We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely decorated, great location”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nicely decorated, great location”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Shopping, restaurants, Eataly, Maysville Bourbon bar, close to Union Square, and all that goes with that - Republic, farmers market, ABC Carpet and Home, Fishy's Eddie... cant lose. This place has a two story cylindrical fish tank between the lobby and the entertainment lounge with a curved staircase that sort of hugs it. Half tacky half cool when lit up at night. The band plays loud and proud, and if you are a big shot, a server will deliver your bottle of champers or grey goose with a lit rocket flare over her head as she works through the crowd to your table in an unforgivingy tight and tiny red dress. Good people watching. Snobby inbreds here, goodfellas there, silver fox dancing with his young babe too close, co-workers gone wild... all good.

Room Tip: the windows are well glazed so we didnt have any troubles sleeping here at all in 803. two double be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krayon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    261
    108
    48
    43
See reviews for
177
196
40
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Bought a room here because there was a special that made it cheap (by New York city standard), and was relatively happy with what we got.

Stayed 11 nights and it's perfect as a base to explore NYC. 2 blocks away from the 28th St station on the N/R line, and also 2 blocks away from the 23rd St station on the F/M line.

Room size was a little small than what I'm used to, but I believe it's standard across the board in NYC so can't really complain.

They sure did splash out on the room: in-mirror television in the bathroom, three different jets in the shower, auto-opening curtains. Although I would trade all these features for some hooks to hang our towels and clothes - how can they leave that out..

Some of the minor niggles: paint was falling off near the window sills, the shower cubicle is not properly sealed so you end up with an extremely wet floor no matter how you do it.

Also the stretch of Broadway between 28th and 33rd Streets can be....intimidating at night especially for NYC first timers. If you're planning to spend a lot of time closer to Midtown/Times Square then perhaps you may want to consider hotels in closer to Herald Square/Koreatown.

Some users complained about the noise from the nightly bands, but if you ask for a higher room then this becomes a non-issue.
I requested this when booking and was given a 10th floor room and didn't hear anything other than the garbage trucks rolling in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor room if you don't want the noise from the nightly live bands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a great little hotel in NY - for me the location cannot be beat - but overall it has a "cool" feeling about it the moment you walk in - Front desk very friendly and efficient - they have a fish tank that is really beautiful right in the middle of the lobby and an adjacent bar with live singers and bands - the room itself is small but hip - the drapery opens with a remote control - they have a TV built into the bathroom mirror - totally loved that - the shower although very small had shower heads from every direction including a rain shower overhead - the room is small but good enough for NY and clean as a whistle - really like staying there - and will continue to go back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

They won't block the bass and drums making the walls pound, but they will dull the loud music that plays every night.

If you are coming to NYC on business, unless you are expecting to stay out every night until around 2:00, go elsewhere. There is a band playing in the lobby every night - a large band with horns, etc. If you must stay here, ask for a top floor to get away from the noise. It is so loud the people working the front desk cannot carry on a conversation with you or anyone calling on the phone -- so don't call downstairs and expect to get service.

Room Tip: Book on a high floor. Lower floors suffer from the late-night band as well as the subway running be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A friend and myself decided to book the Flatiron for our first visit to NYC. We originally booked the hotel because of it's central location. Us being first timers wanted to experience as much as we could and Flatiron seemed to be in the middle of everything.
I haven't stayed in a boutique hotel before and when we arrived check in was a bit busy. The lobby is tiny and was crowded with patrons and their suitcases. I was a bit annoyed after an early morning flight, however the rest of our visit went smoothly. Our room was spacious for NYC standards but the bathroom was tight. Our beds were super comfy and we both didn't have problems sleeping (I should also mention we came in late most nights).
Samantha at the front desk was very personable and she gave us a few dining recommendations which we appreciated.
I liked that live music was offered in Toshi's, the lobby bar, however we always had someplace to be so we didn't enjoy it. It turns into more of a club/lounge at night. When we came back to the hotel one evening, we were whisked into the bar by the bouncers and they sat us at a table... we thought why not have a nightcap.... Well, we waited about 15 minutes and no server came by to take our drink order so we left... it was maybe at half capacity. Poor service.
There is a Starbucks across the street which was nice in the morning. I did like this location as it was a good central spot for everything we had planned- went up to the Upper East Side, to the Financial District and everywhere in between. It's not as congested as some other locations in NYC- wasn't a fan of the immediate area (think State St. in Chicago)... but there were things within walking distance that we enjoyed. Eataly market is just a few blocks away as well as a park (can't remember the name) on 23rd and Madison with a Shake Shack that was perfect for a late lunch!
I would recommend Flatiron when staying in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had a spacious room on the 8th floor and could not have asked for a more comfortable room. The bed was super comfortable and longs days were relieved by a soak in the whirlpool tub.
The staff at Flatiron were all super friendly helpful. Thanks for playing such an integral part of my first trip to NYC.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Honestly, the hotel has "charm" but the owner does not know how to run a hotel. There is live music every night (which -cool-) but they fail to tell you at check in that the band plays until 2am in the morning. My husband and I were on the 4th floor right in front of the elevator, and it was bad enough we could here the band through the floor, but then every time the elevator opened, it felt like we were sitting right in "the living room". We complained about the noise and they offered to change our room but would be unable to move us until the following day because they were "booked to capacity". The next night we met Toshi -the owner- and instead of acting like a professional he was galavanting around the lounge with his dog in one hand and a martini in the other. We were appalled by this behavior. We completely understood why the lounge was so loud at that point - because the man just wants to party!! Needless to say we will not be returning to the flatiron hotel. The whole idea of the place disgusts me. There is no consideration for the guest. And you can see it in the employees faces, they want to help but they CAN'T HEAR YOU!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poplover1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#287 of 467 in New York City
2,151 reviews
The Evelyn
#284 of 467 in New York City
2,086 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#367 of 467 in New York City
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#147 of 467 in New York City
3,054 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#58 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#100 of 467 in New York City
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing