We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip, Hop and Shop!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Hip, Hop and Shop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

It was a weekend to remember.

First, I was glad that in spite of the fact that we arrived a few hours earlier (11am) we had rooms ready. Got a King Deluxe Studio and I didn't regret it. Let's face it, this is, after all New York City, where the rooms are not that large for the price you pay. But this one had a huge room!

What stood out in the rooms at this hotel was that it was not only comfy, but hip and cool! The ambience was great. The mezzanine allowed us to entertain guests. The breakfast was very good. And the location - well you wouldn't miss a thing if you were here to shop, as my partner and I were.

It was just about 2 blocks away from Central Park, a few meters away from the subway and a few steps away from - FIFTH AVENUE. The hotel provided umbrellas even though it rained on some days, but the location made the big difference. You could even do shopping and bring it up to your hotel room and them go back to the main shopping stretch and shop some more. Alright, so I love to shop.

Never mind the fitness center (which you needed to walk a block away). If you're really a fitness buff then get on your running shoes and do a few rounds at Central Park!

The rooms had a loft-like feel with complimentary wifi internet, spacious and splurged with New York art deco. Room bar with Dean & Deluca specialties, wide working desk and pencils to write on the rolling paper, CD/DVD players with free films from the front desk, iPads and laptops to borrow, plasma TV of 42" sizes, cool slippers, and a bed to die for! The nightly turn down with special bottled water and chocolates pampered you to sleep.

The bathroom had a nice tub which provided bath salts to soak in after the day. The shower was strong and relaxing and the Red Flower toiletries came in commercial sizes, which meant they weren't scrimping on the luxury.

This would be one hotel I would highly recommend for every visitor and those who would want to return to New York would surely mark this on their return list. (I did!) And nothing compares to feeling like you're just at home! Not even the hustle and bustle of New York would change my loving this hotel!

So why the 4 stars rating after all the rave? Well, the elevators were not working on the last day that we needed to leave so we had to carry our baggages four floors down (which was a bummer) because our limo was at the doorstep already when we were ready to leave. Had it not been for this weird glitch, I would have kissed the floor!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear kid_at_heart17,

I am so very sorry our elevators were not operating; it has never happened that both have stopped running and, in fact, we had them moving very quickly. Nonetheless, I apologize for your inconvenience.

That said, we are thrilled you were thrilled and we hope we may thrill you many times over.

Let us know when you plan on returning.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    164
    51
    23
    13
See reviews for
89
230
48
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We had 5 nights at the hotel and chose it because of the location. It really was perfectly positioned in midtown. Two minutes from Central Park and 20 seconds from 5th avenue. The room was a decent size for NYC standards and it was a very clean hotel. Staff were friendly enough, particularly the concierge arranging restaurant bookings.

The only downside I would say is the restaurant. In the hotel, the famous restaurant is Ma Peche. It was totally delicious but not the type of place you could just go to chill. It was an expensive night out restaurant. So not a negative, but I like my hotel to have a casual eating option too.

Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Rosyro,

We are very happy to read of your pleasure in staying with us. The truth of the matter is we've not room for another restaurant, though we do know of a few hidden casual spots nearby.

Please let me know when next you arrive and I will be happy to clue you in.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in New York as part of our multi destination honeymoon and out of the 4 states and 4 countries we visited New York and the Chambers was the best! We arrived early after an overnight flight from Vegas and Ty greeted us-surprisingly knowing our names! The room wasn't ready but it was still only early so we decided to go out and explore. We got back to the Hotel mid afternoon and were told they had a surprise for us. Ty took us up to our room and we had been upgraded to their top suite which was over two floors and had the most amazing balcony. This was an unbelievable gesture as we had only booked one of their basic rooms! Service from all staff was phenomenal and I can't recommend this hotel enough. Thank you Chambers, you made our New York honeymoon experience unforgettable. Melissa and Phil Lowe ( England)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsYorkshire1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Mrs. and Mr. Melissa and Phil Lowe,

Congratulations! We are delighted to have been a part of your celebration! We wish you many years of good health, fine friends and lovely memories.

Perhaps you will celebrate your anniversaries with us. We'd be thrilled.

In all events, celebrate everyday together.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at the Chambers Hotel for three nights from June 24th to June 27th and we were more than enthused with our overall experience. Arriving at New York close to midnight after a very long flight and with a missing luggage ( thank you British Airways!!!) , the hotel's generous offer to upgrade us to a suite came more as a consolation to us. To start with, the hotel's location is difficult to beat. In the centre of Manhattan, close to all major sightseings and attractions, is located in a relatively quiet street, thus ensuring the best of both worlds, i.e. the real taste of NY life just off the door and a quiet place to relax when coming back.The room surpassed all the expectations we had when booking at Chambers. Lavishly spacious,with its own unique and artistic decorative style, equipped with all the necessary accessories and a beautiful terrace offering an amazing view of NY skyscrapers. Matching, if not overcoming the standards of the room, was the quality of the services offered by the hotel.Highly skilled, professional and attentive to all our needs, the Chambers people really know what it takes to make a customer satisfied. Our special thanks go to all the staff, but most of all to Ty Green, the young concierge who opened for us on the very first day and every morning therafter the door to NY amazing life, with a bright smile and loads of information and guidance. Thank you Ty, you were really the best!!!!
We really regretted having to leave Chambers for another hotel in Lower Manhattan, as we had decided to split our stay in New York in two parts, one in Upper and the other in Lower Manhattan. Chambers stood out as one of the best hotel we have ever stayed for its unique combination of excellent location, rooms style and standards, quality of services and above all professionalism and friendliness of staff. We would definitely come back and we most certainly recommend Chambers to everyone looking for a real gem in the centre of the worlds's most amazing city!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivyllaion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Sivyllaion,

Thank you so very kindly for your words of praise and pleasure.

Traveling, while one of our favorite activities, can be exhausting and frustrating. We always hope to be able to ameliorate the little bumps and inconveniences that may happen along the way. Thank you again for letting us know we have succeeded. I will surely pass along your kind words to all our staff.

By the bye, I have always felt particularly welcome in your lovely country.

Please let me know when next you plan a visit to New York. We will be delighted to assist you in anway we are able.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I normally stay in one of the big hotel chains when I visit so it was great to try one of NYC's boutique hotels. Amazing central location next to Central Park and 5th avenue and very attentive staff. Loved the room-very spacious, great shower and wonderful views. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Hannahslater,

We like small, too, especially in big cities.

Thank you for helping to spread the word and for your very kind ones.

Please let me know when you are heading to our side of the Atlantic and I will be happy to help with your bookings and what not.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was my second stay at Chambers and I'm pleased to say it was well worth returning. I found the staff charming, informative and switched on (a great dinner recommendation). The location is hard to beat. The meetings I had scheduled in the lounge area were comfortable and intimate - a refreshing change to other larger hotels. I would return again and I would recommend the hotel to guests who are looking for different experience to that farmed out by less considered hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McConnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear McConnon,

Thank you, Sir. We were delighted you returned and we look forward to welcoming you anytime.

Yours kindly,

Ansell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed for 4 nights June 9th to 12th, with two young daughters. Rooms were pretty cool, some nice touches that give the place personality, definitely does not have the big, anonymous chain hotel feel. This is not a big hotel, if you want airy space go somewhere else. There is a different artist charged with decorating each floor and the work is featured in the rooms - this was an interesting touch. Real, heavy keys to the rooms was pretty nice. All-day access to the NY Health and Racquet Club up the street was excellent, it's a huge gym. The location of the hotel is excellent for Central Park, mid town and shopping; the cross street it is on is really quiet for central Manhattan, there are two good deli-cafe's very close for cheap breakfast, coffee, lunch etc. The staff really made it for us, in contrast to the review I saw earlier. Sure, the staff are young but they were so friendly and helpful to our family. They played with my girls, like actually took time out off the desk and played games in the lobby, which they genuinely enjoyed and my girls loved. It was a much more personal experience that way. We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on food or restaurant. We would especially like to thank/commend Ty, Amber and team for their attention, it was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Floor 8 has a fabulous floral theme, we had a room with a pull-out double sofa bed which was great f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bishfact0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you, bishfactOr, for your very kind words and for sharing them via TripAdvisor.
The Front Desk folks are still talking about the girls.
Please come back anytime and surely feel free contacting me directly.

Thank you again,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,097 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hilton Club - New York
The Hilton Club - New York
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Property: Chambers Hotel
Address: 15 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing