We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Labor Day visit”
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Labor Day visit”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Went on my yearly Labor Day brother/sister/daughter mini vacation last weekend, and this year we stayed at the Chambers. Lovely hotel, pleasant staff, good restaurant, great location (close to Central Park, Broadway Shows, and luxury shopping). Room was super, very modern, comfy bed, great bathroom, very quiet, turn down service that included yummy chocolates, and premium bottled water nightly. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindylu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Cindlylu 12,

What a fine time to visit. Thank you for being our guests and subsequently sharing your very kind words.
Just let us know when you want to return and please feel free contacting me, I would be delighted to assist with your reservations and to turn you on to a few lesser known finds of our terrific staff.

Thank you again,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    170
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
91
233
48
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

At the occasion of our booking we had asked for a quiet room and we were therefore rather chocked that we got a front room on the 3th floor, very much exposed to the New York street noise. When we discovered that on the other side of the street a building is being torn down, and that noisy trucks and forklifts profit from a great deal of the night to load the concrete rubble and debris that are collected there during the day we asked for a quieter room. The receptionist explained that although we could move up 2 floors the only possibility for a quiet room with 3 beds was a suite on one of the upper floors and would cost us for the remaining days some extra 1400 US, which we refused. Since our room had already been paid for, we felt trapped even after the price of our room was reduced with some 15%.
The last evening the engine of the airco in our room burned beyond repair, and we were moved to a suite on the upper floors. So after the discomfort of completely packing and moving up (nobody of the staff helped us) we finally had a quite night. My conclusion: Out of the 4 nights that we had booked, only one answered to what a hotel basically should offer its guests: a possibility to sleep...
I learned that the demolition work in front of the lower rooms will run till spring next year ... so forget sleeping in the rooms on the lower floors....

Paul Bogaerts

Room Tip: refuse a front room if lower than the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Mr. Bogaerts,
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Chambers. We pride ourselves on having a quiet hotel that offers relief from the hustle and bustle of our often rambunctious city but sometimes we are not in control of all that happens outside our windows or the time aforementioned happens.
As in my previous email, please do feel free in contacting me directly and I will ensure you have a splendid and splendidly quiet trip to New York.
Yours kindly,
Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is a true hidden gem! Stayed there twice, loved it both times. The location is perfect to explore the city, especially with my kids. The rooms are just perfect, the art work is beautiful (each floor has a different theme), what makes it different than other hotels is the service and friendly staff. I highly recommend this hotel and will definetly come back!

Room Tip: Dont miss Momofuku milk bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodour A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Bodour A.

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words with Trip Advisor. Curious, too, that we refer to our lovely hotel as a hidden gem. We are very happy to know you and your children felt so well cared for; that is what it is all about and I will surely share your praise with all our staff.

Until Soon,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel in midtown is in an excellent location in midtown NY.
Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff.
Our Standard Queen room was sufficient for our needs and well appointed. We were at the rear of the hotel so it was very quiet at night, slough the road outside the hotel is not very busy.
We needed an iron and it was brought to us immediately and left with us until we left.
All in all a great hotel, and we would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are better. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Robert,

Thank you kindly for your review and for sharing it on TripAdvisor. It is greatly appreciated.

We will be delighted having you stay with us anytime. Please feel free contacting me directly and I will gladly assist you in all things New York.

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millwood, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I just stumbled on Chambers Hotel and I consider it a lucky stumble!! The staff was suburb Ty, Robert and Sue went above and beyond with service and helpful suggestions about food, areas of NYC and parking! The rooms were small, but it's prime real estate, the showers are a treat and the liens were great! I loved the small European feeling of the hotel as opposed to a large sterile vacuous lobby of many hotels! The location is perfect for the mid town area, right off 5th Ave..I will definitely make Chambers my go to spot in the City!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the back in a queen room, it doesn't have a view, but it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Phyllis.

Many thanks for your delightful words of praise. I am certain to share them with all our staff as they are the ones who make it make it happen.

We are so pleased you stumbled on our lovely spot of 56th Street, where we like to keep a calm oasis amid the hustle and bustle of Midtown.

Please feel free contacting me directly as I will be pleased to assist with all your arrangements for your next and all reservations.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Except for the very high prices for rooms (guess that is ny), there is no bad word coming out of my mouth regarding this hotel. It is a design hotel in the very center of the city and outright amazing. I have been a guest here many times and was pleased with all aspects of my stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: never had a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your kind words and for returning to be our guest. We are delighted.

Until soon,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I come here on business quite often and its always a smooth and comfortable experience. So much so that I decided to come with my husband and another couple for a leisurely trip. I usually stay in a standard queen room, not large but very comfortable. The beds and showers are great! Love the writing desk and interesting artwork. This time we stayed in a studio king room which was lovely! The staff is refreshingly well.. Refreshing! Casual yet professional, very efficient and tons of fun! My only bad comment is for the restaurant. The food is not nearly up to par and room service was more hassle than it was worth. But with so many great places to eat in the area and excellent concierge (special thanks to our star, Amber) this would certainly not deter us from coming to the Chambers again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Julie D.

I couldn't agree more, it is all about the staff and I am continually amazed at the pleasure ours is able to offer; they surely make it a pleasure for me to be at the hotel and I see how positively our guests react to their ministrations.

Thank you for including your husband and friends in your visit, it is the very best compliment and I thank you for it.

Alas, I am very sorry to hear your displeasure with Má Pêche and I will surely discuss your comments and issues with their management team, as they are owned separately.

Once again, we are very pleased you find Chambers to be your home in New York and I certainly encourage you to contact me directly whenever your business or pleasure bring you back.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Property: Chambers Hotel
Address: 15 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing