We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to have stayed”
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
Ranked #137 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Happy to have stayed”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Chambers for a night in early May and it will be my go-to hotel in the future. Location is excellent, only a couple of blocks from Central Park and around the corner from the crowds and craziness of 5th Avenue. The staff was very accommodating and friendly (shout -out to Ty who made us feel like welcome guests from the moment we entered). Heaps of fluffy towels, well-thought-out design in the living and sleeping spaces, flip-flops and robes, lots of pillows, and a giant bathroom with tremendous tub and shower units showed great attention to the guests' comfort.

Room Tip: No view from back of hotel - assume a better one from the front. Elevators ran often and quickly so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Mary Ann H,

We are very happy you were happy and trust you will be happy many, many times at Chambers.
Ty is quite the treasure and I will surely pass along your kudos. That said, everyone who is with us has nothing but our guests best interests in mind.
We like being so close to the crowds and craziness and are very happy to be our quiet oasis of books, art and Momofuku Má Pêche tastiness a few steps away.

Surely let me know when you are next planning a trip to New York and we'll be happy to suggest a few of our favorite spots.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    170
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
91
233
48
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a wonderful find. The location was fabulous. Nice environment. Friendly, helpful people. Reasonably priced for the area and Manhattan. It will be at the top of my list whenever I go to the city.

Room Tip: The least expensive one was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear SharBer,

Thank you for the compliments. We are very glad you found Chambers, too.

Let me know when next you are off the California slopes and headed back to our coast. I'd be delighted to assist you in booking and pointing out a few of our favorite spots in town.

Once again, thank you.

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I've been to Chambers hotel before for dinner, but this was my first stay. The experience was excellent from start to finish. The doormen and front office staff professional and gracious, the decor of the hotel is lovely and well thought out, and coming back to the hotel was a refuge from the hustle and bustle of the city, even though the location is so perfect in the heart of Midtown. Most importantly, the room was completely quiet and the beds were wonderful, the rainforest shower had excellent water pressure, and bath amenities were great. There was easy-to-access free WIFI, and I enjoyed the colored pencils and drawing paper on the desk blotter - perfect for doodling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Maureen,

We are very, very happy to be your new favorite hotel. Thank you kindly for letting TripAdvisor know.

We're very fond of the doodlers in the world.

Until soon,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights at the Chambers hotel recently. Absolutely loved it! Felt more like a fun house when you check in than a hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is normal and friendly. Nice people all around. Friendly, helpful and with a sense of humor. They recognized me when I got "home" and it was just nice to stay there. Great location...and great place to be. Enjoyed this hotel... I've stayed in many NYC hotels and this is definitely a keeper. Highly recommend

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank anonymice1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Kicio77,

Thank you.

We love fun houses and rollercoasters that go loop the loop.

We are glad you found us normal and appreciate the sense of humor; sometimes New York can get a bit serious and we like to think we offer a respite from that as well as a little bit of piece and quiet, too.

We'll be very happy to have you with us whenever you find yourself in town.

Thank you again for sharing your enthusiasm.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

From the moment I stepped through the doors and was greeted by the wonderful staff, I was immediately made to feel comfortable. A thorough demonstration of the room and hotel amenities, a big smile, a voucher for coffee and I was set. There's a perfect lounge area and a handy bar to meet for a drink. The location is fantastic, convenient to Central Park, Midtown, and the subway. The décor is a wink and a nod to industrial chic, but with a very cozy vibe. Very nice sized room by NYC standards, and a large shower (with great products). Excellent standard of service. I know NYC well, and this is now the hotel at the top of my personal list.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PouletteParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear PouletteParis,

It is such a pleasure reading your review and not least because it was about Chambers. Thank you for sharing it.

We will be delighted having you as our guest anytime. Perhaps you will let me know when you next return. I would very much like to say hello in person.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Only stayed one night with the family, but was treated like royalty - early check in, late check out - no problem. Upgraded to the top suite, with a back alley view of office buildings and water towers, but not a big deal since we didn't come to NYC just to look outside of our hotel windows. With that, we appreciated how quiet it was, since the hotel was just off busy Fifth Ave. Room was incredibly spacious, very hip and modern, and they use real keys (how charming!). Deep soaking tub, separate rain shower, and they have Red Flower as the bath products - always good.
Having the in-house restaurant as Ma Peche was a great asset for the hotel. The terrace bar is more accessible than the restaurant, and the free Stumptown coffee in the morning was as expected.
All in all, we were incredibly spoiled by this hotel, my wife cannot see us staying anywhere else if we find ourselves midtown again, especially compared to all the other extra fancy, chain hotels nearby. The service was incredibly personable and everyone was genuinely caring for a boutique hotel. The location is just as excellent if you are all about what Fifth Ave offers. We chose the hotel for being near Central Park and near UniQlo. Received cupcakes from Magnolia Bakery on our way out - great and thanks!! We will stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you, eric61478,

Spoiled is good when it comes to hotels, at least. We are so glad you will be back and we will spoil you all over again. We are a bit biased, of course, but your wife is correct.

Enjoy a Southern spring.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Highly recommended to stay here.

The rooms are unique, well put together and modern. The pictures online really do not do this place justice. I visited during a weekend trip to propose to my girlfriend. I mentioned it during while making my reservation and they were able to upgrade my room.

The location is ideal because it is a short taxi ride to Central Park or midtown. However, we walked to Central Park and MoMA and from a Broadway Show so that is definitely an option.

A huge shout out to the friendly staff (especially Ty) for helping to make the trip very memorable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Mr. M.

Mazel Tov, we wish you many years of happiness and good health together.

Thank you for the warm words of praise for all, they greatly appreciate the recognition.

Perhaps a honeymoon or anniversary trip. We would be delighted to have you for any and all.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,198 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Property: Chambers Hotel
Address: 15 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing