We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Boutique Hotel in NYC”
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
hilo
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel in NYC”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Chambers is a perfect boutique hotel in NYC. Located just off 5th Ave shopping, within walking distance of theater district, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and Museum of Modern Art, you cannot find a better location. The staff is exceptional. Helpful with all questions. The rooms are large for NYC, clean, quiet, large baths and great showers. Excellent restaurant on site. Will return again when I am in NYC and wish to stay in same area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfdeepblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello, hfdeepblue,

Thank you for the perfect and exceptional ; they are mighty fine compliments indeed. We greatly appreciate them and your for sharing.

Please do let us know when next you want to be in Midtown, we will be delighted to arrange all.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    169
    51
    23
    14
See reviews for
91
233
48
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Chambers Hotel with our 2 year old daughter. We selected Chambers based on its central location and were not disappointed. Only 2 blocks to subway, Central Park and 5th Ave. The staff was excellent and very helpful (much appreciated, especially traveling with a little one). The hotel supplied a cute iron crib (instead of pack 'n play). We must have been upgraded because our room was huge for NYC standards and surprisingly very quiet. The restaurant below is good but overpriced. Very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadie_cSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Good morning, sadie_cSan Diego,

Thank you for your kind words. Travel with a toddler is a whole other way of traveling and we are very glad we were able to make it easier.

Perhaps you will make it an annual outing and we can watch your daughter grow.

In all events, we are pleased you were pleased and thank you for your very positive note.

Kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

OUR TRIP WAS FANTASTIC!!!! THE CHAMBERS HOTEL is just where you want to be in the middle of everything!!! We pulled up the car and were greeted with such friendly service!!! Our car was valeted and our bags taken to room!! The staff was so friendly and eager to please!! Our room was so nice and clean we had a suite with a balcony over looking 56 street between 5 and 6 ave. We took a cab to see the View Show 5 min ride!!!! Rented bikes in Central Park right at corner from hotel !! We had lunch at an Italian Restaurant the staff rec amended it was excellent! Walking distance to everything!!!! I WAS SO EXCITED TO STAY IN NYC AND STAYING AT THE CHAMBERS HOTEL GAVE ME AND FRIENDS MEMORIES OF A LIFETIME!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear dianek3,

Wow!, how delightful to know we contributed to your memories in such a big way.

Thank you very much for letting all TripAdvisor know.

See you soon, Cherry Hill is not so far away.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Modern Boutique Hotel with an excellent Staff. iPads available if you need one. Stayed here for few days with my two teenage children in a fifth floor room with a King size bed and Sofa-bed over looking the front of the hotel. Surprisingly quite. A/C was great. Room had a modern decor with very nice linens. I looked forward to the excellent rain shower where you can control the water pressure every night! The Milk Bar was very convenient in the mornings for a quick unique bite. I thought the location for the Hotel was very good. Walking distances from Central Park, 5th Ave, Rockefeller, Times Sqr, Subways nearby and bike rentals across the street. Had an excellent stay and would consider this hotel again for our next NYC trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceSF40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear BruceSF40,

Many thanks on spreading the word. It is greatly appreciated.

We are very glad you enjoyed yourself and we certainly hope the teenagers did.

Please do stay at Chambers again and again an again, we'd be delighted.

Yours kindly,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location is fantastic if you want to stay in uptown, be a block away from central park, walking distance to Museums..shops...times square..
The staff are very very nice, young and hip, super friendly and make you feel like the Chambers is your home...
The rooms are v nicely decorated, clean, cozy, comfortable and warm... The size is perfect not small, around 30 square meters.
The fact that we had Momofuku Milk Bar at the hotel was amazing, you should try their truffles (all flavours, exp chocolate)..

Downsides (not major):
The concierge service is not amazing, they have helicopter tour brochures but no Bus tour maps which I found odd given that it's the first thing any hotel will stock.
One of the elevators was out of order which was annoying given that there was only one elevator left and it took a while to go up or down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Nataly A,

First and foremost, please accept my apologies for the elevator delays. We are required to have our elevators tested and serviced on a regular basis,ultimately for the safety of all.

Milk Bar surely does stand out and Momofuku Má Pêche as our restaurant rounds out a fine dining scene.

I am very glad you and your family felt at home; that is surely the goal of us all.

Please do let me know when you will next find yourself/selves in New York and we will ensure your are once again ensconced in comfort and truffles.

Kindly yours,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was fortunate to snag a king + sofa bed room on an affiliated site at 40% discount. I had a heck of a time even finding a hotel room in NYC with more than one bed, so I was ready to take anything. For less than a ubiquitous chain hotel, I ended up in a modern swanky hotel that was for real (not that cheapy stuff that everyone tries to pass as modern these days).

My room on the 4th floor had loads of great amenities:

- Fuzzy flip flops
- Bathrobe
- Amazing huge windows that open like French doors to feel like a balcony
- TV with real cable (LOTS of channels)
- Short yet super deep tub
- Mini bar full of clever stuff like Vermont beef jerky
- Cordless phone
- Drafting table
- Original (?) art work
- SUPER fancy lights like a LED desk lamp and a reading lamp that has a pendant weight for height adjustment

That's not all, but it was the kind of stuff to keep me and my buddies happy. It definitely didn't hurt to have helpful lobby guys and no wait elevators and treats like cereal milk downstairs.

Personally, I'm not all about the location, but the proximity to central park is a definite plus.

If I had to pick out some problems, they'd be with the mostly awesome bathroom. The shower makes the floor super wet and there's not much counter space or light around the sink.

BOTTOM LINE - I'm so cheap, but if I need another 2 bed room in NYC, I'll probably pay full price to stay at the Chambers.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are not loud and feature great windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baskoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello baskoner.

As New Yorkers, we, too, love a good deal and when better than July 4th.

We are thrilled you found Chambers and so much to your liking.

Please do come back anytime.

And, by the bye, all the art is original.

Thank you very much sharing your enthusiasm.

See you soon,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was the first time I've stayed at the Chambers Hotel, and I must say, it was a lovely experience. The boutique hotel is clean, understated, quiet and restful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely sized and interestingly furnished. The location couldn't be more perfect for jaunts to 5th and Madison Avenues, Central Park, Columbus Circle and the Theater District. Adjacent to the hotel is Ma Peche and The Milk Bar (part of the Momofuku Restaurant Group) -- so it's easy to enjoy a nice breakfast, lunch, dinner or afternoon coffee/tea and cookie. The beds (and bed linens) are comfortable -- as are the showers which have powerful jets. Will definitely return again if the price is right. New York hotels just keep getting more and more exorbitant -- but Chambers does offer solid promotions. Am very happy to have discovered this place!

Room Tip: I don't know much about which rooms to choose from. I always politely ask for a quiet room when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProjectZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChambersNewYork, General Manager at Chambers Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hello ProjectZen,

We're very glad, too, you found Chambers. Even though we are in the middle of it all, we do try to keep things quiet and peaceful.

You may want to try our Studio rooms, each having CocoMat mattresses; you'll find a new haven in bedding.

Please do always let us know when you plan to arrive, and we hope it will be often, that we can arrange the quietest spot.

Thank you for your politeness, it also is greatly appreciated.

Until soon,

Ansell Hawkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,194 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#204 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Property: Chambers Hotel
Address: 15 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#110 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing