We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Carnegie”
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
Ranked #140 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to Carnegie”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Was in NYC to perform at Carnegie Hall as well as a small family reunion. The atmosphere created by the extraordinarily friendly staff set the tone for a memorable stay. We booked 3 rooms for our family, and our location requests were met, with one of our party receiving an upgrade! The hotel is warm, quiet, and inviting and the decor is sort of industrial chic. The public spaces were cozy and inviting, with art pieces displayed. We gathered by the large fireplace in the lobby several times, and the 2nd floor contained several seating arrangements for sitting and lounging and/or visiting. Loved the powerful rainshower bath and larger than expected room size. The bed was very comfy, and we had every amenity we needed. We especially liked the larger sized toiletries and comfy robes. Our rooms were very quiet, even the street-facing room on 56th street. The only things I didn't like were the oddly poorly constructed wardrobe which served as a closet. The doors were rough and didn't operate smoothly, and I couldn't get the room as cool as I would've liked, although every place we went in NYC seemed overheated. The convenient location 2 blocks east of Carnegie Hall's stage entrance was a huge plus, and it's close to fabulous shopping as well as Central Park. We grabbed a quick breakfast bite at the hotel's Milk Bar as well as an after theater bite at Ma Peche, and the staff were all equally friendly and helpful as the hotel staff. The clientele seemed to be a mix of well-mannered, quiet, younger professional people. The concierge/greeter/all around helpful guy was just outstanding! Can't say enough good things about this property, and highly recommend it if you're planning a stay in midtown Manhatten.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Nancy A,

First and foremost, congratulations on your performing at Carnegie; we are delighted for you. Too, we are very pleased you and your family enjoyed Chambers.
Well mannered is one of the finest compliments we think may be paid and we thank you for it, on behalf all our guests. Perhaps it has something to do with the warm, quiet and inviting-ness of our lobby and rooms.

Please let me know when next you are performing at Carnegie or Lincoln Center or Town Hall or, or ... I would be delighted to assist you.

Once again, many thanks on sharing your views.

Yours,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    170
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
91
233
48
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great service and best location for shopping madison /fifth avenue - close to Moma ad MET Opera - Fab staff that make you feel home & we love the ART all over the hotel ! The Duplexe suite with terrace with view is a must to come back to. momofuku serves nice worldclass food so you dont have to leave the hotel

Room Tip: Duplex suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank commahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Commahotel,

In a city surrounded with art and restaurants and great places to visit, we are very happy you chose Chambers and hope you will return often and in good health.

Enjoy a fine Scandinavian holiday.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My mom reserved rooms here for a family trip to NYC. The Chambers is located on 56th, between 5th and 6th Avenues. 56th is a fairly quiet, one-way street.

Upon arrival, we found out that we'd been upgraded to a king deluxe room. Nice start. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, immediately offering me water.

Though the hotel is a small, boutique property, and the building is quite narrow, the lobby is appointed with several comfortable lounge areas, which proved ideal spots for my family to visit. I particularly liked the warm gas fire.

Our room was large for NYC, and very clean, with lots of unexpected touches that really set it apart from chain hotels.

Highlights:
- The concierge was fabulous and helped us figure out a couple of family activities. Really, really helpful and kind.
-.Nice linens, with duvet covers (no skeezy blankets), luxe towels and robes
- Industrial design throughout, including a concrete-floored, open, glass shower and a concrete vanity
- Large, 3-oz. shampoo and conditioner
- Unique offerings on standard items; in lieu of a mini-bar, there is a carefully curated (and I mean that - not using silly jargon) collection of snacks and items; there is a bulletin board with post cards and info; even the clock is a retro wood number
-Location near Carnegie Hall and shops
-Large window view. Though we were facing the street, we didn't hear any traffic noise and slept well.

I would absolutely recommend the Chambers to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear DCmetrodogmom,

We are very pleased you had a fine time at Chambers, in New York and with your family.

Thank you for recommending Chambers to your friends; we like keeping it close.

Please let us know when you are next up the coast and feel free bringing the pooch. We've got treats!

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Chambers Hotel between the 11th and 18th October, 2013.
As an architect, I appreciated the stylish interior design. It is elegant and slightly quirky, which is a pleasant change from the usual generic and faceless hotels found elsewhere.
The location is perfect. It’s close to the subway, adjacent 5th Avenue and only a few blocks from Central Park.
The staff, particularly Richard, are incredibly friendly and attentive. We expressed our interest in seeing a Broadway show and within 5 minutes they had obtained 2 quotes for tickets. The service we received was first class.
Our room was a rear facing queen room on the 14th floor. This room afforded a view of the buildings on 57th Street, which provided a quintessential New York skyline, including the archetypal conical water tanks.
Unfortunately, the building opposite was served by a plantroom that emitted a continuous low hum. While it didn’t create an issue for us, it may for others. Notwithstanding this, the room was very quiet.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Mr. H.

We are very pleased indeed you like perfect.

We are very pleased indeed you shared your opinion.

We will be very pleased indeed welcoming you back anytime you find yourself this side of the sea.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A very well located gem with excellent staff who knew who we were whenever we returned during the day or night. Also we were given some very good restaurant recommendations to compliment our plans over a long weekend. Our room was of a good size given NY hotel restraints and well appointed. Cool but not uncomfortable or trendy for the sake of it! Watch out for the current demolition and building works across the street! During weekdays those works went on late and started early. Could be disruptive for those in a low floor street facing room.

Room Tip: The higher the better to be insulated from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Stevie,

Many thanks on your kind words and for sharing them, both are greatly appreciated.
We are happy to report the deconstruction is complete and the last of the rubble has been cleared; New York constantly renewing itself.

Just a note of curiosity: what could we do better to earn those fine and lovely 5 stars? We'd love to know.

In all events, thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Doormen seem to remember me whenever I return to this hotel. Great location, quick walk to subway stations or Central Park. Rooms are small but very cool. If you want to stay at a hip hotel and avoid the "tourist" feel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you kindly, Mr. W.

We are very appreciative of your taking the time to share your pleasure in having Chambers be your home in New York.

We like our little spot in midtown and are grateful you do, too.

Thank you again,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in June. Overall experience is perfect. Great location as it's just in the heart of NY city, with small stores selling your daily needs just across the road. Walking distance to famous US brands and department stores. Easy to get a cab in the morning. Comfortable lobby with friendly staff to welcome you. Rooms are not too big but it's clean and quiet. The comfort comes from everything you encountered; The lift, the door, the carpet, bed sheets, towels... everything is in good condition that you won't worry about the stay. And the famous fusion restaurant "momofuku" is just downstairs. Foods are really great, suggest to make reservation advanced to avoid waiting time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mung M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Ms.M.,

We couldn’t have said it better ourselves, so thank you.

It is a true pleasure every time we step into Chambers and to spend our days surrounded by art, fine fabrics, beautiful design and, most of all, astoundingly fine people.

Thank you for the recognition, it is hugely appreciated

It is a long way from Hong Kong to New York, but please feel free contacting me if I may assist with your or a comrades reservation

Yours kindly,.

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#206 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Property: Chambers Hotel
Address: 15 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing