We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Construction in the room next door!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
Ranked #4 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Construction in the room next door!”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and i stayed at this place and were very disappointed. They put us in a room next to a room w/ wall sanding going on at 9:00 am!!!!! We called the front desk and were told that it was a vacuum cleaner. It was not a vacuum cleaner! It was a sander! We recorded it, and boy was it loud!
So, for $700 a night there should have been NO sanding at all! Front desk admitted but did not make any kind gesture to make up for this. Bad business.
We will not return! : (

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank wvasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    96
    21
    9
    2
See reviews for
121
359
58
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed there with our teenage daughters (who were in a seperate room).

The room was spacious and well fitted out. The bathrooms were absolutely sublime.

The staff were extremely professional, competent and obliging (to say the least).

It was an excellent place to recharge from the frenetic pace of the city.

Could not recommend The Crosby highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orthosurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

For the past two years, my wife and I have enjoyed New York City during the holiday season between Thanksgiving and Christmas. While I was there for business, my wife has accompanied me and we have always added a few days for holiday shopping. The Crosby Street Hotel decks itself out in its holiday best and its staff is part of this holiday cheer. It's warm and cozy, quiet and convenient. Even without my business trip, my wife would still book the Crosby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vhiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. When the price is close to $600/night (& that was a special including breakfast, for the 2nd to the cheapest room), expectations are very high. We arrived very early so waited in the Drawing Room. Rooms are quiet, beautiful, NON-shabby chic, great environmental controls (excellent A/C), extremely comfortable beds, flat screen TVs with video inputs (for the techie geeks) with large windows and great bathrooms with (only) shower with powerful water flow! The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was your choice of anything: the steak & eggs were phenomenal-huge portion set us up for a whole day of walking the city! The buffet of yogurts, berries, fruit, muesli, cereals, bagels, toast, plus one may order tea service or coffees of any variety. We will definitely return, if the budget allows!

Room Tip: Call for specials to ask about promotional rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrid_Avia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

What's great: Rooms are beautiful & spacious, Floor to ceiling windows, hot shower & lovely amenities.
What's bad: The Staff, smelly bed & pillows, price.
I booked the CSH based on photos & location, which more than met my expectations. However, the staff was horrible. Polite, but not helpful at all. Housekeeping broke the shade while we were out to dinner despite having a "do not disturb" tag on the door. When I called to have it fixed and ask why housekeeping came into my room even tho I left the DND sign, the concierge blamed me for the shade & never alerted maintenance, so after 3 calls, the maintenance man finally arrived. The housekeeping question was ignored even though i asked 3 times. We requested a wake up call which never happened & when we expressed our frustration to the front desk, they desk clerk said flippantly "sorry".
The bed & pillows STUNK, like dirty hair-I'm guessing housekeeping never heard of Febreze, but they did come in uninvited to break the shade & fold the toilet paper into an arrow....

For $700 a night, I expect a better experience. The staff is unnecessarily snooty & apathetic, and in my opinion, incompetent. They smile & say hello, but no one went above those mild pleasantries. The stink was also upsetting, as I had Client appointments in the room & ever client remarked on the odd smell.

The restaurant is not much better. overpriced & painfully slow. The Caesar Salad is good, tho. Go to Balthazaar for an amazing meal or head down to Lomardis if you want affordable pizza. The Crosby Bar is disappointing for the price.

For $700 a night, I would expect a doorman or someone to help carry bags inside. I also expect a room not to stink, and for the hotel staff to do their jobs. It's a shame, it's such a beautiful hotel & a great location, the staff ruined my experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KristenNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We live about 30 minutes outside of Manhattan in Westchester County, New York and have stayed at many four/five star hotels but we wanted something very special to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We had tickets to a play and wanted a special hotel. Upon arrival we knew our friends from California had suggested the right place. Our car was picked up by the Crosby Valet in the warmest of welcomes. We were greeted by Jason at the front desk, upon check-in, who told us the hotel wanted to congratulate us on our 25th Anniversary and that they knew we were excited to be staying in our Deluxe Room but they would have to upgrade us to The Crosby Suite. Adam who had taken our reservation had worked this out in advance and Jason was the one to share the amazing news with us. We were escorted up to the 9th floor and welcomed into a downtown Oasis. We love SoHo and to be able to see it while staying in such an elegant and fun hotel was beyond our expectations. Champagne was delivered and everyone couldn't have been nicer. The hotel staff paid attention to every detail right down to the two water bottles that were placed in our car, when they brought it around, for our ride home. Excellent doesn't begin to describe this hotel it is Beyond Excellent. My husband and I will be celebrating my 50th Birthday this year and we are hoping to stay at one of the Firmdale Hotels in London this fall. Truly a must see! Even if just for Tea! Thank you Jason, Adam and everyone else that played a part in making our 25th something very special. Cheers!!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are a treat but if you can stay above the 5th floor the views are of downtown Manha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have previously stayed midtown in New York but wanted to stay in a different area but in a hotel that we could rely on. We have stayed in other Firmdale properties including the Haymarket and Covent Garden Hotels and love their quiet luxury. This hotel has the same attention to detail, incredibly well trained staff and beauty. It has an advantage in that it has been purpose built which makes the bar/restaurant a special place to go day or night. We wanted to be looked after but in an unobtrusive way and we certainly got that. We love New York and will certainly return here. An quirky hotel in an interesting area. Well done to all

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkshirebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Property: Crosby Street Hotel
Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crosby Street Hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of New York's vibrant SoHo neighbourhood. There are 86 bedrooms and suites over 11 floors. Interior design by Kit Kemp reflects a fresh, contemporary style. There is The Crosby Bar, a private leafy garden, guest drawing room, several stylish private event and meeting rooms, a luxurious 99 seat screening room and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing