We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harlem at its best”
Review of 710 Guest Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
710 Guest Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at Suite 3 for one week end of June. Everything around it was fantastic. Starting by the day when we arrived, tired after a long trip from Europe, we welcome by Tracy that got our appartment ready earlier that standard check-in time so that we could arrange our things get ready for the city. She gave us a lot of useful information about the subwaz and our way around the neighborhood. Then the owner Michael completed the information with some local tips for restaurants and things to do around the appt. The appt is well stock with all the utensils you might need if you would like to selfcater. It even has a complementary wine bottle. Also it is very nicely decorated and spacious. The balcony is fantastic for spring or summer. We had breakfast there everyday.

With the express subway lines you are in columbus circle in something like 12 minutes, so it is very convenient. We use the subway extensively, and we could get to anywhere and from anywhere from the appt door.

Neighborhood is perfectly safe. We walked home from another subway line three blocks away and we did not feel any uneasyness.

We tried one of Michael`s recommendation for dinner in Harlem and it was a fantastic pizza!

Also, Michael is very attentive and responsive on the phone. Answers to any sms question within minutes and he is checking up that u are good and feeling comfortable.

We couldn`t recommend the place more, we would definetively go back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

As this was our 4th trip to New York, we were looking for a place to stay that was out of midtown, and away from all the same'o same'o hotels. 710 Guest Suites came to my attention. At first, like most people I would imagine, I was very unsure about the location but I researched for hours and found that Harlem no longer has the unsafe stigma it once had. As a matter of fact it is incredibly historic and some of the architecture I'm sure would not be found anywhere else in New York! We felt safe at all times, as a matter of fact we felt like we were in amongst a community of people who all look out for each other! Whilst the location may still bother some people, if you were wanting to feel like you have REALLY experienced New York, give these apartments a try. As other reviews have said, the apartment we stayed in (suite 2 duplex) was incredibly spacious, amazingly top notch decor and the subway is a 3 minute stroll, and 15 to 20 mins subway express to Time Square. But what these apartments have that no other hotel would ever have is Michael the owner. He met us at the door, fresh flowers were located throughout the apartment, bottle of wine and glasses at the ready and he spent so much time with us filling us in on all the little out of the way places to go in his beloved Harlem. He loves his neighbourhood and it shows. He was always a phone call away, and couldn't do enough for us. You will be in good hands staying at 710 Guest Suites!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jc2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My family stayed 4 nights at Suite3, 710 Guest Suites.
We just loved this place. It's spacious, clean and well decorated with outside breakfast area.
The owner, Michael was very friendly, helpful- provided local maps with nice restaurants, coffee places etc.
The neigbourhood are nice, safe place at night as well.
This apartment is just 30 seconds from Subway station.
I definately will stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jackie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We found this apt brownstone on homeaway. From first contact the landlord Michael was helpful in securing our requested dates. Upon arrival Michael met us and provided us with local maps and establishments in the area. The apartment was clean, well decorated and appointed with all the features of being at home. Location was excellent, out of the busy downtown, right on the subway line and full of culture. Only drawback was the front door lock. We struggled daily to get in using the rocky lock! Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank meghenriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Yes, we know it is in Harlem, but don't be afraid, the people is as you and me, I have feel secure in every moment.
It is also a good way to know another neigbourhood in Manhattan, and not only by the Gospel.

It has the subway just 20 meters from the entrance, and only 2 stops to reach Central Park south (10 minutes)

We were in the apartment 2, 4 people. Plenty of space, 2 rooms with 2 complete bathrooms and another one without shower, kitchen, dining room with place to relax and another saloon. The decoration is really nice and creates a really good atmosphere.

I must say that some days I have had some pitty for going downtown and not stay in the apartment.

The apartment is in two floors, and you must go trough the stairs to the rooms, perhaps this can be the only problem if you are too old or disabled.

The owner, Michael, helps you in any doubt that could appear during the stay and have good ideas and suggestions for having the perfect holidays.

This has been my second time in Manhattan and I would come here again if possible.

Thanks Michael and 710 Guest Suites

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xuxoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We had apartment 3 for 7 nights and absolutely loved the place! It definately has the WOW factor! The outside space was lovely, enjoyed have breakfast outside in terrace and then wine at night! It is in New York which is not the quietest of places! Sirens, people etc.. However bedrooms are at the back so good nights sleep can be had! The transport links are excellent with the express A train downtown in no time at all. This area of Harlem is very welcoming with lovely people who really make u feel at home. Michael the owner and Tracey who welcomed us and spent time with us showing us maps/tube maps etc.. Cud not have been more helpful and welcoming. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay thankyou very much

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kercol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I didn't expect a beautiful renovated and innovative duplex to be a state of art home. There was a bowl of fruits and bottle of wine with glasses welcoming us..
Extremely well equipped kitchen with coffee ground, spices, oil etc being available.
A beautiful barbecue grill at the patio. Few steps to the subway. A great place for a family gathering or a business retreat. You would have no regrets. The owner is easily available if you have any questions. Have washing machine and dryer down another floor. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#60 of 470 in New York City
3,784 reviews
East Village
East Village Apartments
East Village Apartments
#3 of 163 in New York City
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Radio City Apartments
Radio City Apartments
#5 of 163 in New York City
2,311 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Upper West Side
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
#16 of 163 in New York City
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 710 Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 710 Guest Suites

Address: 710 Saint Nicholas Ave, at 145th St, New York City, NY 10031-4002
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing