We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay - Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harlem Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #50 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Phoenix
1 review
“Good Place to Stay - Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Our room was very clean and nicely decorated as shown in their photos, a little small, but with the bonus of a small "kitchenette" that was a bargain for the price. One of my worries had been "sharing" a bathroom down the hall, but in a 1 week stay we only had to wait one time for less than 15 minutes. Within walking distance of Central Park. We were close to a tube stop which made getting around the city easy. A good bakery / restaurant was located on a nearby corner. The local neighborhood seemed safe enough during normal hours, including coming home later from a play. The breakfast was good, and if requested they will leave food for you early if you want an early start The real highlight of the stay was meeting Scott and Maxine. They were wonderful hosts and did everything they possibly could to make our stay most enjoyable. As an example, there was trouble with the city power during our stay, and Scott made good on his word and refunded us for the nights without power (he also offered to move us to another location, though we decided to stay, and he hooked up a generator to get lights going again, etc.). All in all a very good place to stay and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimbo-kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    27
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
13
27
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford City, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I stayed here for nine days. I had no complaints at all. The room was cleaned daily, fresh linen and towels replaced regularly and the owner and staff were very helpful and friendly.
I would recommend this great little gem of a B& B to anyone. This was my first time to New York and the subway was only a stones throw away from the B&B and a 10 day metro card for the subway& shuttle buses is only $24.
Staying in this B&B gave a real feel to being in the neighbourhood! You could even walk to central park which is about a15 minutes walk from the B&B.
.
I would say to anyone who wishes to stay away from the touristy hotel hotspots and stay and experience a real feel of New York...STAY HERE.*****5

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mraftis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This B&B is uptown, a 5-10min walk from the top of Central Park. The premises is immaculate. The breakfast area is compact, but with coffee and pastries to die for (not to mention the complimentary doggie bags of extra pastries to take out on your travels). Given the price of my room (42 euros a night), this exceeded expectations. The decor is ultra modern and every room has a fully equipped kitchenette for those who want to 'self-cater'. The landlord Scott was incredible with a an inclusive 'all-part-of-the-service' attitude. I never quite got the hang of public transport (only there for 4 days), taking wrong subways uptown hence one point drop for location, but if it hadn't been winter the walk would've been more doable more often. If you're put off by the Harlem 'concept' don't be! Everyone I met, even as an obviously lost tourist at 2am in the neighbourhood, were incredibly warm and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k1w1boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

We stayed at the garden apartment and it was beautiful, clean, everything new and very confortable. The breakfast was amazing, a great variety of muffins, juice, coffes, breads, etc. (The bad thing was that it was served at 9, so we couldn´t leave before that time if we wanted breakfast, and in nyc you leave early to see it all). Another "bad" thing is that there wasn´t a phone, to call a taxi, food delivery or home.
The owners Scott and maxine are very nice and helpful with anything you need.
The neighborhood wasn´t dangerous at all, but we did feel like we didn´t belong in some places like supermarket, were people weren´t that nice to us.
You are a few block from central park, and you have subways four blocks to go anywhere, and buses one block away.
We really liked the b&b.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank __michelle_naiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I spent 10 days in NY. The accomodation was very nice, comfortable and clean with a small kitchen, microwave and fridge. I had a big room with private bathroom, nicely decorated with flowers. What was marvellous, were the breakfasts. Fresh croissants, baguettes, muffins, cheese, tea, coffee, juices etc. Drinks are available for free for the whole day.
The spirit of Harlem is different compared with the rest of Manhattan. The BandB is very well located close to public transport, the area is pretty safe with couple of good restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Spent one week in New York, for the marathon and found this little gem-it made our trip. Scott and Maxcine were friendly, helpful, and very welcoming-it was like staying with family. The room was clean and the bathroom was spotless. The neighborhood was wonderful to explore, and I predict it will only get better in the months to come. Don' t let naysayers keep you out of Harlem, we met some friendly folks and had the best meal of our trip at the Lenxo Lounge. Can't wait to Scott and Maxcine again on our next trip to New York.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveNYCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I found this bed and breakfast when another not far away would not take my reservation. The owners, Scott and Maxcine bent over backwards to make sure we felt welcome.

The room was the perfect size for my friend and I. We had 1 double bed in the room and asked for a twin to be added, which Scott did before we were back from dinner on the 1st night. Our room had a small kitchen area, sink, 2-burner stove, with pots and pans, microwave and mini fridge.

There were 4 other rooms on our floor and we shared the bathroom with the 4-5 other guests. We only waited to use the washroom one of the 3 mornings during our stay.

Breakfast was awesome. Fresh croissant and fruit, muffins, baguette, cheese, juice and coffee...We sat outsude and enjoyed the sunny tree-lined street. We were actually surprised how quiet the area was, never hearing any outside noise when sleeping.

I look forward to going back to NYC and staying at the Harlem Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollydollyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#228 of 467 in New York City
707 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#190 of 467 in New York City
1,371 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 77 in New York City
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#27 of 77 in New York City
59 reviews
Harlem
Harlem 144 Guest House
Harlem 144 Guest House
#51 of 77 in New York City
24 reviews
Harlem
The Melva Inn
The Melva Inn
#108 of 164 in New York City
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlem Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlem Bed and Breakfast

Property: Harlem Bed and Breakfast
Address: 54 W 120th St, New York City, NY 10027-6308
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Harlem Bed and Breakfast 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harlem Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harlem b&b
Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing