We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuinely couldn't have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
Ranked #5 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

A slightly belated review from our visit to New York at the start of November.

We hadn't stayed in SoHo for a few NY trips - always seemed to end up mid-town but decided this time to return to SoHo.

Hadn't stayed at Crosby Street before but a friend in Brooklyn recommended it to us.

Certainly no regrets at all. Despite being in the heart of SoHo there was a great sense of calmness to the hotel. Probably due to the size of it.

We get slightly annoyed when staying in hotels where there's so much going on in the bars, restaurants etc. that as a staying guest you almost feel like an inconvenience.

Not the case here. Within a couple of nights of our 9 night stay the staff greeted you warmly.

Our room had a great view towards Brooklyn. Plenty of space. Good WiFi.

Special thanks to the concierge Todd who helped with transport and restaurant bookings. Really very good service.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

The location of the hotel is amazing, just across the street from Balthazar restaurant (SOHO). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with no exception. The room was a little small for the price I paid even with the outstanding service the price was still high!
I would defenitly go back to this hotel! And btw the bar food was amazing especially the tuna tartar and the veal chop, amazing! Yeah, and even the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are small, so try to get a room with a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fawazbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

So often, my experience in a boutique hotel is underwhelming. Sadly, often "boutique" is code for "small and lacking." Not the case with the Crosby Street Hotel. Two doorman at all times--one to fetch you a cab regardless of time of day or night. Three people working the front desk. Two at the concierge desk. A bar full of great and great looking waitresses. A drawing room for casual conversation staffed by a waiter along with a top shelf honor bar. Excellent rooms with all the amenities you could ever expect--see Bianca's review for details as she is right on.

Try to get on the 5th or above for better views.

This place is not cheap but it is competitive price-wise with other high end hotels and it is off the charts better. Great location, easy access, no long waits for 30 story elevators, cozy bar rather than some huge room (and really trendy people all over the place). Concierge took care of every request we had with ease and a willingness that almost made me forget to tip for his great service. He even seemed pleasantly surprised when I offered him a gratuity.

We had one small issue with our room location and it was handled in a completely over the top manner. I hesitate to describe for fear I will encourage others to fake a problem, which are few and far between to non-existent.

Go. Stay. Enjoy.

Room Tip: 5th floor and above offer city views. Higher up costs more but if you want a great room, ask for 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travele0948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Crosby is the perfect hotel. Perfect location, rooms beautifully designed and extremely comfortable and a good size for a NYC hotel. The bathrooms are ideal with great amenities, plenty of towels etc. The staff are friendly and knowledgable. Overall a perfect hotel that I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: High rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGMSYDNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I was in New York for a conference which was held at The Crosby Street Hotel. When I made the reservation I nearly gasped at the nightly rate and contemplated selling my left ovary to pay for my stay there. However, I made the reservation and hoped it was worth it.

Was it worth it? Absolutely! Every penny was worth the amazing views (5th floor and above), the Voss water, the turn down service, the handwritten welcome note from the manager, the parting gift (handmade soap), and the heated towels in the restroom. I died. Twice.

Staying at the Crosby made for a perfect NYC holiday! Close to great eateries and subways, Soho was the best choice. Two thumbs up!

Room Tip: Free wifi, dog care, amazing concierge, and fabulous service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bianca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed at the Crosby St Hotel early this month and it was fantastic! The interior design of the hotel from the lobby to the rooms was beautiful!
The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
I like to use the gym at all the hotels I travel to, and their gym was very nice!
Being located in SoHo was also a plus since i could just meander about the shops when I had free time!
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 1st class experience in NYC!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjcSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This hotel has some great things going for it i.e. the house keeping is impeccable and the staff are precious, the concierge desk is helpful and kind. It is unfortunate that these wonderful base ameneties are being down trodden by a horribly managed front desk and an over priced and underwhelming restaurant. The pretentious attitude from both of these aspects of the hotel ruined any notion that I might stay here again or reccommend it to anyone I care about. My advice is to fire the lot and start fresh. If I read that news I would go back.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TGP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 471 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 471 in New York City
1,456 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 471 in New York City
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £511 - £852 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crosby Street Hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of New York's vibrant SoHo neighbourhood. There are 86 bedrooms and suites over 11 floors. Interior design by Kit Kemp reflects a fresh, contemporary style. There is The Crosby Bar, a private leafy garden, guest drawing room, several stylish private event and meeting rooms, a luxurious 99 seat screening room and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing