We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #38 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Looking for a fantastic hotel in the theatre district? The Chatwal is on 44th street just off Times Square. Recently renovated, this hotel does not disappoint! Expensive but worth the price.
Rooms are very large and beautifully appointed. Bathroom spacious and covered in granite, chrome and mirrors. And a flat screen built into the mirror! The staff match the elegance of the interiors. Someone always there to assist. One of the best in NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readytogoanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I travel to NYC at least yearly, this time was exceptional! The mood was set from the highly personable Christine who greeted us openly. All the staff made us feel genuinely welcome and valued. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in a contemporary art deco style with all the high tech extras. The restaurant located within the hotel, The Lambs Club was a delight to dine in, as was the uber sleek bar on the upper level. The coffee is sublime.
We took advantage of the spa. This offered a wonderful refuge for our tired feet. I can not express how much we enjoyed our stay and we now have a new home in when next we return. Cheers and Good Living Lisa! Nova Scotia Canada

Room Tip: Be thankful if they can accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobokitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

For an anniversary celebration weekend in New York, we'd wanted a special hotel. The Chatwal was brilliant. We loved it: warm welcome, cool retro decor and great 44th street location (within easy walking access up to Central Park or down to the Highline). In recognition of our anniversary, Brandon, the terrific head butler had fruit, a lemon tart and lovely roses delivered to our room. Room was very quiet, with elegant masculine decor in leather and suede: Great bathroom, Asprey shampoo and soaps, and lots of high tech features. We'd recommend the hotel, would stay there again and would recommend to friends.

Lissa

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Great location. Top notch service. Very modern rooms. Boutique Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed at The Chatwal a week ago in new york and was pleasantly surprised at actually how lovely the rooms were. The bathroom was spacious as was the room. We were upgraded when we arrived which was a very nice surprise after a long flight & all the staff were all helpful and amazing.
The location was perfect. Literally a 5 second walk from Times Square but at the same time the rooms were quiet and peacful.
I loved my stay at The Chatwal, I only wish it could have been for longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Amazing service, ask and you shall receive and a great location, modern contemporary elegance.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EarthWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

When we arrived, extremely tired from the long trip and wet from the rain, the hotel did not have our room ready because the previous guest did not leave. After quite a wait they gave us a worse room than the one we booked which was pretty bad considering the price and category of the hotel. It was only then than the fabulous butler decided to help and arranged things for us - we had a great stay!
Overall, the hotel is glamorous and has a number of small touches that make it special.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#67 of 469 in New York City
2,330 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#64 of 469 in New York City
3,252 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#21 of 469 in New York City
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#18 of 469 in New York City
2,258 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#49 of 469 in New York City
738 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#115 of 469 in New York City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £427 - £836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing