We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't think I could stay anywhere else in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I don't think I could stay anywhere else in NYC”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We checked in on Sunday 20th April and left on Tuesday 22nd. From start to end, the stay was brilliant. We had a stunning 'luxury' king room on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel looking out over the flag flying above the entrance. The room was so comfortable and spacious for NYC. We enjoyed the Sunday night film club - with a 3 course dinner first followed by The Secret Life of Walter Mitty in the basement cinema after. The dinner was mostly tasty - the experimental dessert (flavours of grape) was a little bit on the bizarre side. The cocktail menu could be a bit more varied. The service and friendliness of all the staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    96
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
123
369
60
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Crosby Street Hotel, the staff and the service are perfect, welcoming and warm. The hotel is very nicely decorated, both the rooms and the public areas, including a very nice terrace. Our room, on the 11th floor had a beautiful view on Soho. The gym is good. Food at dinner and breakfast were very good, sophisticated but not over sophisticated.
If you want to stay in Soho, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is one of the few hotels in NY that feels like it was designed by hoteliers that actually care about their guests. Many others have nice touches or work well with their limitations but it is clear they are working around limitations. We started our trip at another hotel and upon spontaneously extending our trip moved here and are so glad we did. The other hotel was located in Greenwich Village and was a nice hotel - well appointed, reasonably nice staff, etc. But moving here we felt like we graduated to a real hotel. Service was spectacular, close to everything you want and yet don't feel like you are in the middle of it either, design is tastefully done and everything feels authentic. I will never stay anywhere else in NY!

Room Tip: How do I undo the Swimming Pool? No pool but a cool theater in the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nutoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA USA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Crosby Street Hotel is set on a quiet, cobblestone street just off the most exciting Soho shopping streets. The lobby and public spaces feature a brilliant combination of modern and ethnic art. I think the dining room is one of the most thrilling and inviting I've ever seen in a hotel. My room was very pleasant and faced a back street. Design and fixtures all immaculate and well-chosen.

The Crosby Street is my favorite New York City hotel. Super location, a wondrous sense of design and decor that combines hip London (it's owned by an English firm) with energetic New York. It completely exceeded my expectations and also felt fairly priced. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bretthodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I love this hotel because it is a stylish, sumptuous urban retreat, a treat for the senses, but does not sacrifice functionality. The hotel is ever ready for a photo-shoot but they have also considered how everything feels and works. The beds and furniture are comfy, the showers super strong, plenty of light, perfect alarm clock, lighted closets, solid doors, fabric padded walls for quiet, an inventive and a delicious room service menu that satisfies both adults and kids. The location is perfect for a fun trip to NYC, right in the heart of SOHO and right around the corner from a couple different subway lines that put the theaters, midtown, etc. just a few minutes away. The visual appearance of every nook and cranny has been well considered. Not sure if they have just renovated after being open several years but almost everything is in pristine condition. The lobby, an art and garden oasis, even smells divine. All of the employees we encountered seemed like invested professionals who provided excellent service.

Caveats - the views are mostly of the very close neighboring buildings, the best/only place to enjoy your room service is sitting on the floor at the coffee table (junior suite connected to deluxe room), some rookie mistakes like an alarm clock left on from previous guests or missing utensils from room service. I'd also add that the junior suite, while significantly more expensive than the next best room category, provides, as far as I can see from our two rooms, a larger and lit built-in closet vs. an armoire, a larger bathroom, and a slightly larger room. I'm not sure there is a consistent price to value relationship though I would certainly opt again for the junior suite on future visits.

Overall, this hotel definitely elevates your entire experience in NYC. As others have noted, it is a very special place.

Room Tip: The deluxe room provides almost as much as the junior suite for far less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

On my first trip to NYC in over 20 years it was important to me to stay somewhere special. This was also the first holiday I had had with my husband sans enfants in 18 years. It's always a gamble picking hotels; will it live up to expectations? Especially when there's a reasonable amount of money involved. Well The Crosby exceeded my expectations. Having long been a fan of Kit Kemp's interiors I knew it was going to look good but it was still a thrill walking into the entrance, the room was divine. It's location is perfect, walk everywhere. Hip cafes and boutique shops on its doorstep. I'm hoping to be in New York next year and don't intend to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haddonhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Rarely do my relatives from the West Coast come to the Big Apple, so when they did, I wanted them to see something special. A friend who works in the area had introduced me to this place. I made a mental note to come back with out-of-towners, and so I had the pleasure of breakfasting in the hotel's restaurant. The server knew how to stay attentive while in the background. Our water glasses were never empty; my napkin was refolded when I excused myself. The coffee was superb as were the fresh berries. After breakfast, we wandered from room to room around the lobby and outdoor patio. There is tasteful and eclectic artwork everywhere that combines primitif with modern. The furniture clusters makes it feel more like someone's home than a hotel.

The front desk staff was most accommodating. They gladly charged up my dead battery while we dined.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Billie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
258 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,383 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
464 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#14 of 467 in New York City
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Property: Crosby Street Hotel
Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crosby Street Hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of New York's vibrant SoHo neighbourhood. There are 86 bedrooms and suites over 11 floors. Interior design by Kit Kemp reflects a fresh, contemporary style. There is The Crosby Bar, a private leafy garden, guest drawing room, several stylish private event and meeting rooms, a luxurious 99 seat screening room and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing