent. The website made a big deal of the rooftop terrace and bar with views of the Empire State Building, so it was a bit of a disappointment to find that was not open to guests, only private hire.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel is ideally situated if you want to visit NY city. Our room was on the 10th floor and it was great, really big and comfortable. The staff is friendly. We would certainly consider going there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuckeli888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

My fiance and I (29 and 30 years old) stayed at the flatiron hotel in August 2013. We stayed for 4 nights. Our rooms were on the 10th floor.
The rooms were very clean and the beds very compfortable. The staff were friendly. We had no complaints.
I give this hotel 5 points because for a 4 star hotel in New york I found that the rooms were big enough, it was very clean, and the whole "experience" was nice. Furthermore, since we booked via hotwire.com, the prices were also great.
The area we stayed at was quite central, without being overflowed with tourists right in front of the hotel (as in comparison to hotel right at times square).
There is also a roof top bar about 3 minutes away from the hotel which was amazing.

Room Tip: there is a band that plays every night until midnight. since our room was on 10th floor we did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lala K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is not a Hotel, It's a Night club disguised as a Hotel. We stayed there four nights in August and were put on the fourth floor. The music from the restaurant is so loud at night that you'll never get a good nights sleep. They brought us the last pair of earplugs left at the front desk but to no avail it was still noisy. We were finally moved to the sixth floor. The band that night must of been even louder because again we had another sleepless night. The employees were very apologetic but there is no way to resolve this situation because the hotel lobby isn't big enough to be separated from the restaurant and the rocking music. I have no idea why tripadvisor gave this place great reviews, it was our families worst nightmare!!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a quiet room anywhere in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsT7216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#360 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
The Evelyn
#293 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing