We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel; bad bed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel; bad bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel in a fun of town where I had meetings.

Rooms are very small but newly furnished like many of the newer NYC hotels. Front desk area is a bit crowded and staff not so attentive, but the worst problem is the beds are rock-hard. Two of us stayed last night and we both had the same complaint.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
It's unfortunate you did not find the bed to your liking during your stay with us. We have always received great reviews from our guests pertaining to the comfort of our mattress and bedding. I would greatly appreciate if you could reach out to me with the room number you stayed in so I can personally investigate this matter. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    252
    101
    44
    39
See reviews for
170
186
38
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in a fourth floor corner room overlooking broadway and 26th on a Saturday night. The music in the bar on the first floor was very loud until about 1:30 AM. Otherwise we liked the room, which had many creature features like the mirrored tv built into the bathroom vanity. I also liked the classic architectural design of the room, but the blue lighting in the hallway was garish and tacky. The thing that really disappointed me was that our room keys were deprogrammed at least ten minutes before checkout. We had been out to breakfast and hurried back to our room with ten minutes to spare. Neither key worked. I brought mine downstairs and was told by the receptionist that the locks are programmed to automatically reset a few minutes before checkout. This makes absolutely no sense and I complained to a manager, who was nice enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDL-BDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Flatiron Hotel and enjoyed the many gadgets featured in the room...especially the television in the bathroom mirror. I apologize your key was deactivated before your departure. The keys are automatically programmed to deactivate one hour after your scheduled departure...it is possible your key was demagnetized by an electronic devise you may have had on you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Cove, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I didn't realize I was checking into a place where the ENTIRE lobby was a pitch black nightclub with a screaming band. I wasn't prepared for so much noise. This place can't decide what it wants to be-- hotel or nightclub.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed there with my family this weekend, and my friend went to pick me up for brunch this morning. I realized that I forgot my wallet in the room, so I asked her to wait for me in the lobby while I went back to the room to grab my wallet. However, the bellman kicked her out of the hotel lobby, even after she stated that she's waiting for me, a paying guest in the hotel. He was being extremely rude to her. I was only gone for less than 5 minutes, and seriously your staffs wouldn't let a well-dressed 20-year-old girl to wait in the lobby for 5 minutes when it was raining and cold outside?
RUDE STAFF (the male doorman who is working around noon this Sunday)! so I WILL NEVER GO BACK TO THE HOTEL.
To the doorman who kicked her out: you ruined the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELIANG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
I apologize if the bellman was perceived rude and abrupt but to ensure the safety of our guests we ask patrons at the very least for the name of the guest they are waiting for. In this particular situation the bellman said the lady waiting could not give your registered name. She waited over a half hour for you and left on her own. Customer satisfaction is very important at the Flatiron Hotel but our guest safety always comes first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very comfortable, clean, user friendly hotel in a central location. Though the neighborhood is a business area that is largely quiet and dark at night, but for a few trendy restaurants and bars, it is easy to catch a cab on Broadway a few feet away. The room was very nicely furnished with more storage than most rooms, an extremely comfortable bed, and appealing modern design. But nothing beats the staff: I had forgotten to pack a tie and mentioned it to the desk clerk who proceeded to loosen his tie and hand it to me. While I didn't take it -- it was a very nice tie, by the way! -- I will never forget the gesture!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landmarkfinder A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean A, Director of Operations at Flatiron Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Flatiron Hotel. Our staff takes great pride in providing excellent service and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The staff at Flatiron Hotel were warm, hospitable and willing to go the extra mile to help us feel welcome in the City; and also to address an issue that did occur. I really appreciated this! Also, the rooms are very nice by NYC standards.

Room Tip: I preferred the King size bed room on the end of the building. Just a bit more square footage and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30DMS107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great location and friendly staff.bellhop very helpful.explained how everything worked in our room when bringing up our luggage. Room clean and very comfortable.nice big windows.easy access to everything needed.staff very helpful in finding us places to eat.would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenkauff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
The Evelyn
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,263 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,952 reviews
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Property: Flatiron Hotel
Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing