We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay, Excellent Property, Excellent Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #39 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay, Excellent Property, Excellent Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here 3 days, 2 nights recently =Friday, Sat, Sun. I must say it was a great time at this hotel. The staff are there to take care of all your needs from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave! I want to personally thank all of them and will be staying here on my next trip to NYC.

I was able to secure a GREAT RATE for a GREAT ROOM!! Thanks front desk staff for that, we were grateful! We had a 2 full bathroom Suite with separate living room, with a huge outdoor patio with 2 patio tables and chairs. The bathrooms were great! Heated toilets and TV's in each bathroom mirror. The front desk lady mentioned this is her favorite room aside from the presidential suite! Very stylish room and hotel overall. It has every thing you need and if it doesn't you simply dial your butler and they will provide it! The property is just off of time square perfectly far enough away from all the hustle and commotion of times square.

Had a great dinner at the lambs club which was a 3 course prix fix menu. Very good service and atmosphere as well. The specialty drinks at the bar are SUPER! We took a quick hot tub and pool dip but never tried the spa services as we spent too much at dinner at Daniel!! Next time we will do the spa!

I highly recommend the property and look forward to our next visit! Thanks Chatwal Staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stoutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear stoutman,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share the details of your recent experience at The Chatwal Hotel. We are delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chatwal in the near future.

Cordially,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    166
    62
    27
    23
See reviews for
181
519
60
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend at the Chatwal, it was our fourth visit to the city and easily the best. This was in part due to the wonderful service we received at the hotel - everyone was very accommodating and our room was impeccably decorated.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK_YYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear PK_YYZ,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Chatwal Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chatwal upon your return trip to New York City.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans la
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My new hotel in NY.. If you want upscale accommodations, this is the one... Definitely on my return list.. Brandon, thank you !!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Location, Location, Location! Comfortable, clean, elegant hotel. Fabulous helpful staff, friendly courtesous waiters in dining area and delilcious breakfast.
Stayed one night and will def come again. We were upgraded to Deluxe room with Terrace. Despite the cold, my husband and I took advantage of terrace with our morning coffee and complimentary NY Times.
Can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. Also checked the Bedbug Registry and there were absolutely no reports. The bathroom is justed beautiful with a wonderful heated toilet. The Shower was huge and to die for. Highly recommendd!!

Room Tip: ask if any upgrades are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Joanne E,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences from The Chatwal Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal at The Lambs Club, indulged in our oversized bathrooms, and had pleasant interactions with our staff.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and your kind words. We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chatwal in the near future.

Cordially,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Arrived very late at night due to weather complications and were sent to our Grand Deluxe guestroom. The room was lovely and the bed one of the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. The toilet seat and other amenities were all of the 5 star caliber.

The problem was the service. My wife is in a small manual wheelchair and we need help in opening and closing front doors. The staff (including doorman and bellboy) were congregated around the check-in every time we entered or left the hotel laughing and talking to each other. We were never once acknowledged or helped entering or leaving the hotel until we checked out and a nice gentleman ran down and opened the door for us. We noticed other guests with same problem: leaving the hotel through the heavy front doors without assistance.

There are certainly elements of a 5 star hotel at the Chatwal, but the service was more Holiday Inn Express and the staff more interested in each other than in any guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FlannyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear FlannyT,

I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay at The Chatwal Hotel.

We will be reviewing the concerning issues that you have brought to our attention regarding our staff. We take a tremendous amount of pride in the level of service we provide, and this is not the typical service we are known for.

On another note, I am happy to hear you enjoyed the amenities of your room.

Again I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for any inconvenience you may have experienced. If there is anything further you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com, or to call the hotel directly at 212.764.6200 and ask for Lance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Chatwal is a Stanford White Building that was originally a theater club - the Lambs Club.
The lobby, bar and restaurant (also named the Lambs Club) are completely restored and gorgeous. The staff are very courteous and enthusiastic.
The bathrooms are great - glittering chocolate tiles, mirrored walls, double sinks, TOTO toilets - which wash front and/or back and dry all on a heated soft seat.
Climate control is excellent- everything can be done from a dock next to the bed -
Downside of the Chatwal? The furniture is ridiculous - large leather padded things without much storage. The desk tries to double as a make-up station - all the plugs for computers etc are inside the drawer which opens from the top so every time you want to plug in you have to remove your devices from the top of the desk ( I often wonder what the design people are thinking when they do the furnishings.) The side tables are a one drawer pieces taking up a lot of floor space for the base which is a chrome x -

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnieK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Our friends used Starwood points to book our rooms for a weekend stay in NYC. Our room was the nicest we have had in NYC! The late night drinks in the bar were wonderful, maid service exceptional, extremely comfortable beds, delicious brunch & outstanding friendly service. Our daughter decided to stay with us on the last night (she lives in Sunnyside) and housekeeping had a roll away bed in our room within minutes. The location is close to Rockefeller Center.
We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing