We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel. Incredible room. The place to stay in Soho!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crosby Street Hotel
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Incredible hotel. Incredible room. The place to stay in Soho!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Everything about this hotel is outstanding! I spent three days in NYC with my 22-year-old daughter and we loved every minute of it. Attention to detail without overdoing it. The rooms are incredible with great windows, rooms and bathrooms. Near the subway so midtown etc is not far away. The restaurant/bar is outstanding and we loved it. The only hotel we have ever stayed at near this experience was The Inn of the Anasazi in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    96
    22
    9
    2
See reviews for
123
368
59
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This was our second stay at this hotel. We like this hotel because of the location, ambiance, décor. It’s a hotel, but the room you stay in doesn’t feel like a hotel room. However, we keep having strange experiences during our stay. For instance, after we checked in, the gentleman behind the front desk told us our keys needed to be made. While that would be done, we were escorted to our room by a different guy, which is usual, but the gentleman brought us to a room which was already occupied. He kept asking us if he heard the room number right from the guy behind the front desk. We replied yes. So strange. The gentleman then escorted us back to the lobby and talked to the guy behind the front desk. I guess they straightened it out and he escorted us to a vacant room. It was just weird. The first time we stayed here, we were stuck in the elevator for 45 minutes and rescued by the NYFD. Management apologized for this and gave us a free dinner at the hotel restaurant. Other than these mishaps, it’s a good hotel for location. Service is mediocre. Concierge is not dependable. They couldn’t help us get reservations to Locanda Verde. We worked our own magic touch and got in on our own. Water pressure is strong. Good lighting throughout the room, bathroom and closet. Great TV with HD. However, we had trouble figuring out how to turn the TV off fully. Amenities were great. They were good at restocking them each day. The hotel is situated in a pretty quiet location. I would agree with previous reviews the doormen don’t help you getting off a taxi with luggage and getting into the hotel. Also, for hailing a cab from the hotel, it was the same. We walked to Spring Street with our luggage and hailed one on our own. Another thing, our room rate did include breakfast, but it was not discussed on how that worked. In the end, we didn’t get breakfast. Overall, The Crosby Street Hotel is a good hotel to stay at as long as you don’t mind doing everything else other than cleaning your room on your own.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reviewer710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

While probably not known as a "family hotel," the Crosby is certainly the warmest, and most intimate hotel I've ever stayed in.

Why? The answer is simple: the staff looks after you as if you were their family.

And while the hotel is definitely a hip and elegant place to be -- YOU, the guest -- are what the experience is all about, not any kind of pop culture around you.

Everyone from the wonderful managers Annelle and Kathrin, to Orlando the Engineer, makes your experience and every interaction you have, memorable. Any problem or question or need you have, is taken care of, virtually immediately.

I have stayed in beautiful big name hotels all over the world, and have never had this kind of service. You see, it goes beyond mere "service," because you don't really get a sense of "duty" here. It's more of a genuine desire to help make your hotel experience, and your life, easier and more fulfilling.

I know this sounds bizarre, but it's the truth. It's kind of like, how you'd imagine you'd want people to act and treat you in a perfect world - with kindness, compassion, and an uplifting, playful spirit.

You'll find this, and more, at the Crosby.

As to the decor, I don't care what they are charging you -- the amount of money you'd have to spend to put a place like this together, and the details involved in creating such clean lines in an aesthetic sense -- isn't going to be made back in your stay, no matter how long you're there.

Also, you should know I am NOT a celebrity, a heavy hitter, or someone who is high maintenance. I'm a guy from the Bronx who wears jeans and t-shirts who's done OK for himself, and that's it. The staff had no ulterior upsell motives in dealing with me, other than their desire to do the right thing and make you happy.

Having said this, I don't care who you are, how much you earn or what you do for a living - stay at The Crosby for a once in a lifetime experience like no other. And who knows? Maybe you'll run into me on my next stay, as well.

Because one thing's for sure - I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigGarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

hotel is beautiful but seems to be run by 20 somethings who don't quite have it all together. Stayed here the last four nights and was underwhelmed with the concierge (very hard to understand what he was telling me about restaurants), and then last night at midnight I was told that if I wanted to get my 20 year old daughter a taxi I would have to run down to Spring Street and get it myself. The desk attendant said he couldn't leave and his manager had left for awhile. But there was another staff member standing right in front of the desk who didn't move an inch to help me. After I sprinted for the taxi I went back to my room and filled out a breakfast request and hung it on my door so that I would get my coffee at wake up time. When I realized they had missed the appointed time I called and sure enough they had no idea I had left a breakfast request on the door. While they didn't charge me for it, it still put me late to start my morning. For the price they charge the service should be better.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3220mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We are long established fans of the Firmdale experience, and were therefore very excited about the prospect of our first trip to the Crosby Street Hotel. On arrival we were not disappointed. The build quality, design and finish of the hotel is first class and echoed everything we had experienced in the past at the Soho, the Haymarket and the Covent Garden.

But that is just one aspect of a great hotel experience and at this colossal price the service has to be equally fantastic. I regret, that with a few positive exceptions (wonderful welcome and good housekeeping) service here was consistently second rate.

Twice in the morning we asked the concierge to make us reservations for dinner, twice they a) failed to leave a message confirming them b) failed to get is in to our chosen restaurants c) failed to book an alternative even on a 'just in case basis'. Generally we found the concierge service to be begrudging and inefficient.

The bar service was surly and slow. When you are the only couple in the bar you should not have to wait five minutes to order and when you ask for the bill should not be told by the only member of staff you can track down that they are not your server and they will have to go and get someone else. That attitude is one of rank laziness and is inexcusable.

These are just two examples of consistently slow, miserable, and attitude ridden service that we experienced. The sad thing is I know that they can do much better, particularly as Chris (Head concierge who was sadly not working the days we were at the hotel) is an old favourite from the Soho and is first class. This must be a recruitment and training issue, but for us has meant that we will not be in a rush to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dirk_and_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Kit Kemp and her team have done an extraordinary job marrying style, service and location all in one. Nestled in Soho's vintage streets known for shopping, dining and bar hopping, this hotel offers a unique repose for wary business travellers and those looking for a rewarding night out. If you haven't been yet, just visit the bar and indulge in the imaginative wall decor while sipping your cocktail. The lounge offers peace and a fridge based on an honor system. Ideal also for special occasions such as weddings, anniversaries, press launches. The cinema below hosts sufficient seats for private screenings. Service impeccable. Simply fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Service_Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We are a small family of two adult and one 9 year old child.
We were in New York to celebrate my (I'm the mom) 40th Birthday. From home, we could not decide between this hotel and the Thompson LES, so we had originally booked 4 nights at Crosby and 3 nights at the LES. But we fell totally in love with the Crosby, and after 2 nights we asked if it was possible to stay for a full week at our lovely Junior Suite on the 10th floor. At first, it seemed as if they were fully booked, but the staff did everything they could and we ended up staying 7 nights in the same room.
The room: Upon arrival, we were given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the courtyard. We are big fans of light and views, and asked if they could put us in another room. Again, staff did everything they could and finally gave us the most perfect room located on the 10th floor - great views over the LES, Soho and Brooklyn Bridge in the distance. Big window, beautifully designed, enormous bathroom with tub and shower. The room was not ready for us, but we were treated to a drink on the house in the lovely library room (hotel guests only) while they made up the room for us.
The hotel is gorgeous - we love the Firmdale hotels in London, but this hotel really beats them all. The restaurant, the library room - every-where's quirky and beautiful and a real treat to the eye.
The location is (in my opinion) the BEST in NYC! Restaurants, galleries, shops, cafes - all are within walking distance. And the subway is just around the corner.
What really makes this hotel stand out is the staff - nothing was too much trouble... they even remembered my birthday and gave me a tray of cupcakes.
The only thing they need to straighten out is the service at breakfast. The breakfast staff seemed confused and disorganized. We had to ask several times for EVERYTHING - But everything that finally did arrive on our table was delicious, and we had it included, so this is just a minor comment, but someone ought to help the staff organizing the routines at breakfast. There was a lot of running around and forgetting everything on the way...
That said, we really did enjoy our stay and will not hesitate to recommend it! It is expensive, but worth it if you appreciate beautiful designs and comfort and a small hotel in a superb location. We are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrineCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 467 in New York City
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#1 of 467 in New York City
171 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
455 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Street Hotel

Property: Crosby Street Hotel
Address: 79 Crosby Street, New York City, NY 10012
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crosby Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crosby Street Hotel is situated on a quiet cobbled street in the heart of New York's vibrant SoHo neighbourhood. There are 86 bedrooms and suites over 11 floors. Interior design by Kit Kemp reflects a fresh, contemporary style. There is The Crosby Bar, a private leafy garden, guest drawing room, several stylish private event and meeting rooms, a luxurious 99 seat screening room and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crosby Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing