We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Guest Service Ever”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst Guest Service Ever”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed there with my family this weekend, and my friend went to pick me up for brunch this morning. I realized that I forgot my wallet in the room, so I asked her to wait for me in the lobby while I went back to the room to grab my wallet. However, the bellman kicked her out of the hotel lobby, even after she stated that she's waiting for me, a paying guest in the hotel. He was being extremely rude to her. I was only gone for less than 5 minutes, and seriously your staffs wouldn't let a well-dressed 20-year-old girl to wait in the lobby for 5 minutes when it was raining and cold outside?
RUDE STAFF (the male doorman who is working around noon this Sunday)! so I WILL NEVER GO BACK TO THE HOTEL.
To the doorman who kicked her out: you ruined the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELIANG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
I apologize if the bellman was perceived rude and abrupt but to ensure the safety of our guests we ask patrons at the very least for the name of the guest they are waiting for. In this particular situation the bellman said the lady waiting could not give your registered name. She waited over a half hour for you and left on her own. Customer satisfaction is very important at the Flatiron Hotel but our guest safety always comes first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    261
    108
    48
    43
See reviews for
177
196
40
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very comfortable, clean, user friendly hotel in a central location. Though the neighborhood is a business area that is largely quiet and dark at night, but for a few trendy restaurants and bars, it is easy to catch a cab on Broadway a few feet away. The room was very nicely furnished with more storage than most rooms, an extremely comfortable bed, and appealing modern design. But nothing beats the staff: I had forgotten to pack a tie and mentioned it to the desk clerk who proceeded to loosen his tie and hand it to me. While I didn't take it -- it was a very nice tie, by the way! -- I will never forget the gesture!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Flatiron Hotel. Our staff takes great pride in providing excellent service and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff at Flatiron Hotel were warm, hospitable and willing to go the extra mile to help us feel welcome in the City; and also to address an issue that did occur. I really appreciated this! Also, the rooms are very nice by NYC standards.

Room Tip: I preferred the King size bed room on the end of the building. Just a bit more square footage and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30DMS107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great location and friendly staff.bellhop very helpful.explained how everything worked in our room when bringing up our luggage. Room clean and very comfortable.nice big windows.easy access to everything needed.staff very helpful in finding us places to eat.would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenkauff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itala, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Main positive points of the hotel:
1) position
2) rooms cleaned very well day by day
3) courtesy of the staff
4) events calendar > every night the hotel organize something

Negative points:
1) noise if you have a room in the first floor

All in all my experience in Flatiron was excellent; for sure this is not the best hotel in the city but I think it's a good value for money solution.

Room Tip: choose the room in the last floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaggiatoreVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Distinctive rooms. Friendly staff. Lobby performance space.

You'll get some NYC street sounds -- the subway rumble, the occasional sirens -- but I couldn't beat this location.

I took a chance on this, and I'm glad I did. I'll be back.

Room Tip: My sixth-floor room didn't have the reverb from the lobby club's music.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

I needed a place to stay in NYC for a couple of weeks, but just could not stomach paying $500 a night. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and booked based on the scores and price at the time. Good choice. The room was nice with big windows - not large but enough space of me AND my bags - comfortable. The location is decent and just a block or so from the Flatiron Building and just a few blocks South of the Empire State Building. Easy access to everything I needed. What the hotel lacks in amenities it makes up for with an extremely helpful and friendly staff. Everyone made me feel welcomed and at home. A good price/value compared to many hotels in New York.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LG268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Hotel Henri
Hotel Henri
#290 of 467 in New York City
2,151 reviews
The Evelyn
#287 of 467 in New York City
2,084 reviews
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#367 of 467 in New York City
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#149 of 467 in New York City
3,054 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
2,288 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#100 of 467 in New York City
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing