We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
Ranked #6 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Crosby Street Hotel is gorgeous and the service is excellent. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Great views from the large windows on the upper floors. Have stayed at two other hotels from this group in London and they were both just as lovely.
The guest areas and the back garden at the hotel are perfect for lounging or grabbing a drink with friends. The food in the restaurant is very good, especially the breakfast.
Great location in the middle of Soho, if you like the neighborhood you will love the hotel's central location. Not much of a scene at the hotel in the evening, but if you are looking for a peaceful retreat amidst the bustle of Soho this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors with large loft windows have great views of Soho. Really charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 77wheretonext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed at the Crosby St Hotel for a week in November 2011. Unbeatable location, lovely quirky decor, comfortable rooms (I particularly liked the floor to ceiling windows that you can open), cool bar and restaurant, good food, loved the guest lounge with honour system drinks - great place to relax after a hard day's shopping. But what sets this hotel apart is the amazing staff, particularly the Reception and Concierge guys who were so helpful with restaurant bookings, sightseeing advice ... they even found us a dentist who was open on a public holiday ! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and have already done so, and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Pricey? Yes.
Worth it? YES!

A charming, high end boutique hotel, owned by the Brits and this is their first venture in the 'colonies.'
Location, location, location: The Crosby is nestled into a small cobble stoned street, within walking distance of everywhere you want to go in SoHo and the surrounding NoHo,LoLita and more.

The rooms are beautiful , comfortable with upmarket touches such as Frette towels and linens.Bathrooms are granite, and the stall shower is about the best there is. Service is friendly and professional. There is an elegant lounge, for hotel guests only, where you can read, relax order a drink or light meal.

I would go back in a New York minute.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good; My room faced Crosby Street, but it was very, very quiet. It mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manhattan10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Crosby Street Hotel is now my favorite or perhaps second-favorite place to stay in New York, depending on the neighborhood I want to stay in. Its understated elegance matches its location, on a quiet back street, secretly tucked away between the bustling SoHo shopping district and Little Italy. You get all the convenience in a quiet atmosphere. The rooms are beautifully designed to be roomy yet cozy and warm. The staff are a delight, always with a smile on their face, always willing to help. Walking distance to some great little places, one of which happens to be a favorite, the McNally Jackson bookstore on Prince St. Also a block away from a fantastic newsstand, the Lafayette Smoke Shop on Spring & Lafayette, open 24 hours. The Crosby Street bar and restaurant serves a great bloody mary! Bonus: If you get an upper floor room with an eastern exposure, you get a great view.
The hotel is part of a UK-based company, and it indeed has a British accent. A padded dress form punctuates the corner of many of many a room (if not all) adding a touch of class and a nod to the city's roots in fashion and garments, perhaps. That's how I imagine it. While that adds a feminine lilt to the air, the feel is quite understated, not overbearing in personality. Walls are covered in wallpaper that feels like garment fabric, like wool or cotton, in yet another sartorial undertone. The effect is comfort, warmth and high style. In-room mini bars are well stocked, something that is still important to me. Room service is reliably good, and the fixtures in the rooms are very up to date without going overboard on gadgetry. The bathrooms are high style and spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing east for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dccab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Such a wonderful hotel...prime location, lovely room, and helpful staff. We couldn't have had a better stay and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizlubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Wonderful hotel, trendy, perfect location ,unbar exemplary service. Bit of a British feel, which is comfy and warm. Really wonderful. Pricey,yes. A major treat, yes!

Room Tip: High floors beautiful vistas of NYC, bridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monicaflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Let me begin by saying, The Crosby Hotel in NYC is a wonderful place. A phenomenal location, a beautiful and artfully decorated space with spacious and high tech rooms. The rooms are all decorated beautifully and are extremely comfortable with lush furnishings and excellent bath products. The full granite bathroom has the most amazing water pressure I have ever seen. What a great shower! The lobby and the bar are exquisite and just invite one to stay in for a drink or for breakfast. So why do I wish I could give a 4 1/2 rating. It is simply spotty service. Poor advice, on two separate occasions after asking specifically, at the concierge desk, advised us to park along the street and we were ticketed. Note: The manager was very good and offered to take care of the ticket for us. The wait staff in the restaurant are very spotty. Seemingly oblivious to us twice in the morning. We had to ask for extra coffee and then I had to get up to get the bill both days as all waitstaff seemed to vanish. On several occasions, no one greeted us and no one was at the front door. Not that we expect it but for over $600 a night one should.
There were some excellent personnel as well. The young lady with the British accent who greeted us at the front desk for check in was lovely, and the excellent young man who took our bags and commiserated with us on the parking ticket was a great and helpful person as was the manager or was it the assistant manager who took care of our problem with class.
Overall, TRY IT if you have the means. It is an excellent Hotel and with just some continued tweaking of the young personnel it will be a 6 out of 5!

Room Tip: All rooms seem excellent but we had a beautiful view on the 6th floor courtyard side. Be prepared f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ForeFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 470 in New York City
561 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 470 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 470 in New York City
495 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £531 - £1,071 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crosby Street Hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of New York's vibrant SoHo neighbourhood. There are 86 bedrooms and suites over 11 floors. Interior design by Kit Kemp reflects a fresh, contemporary style. There is The Crosby Bar, a private leafy garden, guest drawing room, several stylish private event and meeting rooms, a luxurious 99 seat screening room and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing