We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chambers Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Watson Hotel(New York City)
US$206
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$308
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$347
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$263
US$232
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$515
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$204
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$307
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
391
184
56
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
184
56
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsma pechemilk barcentral parkboutique hotelnew yorkrain showertrump towerfifth avenuebottled watergreat showersmall hotelbath productsbasic roomgreat boutiqueroom servicegreat amenitiesturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Location - On 56th near the corner of 5th. Great for shopping and for running in Central Park! Easy to get uptown and downtown.
Room - The room size was decent by New York standards. I got allergies from the dust though. The bathroom was also pretty small with little space to put my bathroom kit. It had a rain shower and standard amenities - bring a toothbrush and toothpaste!
Food - room service was efficient and good. The hotel restaurant is Ma Peche (part of the Momofuku group) and you could also order some dishes from them for room service.
Staff - very friendly concierge and doormen
Gym - no gym but they have an arrangement with the NY Racket Club
Internet - complimentary

The best part about the hotel was the location location location!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Angypsy,

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on Chambers, we are very appreciative. I am very sorry for your dust allergy and please know we have always many a toothbrush and paste at our Front Desk for just such occasions.

Again, many thanks for your thoughts.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Was in NYC to perform at Carnegie Hall as well as a small family reunion. The atmosphere created by the extraordinarily friendly staff set the tone for a memorable stay. We booked 3 rooms for our family, and our location requests were met, with one of our party receiving an upgrade! The hotel is warm, quiet, and inviting and the decor is sort of industrial chic. The public spaces were cozy and inviting, with art pieces displayed. We gathered by the large fireplace in the lobby several times, and the 2nd floor contained several seating arrangements for sitting and lounging and/or visiting. Loved the powerful rainshower bath and larger than expected room size. The bed was very comfy, and we had every amenity we needed. We especially liked the larger sized toiletries and comfy robes. Our rooms were very quiet, even the street-facing room on 56th street. The only things I didn't like were the oddly poorly constructed wardrobe which served as a closet. The doors were rough and didn't operate smoothly, and I couldn't get the room as cool as I would've liked, although every place we went in NYC seemed overheated. The convenient location 2 blocks east of Carnegie Hall's stage entrance was a huge plus, and it's close to fabulous shopping as well as Central Park. We grabbed a quick breakfast bite at the hotel's Milk Bar as well as an after theater bite at Ma Peche, and the staff were all equally friendly and helpful as the hotel staff. The clientele seemed to be a mix of well-mannered, quiet, younger professional people. The concierge/greeter/all around helpful guy was just outstanding! Can't say enough good things about this property, and highly recommend it if you're planning a stay in midtown Manhatten.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Nancy A,

First and foremost, congratulations on your performing at Carnegie; we are delighted for you. Too, we are very pleased you and your family enjoyed Chambers.
Well mannered is one of the finest compliments we think may be paid and we thank you for it, on behalf all our guests. Perhaps it has something to do with the warm, quiet and inviting-ness of our lobby and rooms.

Please let me know when next you are performing at Carnegie or Lincoln Center or Town Hall or, or ... I would be delighted to assist you.

Once again, many thanks on sharing your views.

Yours,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great service and best location for shopping madison /fifth avenue - close to Moma ad MET Opera - Fab staff that make you feel home & we love the ART all over the hotel ! The Duplexe suite with terrace with view is a must to come back to. momofuku serves nice worldclass food so you dont have to leave the hotel

Room Tip: Duplex suite
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank commahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Commahotel,

In a city surrounded with art and restaurants and great places to visit, we are very happy you chose Chambers and hope you will return often and in good health.

Enjoy a fine Scandinavian holiday.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My mom reserved rooms here for a family trip to NYC. The Chambers is located on 56th, between 5th and 6th Avenues. 56th is a fairly quiet, one-way street.

Upon arrival, we found out that we'd been upgraded to a king deluxe room. Nice start. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, immediately offering me water.

Though the hotel is a small, boutique property, and the building is quite narrow, the lobby is appointed with several comfortable lounge areas, which proved ideal spots for my family to visit. I particularly liked the warm gas fire.

Our room was large for NYC, and very clean, with lots of unexpected touches that really set it apart from chain hotels.

Highlights:
- The concierge was fabulous and helped us figure out a couple of family activities. Really, really helpful and kind.
-.Nice linens, with duvet covers (no skeezy blankets), luxe towels and robes
- Industrial design throughout, including a concrete-floored, open, glass shower and a concrete vanity
- Large, 3-oz. shampoo and conditioner
- Unique offerings on standard items; in lieu of a mini-bar, there is a carefully curated (and I mean that - not using silly jargon) collection of snacks and items; there is a bulletin board with post cards and info; even the clock is a retro wood number
-Location near Carnegie Hall and shops
-Large window view. Though we were facing the street, we didn't hear any traffic noise and slept well.

I would absolutely recommend the Chambers to a friend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear DCmetrodogmom,

We are very pleased you had a fine time at Chambers, in New York and with your family.

Thank you for recommending Chambers to your friends; we like keeping it close.

Please let us know when you are next up the coast and feel free bringing the pooch. We've got treats!

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Chambers Hotel between the 11th and 18th October, 2013.
As an architect, I appreciated the stylish interior design. It is elegant and slightly quirky, which is a pleasant change from the usual generic and faceless hotels found elsewhere.
The location is perfect. It’s close to the subway, adjacent 5th Avenue and only a few blocks from Central Park.
The staff, particularly Richard, are incredibly friendly and attentive. We expressed our interest in seeing a Broadway show and within 5 minutes they had obtained 2 quotes for tickets. The service we received was first class.
Our room was a rear facing queen room on the 14th floor. This room afforded a view of the buildings on 57th Street, which provided a quintessential New York skyline, including the archetypal conical water tanks.
Unfortunately, the building opposite was served by a plantroom that emitted a continuous low hum. While it didn’t create an issue for us, it may for others. Notwithstanding this, the room was very quiet.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Mr. H.

We are very pleased indeed you like perfect.

We are very pleased indeed you shared your opinion.

We will be very pleased indeed welcoming you back anytime you find yourself this side of the sea.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews