We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal, great value”
Review of Le Caprice - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Caprice
Price range: US$50 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 61st Street
Transit: N,R,Q to 59th Street & Fifth Ave, F train to 63rd Street and 6 train to 59th Street and Lexington Avenue.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice meal, great value”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I walked in here on a whim for lunch - thought it might be too pricey given its reputation in London, but for what it was, the $30 prix fixe lunch menu was great value, $45 with wine accompaniments. Not very busy, pleasant atmosphere, attentive staff, simple tasty food. Best meal of the trip.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photodealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
655 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“Caprice for Breakfast”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very New York, excellent food, great service. Decor from the 1930's, refurbished.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“spot of home cooking”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Fish and chips ..simply done and well worth it. Staff are engaging and cocktails are a must

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Horsesarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Shame”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Well located in the old bar of the Pierre Hotel this restaurant fails to live up to the standards of its parent in London.

I arrived early afternoon for a quick lunch on the Sunday before Christmas. It was 80% empty. I sat at the bar and ordered a virgin Mary and a crocque monsieur. I had to ask for the menu, the drink and the order = the water behind the bar was too busy filling bottles to look after a customer, The virgin mary was disgusting - tons of horse radish but no spices or lemon. The CM arrived - black burnt bread and dried up topping. I sent it back and it was replaced. Served on its own on a large white plate it made a mockery of the French version. No garnish. no mini salad ore even half a tomato.A poor quality glass of red wine was $14.

I was reading the Times (their faxed copy) but my empty plate and glass remained uncleared for 30 minutes.

I called for a bill to find I had been charged for a bloody mary not a virgin,

I won't return in a hurry and my views were recognised by many of my friends in NYC,

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“okay for breakfast”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I had coffee and oatmeal and both were just okay. I was staying at the hotel, it was raining, and I didn't feel like wandering off for breakfast. The oatmeal lacked substance or texture and seemed a little runny to me. I liked that it came with really good maple syrup and bananas, but it was still just okay. The wait staff was very nice.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank vweee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Caprice also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing